Saturday Linkages: Insect Hotels, Edwardian Hipsters and Biomorphic Light Fixtures

DIY insect hotel spotted on the ever amazing Lloyd’s Blog. Insect Hotels http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/insect-hotels.html#.UcEUtDWXvN0.twitter … Good Yard or Bad Yard? Garden Design Pitfalls | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/06/good-yard-or-bad-yard-garden-design-pitfalls-2.html … Q & A – Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/1844StH Edwardian stunt bikers – in pictures http://gu.com/p/3ggde/tw  Intera...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Artisinal DIY

Looks like the use of the word “artisinal” peaked–back in the 1990s! Artisinal Everything Artisanal Won’t Die – Jen Doll – The Atlantic Wire http://www.theatlanticwire.com/national/2013/04/artisanal-wont-die/63840/ … DIY! Make a Teardrop Camper Trailer: http://blog.makezine.com/projects/teardrop-camper-trailer/ … Backyard Bioshelter http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/backyard-bioshelter/ … Shed of the Year 2...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: $1 Homes, Compost Heated Showers and Potty Talk

3573 Lincoln St.in Gary, Indiana. Yours for $1. Home Sweet Home Gary Indiana unveils Dollar Home Program: http://bit.ly/19HD517  Gardening Pipe planters http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/pipe-planters/ … Mariposa Nabi Community Garden features this alter via @GlenDake http://pinterest.com/pin/306667055846811135/ … DIY IKEA Hackers: New life for Old Poang! http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/06 13 Ways To Turn Your Outdated ’90s Tech Into Truly Usa...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: A Log Lounge, Tiny Apartments and Poop Scrubbing People

Log chair via Decor Hacks. DIY Log Lounge Chair http://decorhacks.com/2013/05/log-lounge-chair/ … Luxury trash Chandelier http://www.recyclart.org/2013/05/luxury-trash/ … Tiny Apartments Freedom Rooms: Micro Apartments Designed by Prisoners | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/freedom-rooms-micro-apartments-designed-by-prisoners/ … Manhattan shoebox apartment: a 78-square-foot mini studio http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: I’m tired of doom, let’s garden and make things . . .

Onesmus Mwangi’s homemade helicopter. Gardens Thomas Rainer’s amazing garden http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/05/pleasure-garden.html?spref=tw … Container planting: intuition vs. reality: http://ow.ly/1WWQXg Praise for Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/ZekBDm DIY Small Batch Strawberry Rhubarb Jam + Rhubarb Recipes from the Archives http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/05/small-batch-strawberry-rhubarb-jam-rhuba...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages:

The Japanese art of Furoshiki–a way of making packages with a reusable cloth. Via No Tech Magazine. Zero waste shopping in Japan with Furoshiki: http://www.notechmagazine.com/2014/04/furoshiki-zero-waste-shopping-in-japan.html … A solar powered grain grinder: http://www.notechmagazine.com/2014/04/solar-powered-grain-mill.html … Bee Friendly Gardening In The Pacific Northwest http://www.nwedible.com/2014/04/bee-friendly-gardening.html … Nes...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Grains, Collapse and Mangoes

A Silver Lake street library. Image: The Eastsider. A really well done free street library: New Little Free Library in Silver Lake seeks book donations http://www.theeastsiderla.com/2014/03/bulletin-board-new-little-free-library-in-silver-lake-seeks-book-donations/ … What if Everything You Knew About Grains Was Wrong? http://shar.es/B37xj  Pot grow light interferes with HAM radio bands: http://www.arrl.org/news/view/arrl-to-fcc-grow-light-ballas...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Rammed Earth, Vanilla Ice and Moonshine

Best idea of the week. Image: Natural Building Blog Smokeless Rammed Earth Stove http://feedly.com/e/3e4xRBr8  Ice Goes Amish: http://modernfarmer.com/2014/02/vanilla-ice-amish-farmer/ … Plastic debris for brains http://www.honeybeesuite.com/plastic-debris-for-brains/ … RiYL podcast 041: Colin Spoelman, moonshine maker: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/20/riyl-podcast-041-colin-spoelm.html … Brazil’s new dietary guidelines: food-based! http://feedl...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Fire Plows, Kite Fishing and Roundup-Ready Turfgrass

Tell Me You Wouldn’t Buy This Snow-Fighting Fire Plow http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/tell-me-you-wouldnt-buy-this-snow-fighting-fire-plow-1519897386 … Tear Down These 10 Freeways! (And Then Tear Down Some More) http://feedly.com/e/5TEe4eBI  Mineral waters à la carte http://shar.es/QRHOf  Google hangout with Lloyd Kahn, master urban homesteader: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/12/google-hangout-with-lloyd-kahn.html … 3 MAKE projects to help...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Poultry Shaming, Horse Treadmills and Garden Snark

Image: Thirdroar. Poultry shaming: http://www.thirdroar.com/journal/2014/2/24/public-poultry-shaming.html … Russian Man Uses Horse Treadmill to Power Log Splitter http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/russian-man-uses-horse-treadmill-to-power-chainsaw-1532466975 … Garden Variety SNARK | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/02/garden-variety-snark.html … Pison eu, Colon grossum! http://wp.me/p4bjRl-5V  Reviving forgotten recipes: http://www.thesmartse...

Continue reading…