Saturday Linkages: Poultry Shaming, Horse Treadmills and Garden Snark

Image: Thirdroar.

Image: Thirdroar.

Poultry shaming: http://www.thirdroar.com/journal/2014/2/24/public-poultry-shaming.html …

Russian Man Uses Horse Treadmill to Power Log Splitter http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/russian-man-uses-horse-treadmill-to-power-chainsaw-1532466975 …

Garden Variety SNARK | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/02/garden-variety-snark.html …

Pison eu, Colon grossum! http://wp.me/p4bjRl-5V 

Reviving forgotten recipes: http://www.thesmartset.com/article/article12051301.aspx …

Google sets roadblocks to stop distracted driver legislation http://reut.rs/1h9V6Jx 

Choosing a Secure Password http://boingboing.net/2014/02/25/choosing-a-secure-password.html …

Physicists find a new ‘state of matter’ in the eyes of chickens http://io9.com/physicists-find-a-new-state-of-matter-in-the-eyes-of-1530484600 …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Rammed Earth, Vanilla Ice and Moonshine

finished_stove_from_rammed_earth

Best idea of the week. Image: Natural Building Blog

Smokeless Rammed Earth Stove http://feedly.com/e/3e4xRBr8 

Ice Goes Amish: http://modernfarmer.com/2014/02/vanilla-ice-amish-farmer/ …

Plastic debris for brains http://www.honeybeesuite.com/plastic-debris-for-brains/ …

RiYL podcast 041: Colin Spoelman, moonshine maker: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/20/riyl-podcast-041-colin-spoelm.html …

Brazil’s new dietary guidelines: food-based! http://feedly.com/e/xL8TJUJf 

Austrian Designer Upcycles Bike Parts into Faux Hunting Trophy Bicycle Mounts http://inhabitat.com/austrian-design-upcycles-bike-parts-into-faux-hunting-trophy-bicycle-mounts/ …

How Would You Drive If Your Child Was Crossing the Street in Front of You? http://feedly.com/e/6MzdiI4- 

Meet the Miller: Nan Kohler http://feedly.com/e/oWHthiZg 

Meet the Baker: Dave Miller http://www.farine-mc.com/2014/02/meet-baker-dave-miller.html?spref=tw …

Flower Mandalas: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/17/flower-mandalas.html …

Fallout shelter originally installed in 1955 for a family of three in Fort Wayne, Indiana. http://feedly.com/e/1vhqFO23 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Fire Plows, Kite Fishing and Roundup-Ready Turfgrass

ku-xlarge (3)

Tell Me You Wouldn’t Buy This Snow-Fighting Fire Plow http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/tell-me-you-wouldnt-buy-this-snow-fighting-fire-plow-1519897386 …

Tear Down These 10 Freeways! (And Then Tear Down Some More) http://feedly.com/e/5TEe4eBI 

Mineral waters à la carte http://shar.es/QRHOf 

Google hangout with Lloyd Kahn, master urban homesteader: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/12/google-hangout-with-lloyd-kahn.html …

3 MAKE projects to help you fight for your online privacy: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/11/3-make-projects-to-help-you-fi.html …

Frugal Digital: Repairing, Hacking, and Repurposing Electronics http://feedly.com/e/x1zb0NgL 

Low-Tech Kite-Fishing in the Indo-Pacific http://feedly.com/e/vKNPtHlq 

The Public Food Forest: Clever Solution or Future Flop? by Evelyn Hadden http://feedly.com/e/6x1OCfMz 

Coming soon – Roundup-Ready Turfgrass | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/02/coming-soon-round-up-ready-turfgrass.html …

Author Builds Tiny Solar-Powered Off Grid Cabin for Under 2000 http://inhabitat.com/author-builds-tiny-solar-powered-off-grid-cabin-for-under-2000/lamar-alexander-off-grid-cabin-2/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Battling Herbicides, Solar Wall Ovens and Jaywalking

Solar wall oven. Photo: Natural Building Blog

Solar wall oven. Photo: Natural Building Blog

Rachel Aviv: The Scientist Who Took on a Leading Herbicide Manufacturer http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2014/02/10/140210fa_fact_aviv?currentPage=all?mbid=social_retweet …

Consider the Cane Toad http://ensia.com/voices/consider-the-cane-toad/ …

Commercial Solar Wall Ovens http://feedly.com/e/nrC8gJXU 

Wilson Solar Grill for outdoor cooking http://www.examiner.com/article/wilson-solar-grill-for-outdoor-cooking …

America’s public transit routes, mapped: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/06/americas-public-transit-rout.html …

LA residents: The city offers free native trees for street planting. Coast Live Oaks are approved as street trees! http://environmentla.org/pdf/2014/Theodore_Payne_Foundation_FlyerTA.pdf …

Documenting the NYC snowpocalypse’s neckdowns: latent traffic calming revealed by climate and crowds: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/05/documenting-the-nyc-snowpocaly.html …

Tom Vanderbilt in NYT: Jaywalking Tickets Don’t Make Streets Safer http://feedly.com/e/V1mmSoBo 

Decoding News Helicopter Signals on YouTube http://feedly.com/e/5p1EiKdZ 

The Flying Tortoise: If You’re A Gardener And A Chess Player, Check Out… http://theflyingtortoise.blogspot.com/2014/01/if-youre-gardener-and-chess-player.html?spref=tw …

Driving Apps Are Incompatible With Safe Driving http://feedly.com/e/TaIIlCln 

Saturday Linkages: Can We Please Have More Underpass Chandeliers?

jb-public-art-7.jpeg.662x0_q100_crop-scale

Ballroom Luminoso: Ugly freeway underpass beautified with recycled bike chandeliers : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/urban-design/ballroom-luminoso-underpass-converted-bike-chandeliers-joe-oconnell-blessing-hancock.html …

Yes, the farm bill is politically corrupt. Veto it! http://goo.gl/fb/vhLtK 

What’s wrong with an ugly winter garden? http://gu.com/p/3mb4a/tw 

The secret light of plants by Elizabeth Licata http://feedly.com/e/_hlIqNZG 

California Legalized Selling Food Made At Home And Created Over A Thousand Local Businesses http://onforb.es/1e8mNCY 

Massive Water Reduction http://feedly.com/e/v787ggKN 

Fodder System Updates http://feedly.com/e/dKXb-Y-Q 

It’s Not the Snow, It’s Not the Politics: Blame the Car-Dependent City http://gizmodo.com/its-not-the-snow-its-not-the-politics-blame-the-car-1511337035 

MyFigueroa! Needs a Hero as Livable Streets Villains Line Up Against City’s First Cycletracks http://la.streetsblog.org/2014/01/29/myfigueroa-needs-a-hero-as-livable-streets-villains-line-up-against-citys-first-cycletracks/#.UumqSw7MlPw.twitter …

Extra Virgin Suicide: Olive Oil Corruption Slide Show http://nyti.ms/1f7yHcI 

Black Bean Soup http://feedly.com/e/lPhvrdNB 

Meet the Bakers: Louie and Clinton Prager http://feedly.com/e/KsUR-_dv 

Poultry Show Common Sense http://feedly.com/e/YNk88kWG 

Bee Colony Adapts to Human Environmental Impact by Using Plastic to Build Nests http://inhabitat.com/bee-colony-adapts-to-human-environmental-impact-by-using-plastic-to-build-nests/ …

Thin Wall Earthbag — 10x Faster than Typical Earthbag http://feedly.com/e/ulUxRdow 

Saturday Linkages: Logs, Invasives and Italian Veggies

Screen shot 2014-01-08 at 2.50.27 PM

Italian veggie tips: Amicidellortodue http://feedly.com/e/AeUKDhxu 

The Trouble with the Word “Invasive” | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/01/the-trouble-with-the-word-invasive.html …

Colon shaped tiny hotel: http://www.unusualhotelsoftheworld.com/casanus

OTIS | Tiny House Swoon http://tinyhouseswoon.com/otis/ 

Changing the maple syrup paradigm. Crazy efficient, yet also grim, from the tree’s perspective– and mine. http://www.uvm.edu/~uvmpr/?Page=news&storyID=17209#.Ut8epeX8ggE.twitter …

Urban Nature: How to Foster Biodiversity in World’s Cities by Richard Conniff: Yale Environment 360 from @YaleE360 http://e360.yale.edu/feature/urban_nature_how_to_foster_biodiversity_in_worlds_cities/2725/#.Ut78MbYkqKk.twitter …

Building With Logs – 1957 USDA Government Pamphlet http://feedly.com/e/SggnDsK7 

Milky The Marvelous Milking Cow toy (1977) – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2014/01/21/milky-the-marvelous-milking-co.html#.Ut7IQL46aLw.twitter …

The Sony SRF-39FP: The Audio Player of Choice in Prison http://gizmodo.com/the-sony-srf-39fp-the-audio-player-of-choice-in-prison-1504910322 …

John Dobson dies at 98; former monk developed easy-to-make telescope http://www.latimes.com/obituaries/la-me-john-dobson-20140119,0,6483430.story …

Saturday Linkages: Elves, Archdruids and Open Source Furniture

neverend

20 Open Source Furniture Designs http://www.shareable.net/blog/20-open-source-furniture-designs …

“The Valley of The Elves” by Ellie Pritts https://elliepritts.exposure.so/the-valley-of-the-elves …

The Archdruid Report: Seven Sustainable Technologies http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/2014/01/seven-sustainable-technologies.html?spref=tw …

Silver Lake stays in step with Rudyard Kipling http://feedly.com/e/2K1ZbhCt 

Leaked: environmental chapter of the secret Trans-Pacific Partnership treaty – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2014/01/15/leaked-environmental-chapter.html …

When The Economy Stinks, Our Books Get More Depressing http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/when-the-economy-stinks-our-books-get-more-depressing-1498156174 …

Did you miss this last month? : Michael Pollan: How Smart Are Plants? 

Human-powered glider sets flight record in 1937 http://www.dvice.com/2013-3-18/image-day-human-powered-glider-sets-flight-record-1937 …

Presence, Not Praise: How To Cultivate a Healthy Relationship with Achievement | Brain Pickings http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2013/05/23/stephen-grosz-examined-life/ …

Saturday Linkages: Sad Cookbooks, Pancakes and Tiny Homes

mfo-300x401

The saddest cookbook ever written: http://boingboing.net/2014/01/06/the-saddest-cookbook-ever-writ.html …

Another take on sourdough pancakes http://www.wildyeastblog.com/2009/02/24/sourdough-pancakes/ …

Simply Yoav –His Yurt and Life http://feedly.com/e/X0VjVnaF 

How to pull out a car from a frozen lake… Russian style http://feedly.com/e/fHtOIUrv 

Old World Woodworking Tools http://feedly.com/e/0H12BeW1 

Tiny Apartments in Cities: Trending Concept http://feedly.com/e/EEk6UuSd 

Teacher Builds Tiny House in the Forest http://shar.es/9K57L 

Food Chain Restoration: Reconnecting Pollinators with Their Plants http://feedly.com/e/Q3gdfekh 

Cool hut? http://feedly.com/e/OQ1pOJ6a 

The Electricity-Generating Bicycle Desk That Would Power the World – James Hamblin – The Atlantic http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/01/the-electricity-generating-bicycle-desk-that-would-power-the-world/282692/ …

Here’s How Ridiculous This Year’s CES Will Look in 2034 http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/heres-how-ridiculous-this-years-ces-will-look-in-2034-1495500665 …

Nasty cake ‘joke’ leaves bad taste – National – NZ Herald News http://nzh.tw/11181508 

Saturday Linkages: Dig that Passive Solar Birdbath!

BirdBath01

Passive solar birdbath. Image: Builditsolar.com


Passive solar birdbath: http://tinyurl.com/kbalf7x

A Veteran Gets Criminal Treatment and Censored over Chickens http://tinyurl.com/lenrx9m

Termite Ventilation – Natural Airconditioning http://feedly.com/e/2Zrz8bkc 

Rhone Street Gardens: 2013…Looking Back http://www.rhonestreetgardens.com/2013/12/2013looking-back.html

One-minute doc on a man’s love for thrifted sweaters – http://boingboing.net/2013/12/28/one-minute-doc-on-a-mans-lov.html#.UsBLJPwY_RE.twitter …

The Elderly in Modern Society http://feedly.com/e/bHIPi3fk 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: From Bananas to Laird’s Laws

banana

Breaking news from Mrs. Homegrown’s alma mater–banana plant busts through glass roof at Smith College conservatory http://www.gazettenet.com/news/9182534-95/banana-plant-busts-through-glass-roof-at-smith-college-conservatory#.UrzZKcw8rbU.twitter …

Goleta considers groovy permaculture ordinance: http://www.independent.com/news/2013/dec/23/goleta-considers-groovy-green-ordinance/ …

Spanish sperm whale death linked to UK supermarket supplier’s plastic http://gu.com/p/3eb3b/tw 

Solicitor George Cooper’s diaries give insight into Victorian life with his watercolour paintings http://bit.ly/yFANsU 

Recreation of ancient beer suggests it was really, really gross http://io9.com/recreation-of-ancient-beer-suggests-it-was-sour-and-ful-572664886 …

Laird’s Laws http://shar.es/OPik9 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: