Saturday Linkages: Stealth, Mules and Opiates

Stealth Pickup Camper http://frommoontomoon.blogspot.com/2013/10/stealth-pickup-camper.html … Rocket Stove Heating http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/rocket-stove-heating-systems.html … Conservation You Can Taste http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2327  The Very Different Nomadic Lifestyle Of John Sears And His Three Mules… http://theflyingtortoise.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-very-different-nomadic-lifestyle-of.html … Restaurants in China s...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Speedos, Blue Eggs and the Rise of Rye

A rancher of the future according to the 1981 children’s book Tomorrow’s Home. Trojan Horses, Recipes, and Permaculture http://www.patternliteracy.com/770-trojan-horses-recipes-and-permaculture … How bad for the environment are gas-powered leaf blowers? http://wapo.st/14bgqIQ  In Pursuit of Tastier Chickens, a Strict Diet of Four-Star Scraps http://nyti.ms/15yN8EY  Rye’s Rise: New Loaves That Are More Than a Vehicle for Pastrami http...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Killer Bees, Bikes and Cold Coffee

Low tech bike shift lever via No Tech Magazine. Low-tech Bike Shift Lever http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/low-tech-bike-shift-lever.html … Before The Age of Automobiles, Cyclists Fought For Better Roads http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/before-the-age-of-automobiles-cyclists-fought-for-bett-1450090817 … Stop Trying to Make Killer Bees Happen http://shar.es/IqK8T  Designing Urban Agriculture: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2013/10/27/designing-urb...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Cheese Powder and Torpedo Bikes

Cheese powder anyone? Cheese powder: What is it?: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/14/cheese-powder-what-is-it.html … Heat Your Clothes, Not Your House http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-clothes-not-your-house.html … Heat Your Desk, Not Your Office http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-desk-not-your-office.html … Bog Butter: Storing Food in Soil http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/bog-butter-storing-food-in-soil.html … App...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Gardening, Rocket Heaters and DIY Tips

Forgot your reading glasses? No problem. Tip via Popular Mechanics. A Garden Cannot be Designed http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/11/a-garden-cannot-be-designed.html … Seeds on seeds on seeds: Why more biodiversity means more food security http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2347  Lawn Pesticides Outlawed! by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/11/lawn-pesticides-out-lawed.html?utm_source=feedly … Chelle Lindahl’s rocket mass heater h...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Balloon Jumping, Front Yard Graves and a Poo Themed Restaurant

What If There Was No Landscaping? http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/09/what-if-there-was-no-landscaping.html … Make Your Own $35 Straw Mattress http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/make-your-own-35-straw-mattress.html … How to solder: http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_mfaire.php  Outrageously Themed Magic Restroom Cafe Soft Opens, Serving “Golden Poop” Rice http://eater.cc/1fxFy2N  ORDNING stainless steel breadbox to modern mail...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html … Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ … DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/ An Open Source Commu...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Finally, A Use for Palm Fronds

Incredibly important information At last, something to do with them! Halloween mask carved from a palm tree frond. http://boingboing.net/2013/10/10/mask-carved-from-a-palm-tree-f.html … The Perfect Cat House by Thinking Design http://www.hauspanther.com/2013/10/10/the-perfect-cat-house-by-thinking-design/ … Keep Your House in Tip-Top Shape: An Incredibly Handy Home Maintenance Checklist http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/0JHKd...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: An Egg Shaped Houseboat, Bamboo Joints and the Origins of Umami

Interior of houseboat designed by PAD studio, SPUD group and artist Stephen Turner. Behold a Once-Lost Plan for a Central Park That Might Have Been http://gizmodo.com/behold-a-once-lost-plan-for-a-central-park-that-might-h-787841443 … # Williamsburg vacant lot transformed into bike course and urban farm: http://po.st/2c8dOu  Japanese beetle traps—a reconsideration by James Roush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/japanese-beetle-traps-a-reconsiderati...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Soils, Prickly Pear and the Case for Going Outside

Soil diagram from the Garden Professors. Let’s get (soil) physical… https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=943 … The Science Behind Honey’s Eternal Shelf Life http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/science/2013/08/the-science-behind-honeys-eternal-shelf-life/#.Uh0YB1lfCUw.twitter … Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/21/open-tech-forever-permacultur.html …...

Continue reading…