Saturday Linkages: Let’s Make Chickens Legal in Pasadena!

Let’s really make backyard hens legal in Pasadena CA! 

Gardening
Preventing the heartbreak of splayage: http://ow.ly/1RN6pB

Uli Westphal’s Ripening Tomatoes http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/01/uli-westphals-ripening-tomatoes.html#.UQxX3qqq5vY.twitter …

The Wild, the Domesticated, and the Coyote-Tainted http://j.mp/14EAlz6 


Beyond Thunderdome

Bug-Out Security with UV : http://dirttime.com/?p=2804

For 40 years, this Russian family was cut off from all human contact #longreads http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history-archaeology/For-40-Years-This-Russian-Family-Was-Cut-Off-From-Human-Contact-Unaware-of-World-War-II-188843001.html#.UQgv0Pcfh0Y.twitter …

Bikesailing http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/01/bikesailing.html#.UQckcMq9Xa8.twitter …

Build your own junk bagpipes out of PVC and duct tape: http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-your-own-Smallpipes-for-a-few-bucks-Membra/?ALLSTEPS …

2-In-1 iPotty with Activity Seat for iPad: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/01/2-in-1-ipotty-with-activity-se.html …

Your Biggest Carbon Sin May Be Air Travel http://nyti.ms/VesXDI

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Bus Offices and Secret Doors

Vintage Hungarian bus re-purposed as a home office. Via Dornob. (Kelly says: I can totally see Erik working in here, with a little hat to match.)

DIY
Hungary For History: Vintage Bus Becomes Rad Home Office | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/hungary-for-history-vintage-bus-becomes-rad-home-office/ …

Secret exterior door with remote control lock – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/01/24/secret-exterior-door-with-remo.html …

“Yes You Can Build Your Own Tiny House” http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/01/yes-you-can-build-your-own-tiny-house.html#.UPtz5N_K5l8.twitter …

HOWTO assemble the Powercube, hydraulic power source for the Global Village Construction set: http://boingboing.net/2013/01/18/howto-assemble-the-powercube.html …

A just plain cool site: inspirationgreen.com/index  Thanks, Davis!

Gardening
grounded design by Thomas Rainer: No They Didn’t!: A Gallery of Mockable Landscapes http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/p/no-they-didnt-gallery-of-mockable.html?spref=tw …

Ancient wheat: making a comeback http://www.smithsonianmag.com/people-places/Artisanal-Wheat-On-the-Rise.html#.UQM4YKWpmhs.twitter …

Soul Searching
The secret to feeling like you have more time available – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/01/25/the-secret-to-feeling-like-you.html …

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail (review): http://boingboing.net/2013/01/24/wild-from-lost-to-found-on-th.html …

Zócalo Public Square :: How Doctors Die http://www.zocalopublicsquare.org/2011/11/30/how-doctors-die/ideas/nexus/#.UQBvvozSrTM.twitter …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Garden Hoses, Planners and IKEA Hacks . . .

Ikea meets aquaponics.

Gardening
Finding the Garden Hose of my Dreams Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/01/garden-hose-of-my-d1reams.html …

Home Ec
On Planners, Productivity, and Idle Pleasures http://thetanglednest.com/2013/01/on-planners-productivity-and-idle-pleasures/ …

DIY Barn Door Track Tutorail http://shar.es/47h3M 

How Google Earth Revealed Chicago’s Hidden Farms: http://ow.ly/gJRrS

Bad News Department
Florida couple may have to give up their vegetable garden b/c of city ordinance http://ow.ly/gIg4C
Looney Gas and Lead Poisoning: A Short, Sad History | Wired Science | http://Wired.com  http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2013/01/looney-gas-and-lead-poisoning-a-short-sad-history/ …

Aquaponic hacks
Rooftop aquaponic system: http://www.ampsnola.com

Indoor Micro Aquaponics System (IKEA-hack): http://www.instructables.com/id/Easy-and-Cheap-IKEA-Indoor-Aquaponics-System/ …

Recipes
The Lucien Gaudin Cocktail http://www.cocktailmusings.com/2010/11/lucien-gaudin-cocktail.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Tiny Houses, Pink Slime and Martinis

Garage becomes house.

Tiny Houses
Cozy Carpark: 250-Square-Foot Home Inside Old Garage | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/totally-cozy-250-square-foot-home-from-old-garage/ …

Losing Everything–Starting Over with a Tiny House http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/01/losing-everythingstarting-over-with.html#.UOMxMX2ZB28.twitter …

Cookin’
Vegetarian Recipe: Fennel alla Parmigiana http://blogs.kcrw.com/goodfood/2013/01/vegetarian-recipe-fennel-alla-parmigiana/#.UOdd3dpPfss.twitter …

News
Leaded gasoline and the 20th-century crime wave: http://boingboing.net/2013/01/03/leaded-gasoline-and-the-20th-c.html …

USDA internal discussions of Pink Slime revealed:”We are taking a beating from the media” – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2012/12/31/usda-internal-discussions-of-p.html …

@itspastormatt How Doctors Die: Not Like the Rest of Ushttp://ow.ly/gypnB 

Closing Quote
Buñuel martini recipe: allow “a ray of sunlight to shine through a bottle of Noilly Prat before it hits the bottle of gin.”

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: A Boat Couch and Chickens in the News

Design
Couch made out of old rowboat: http://www.dudecraft.com/2012/12/all-at-sea.html …

Chickens in the News
Pet chicken alerts family about house fire http://www.weau.com/home/headlines

VW Chicken Coop Scale Model http://www.dudecraft.com/2012/12/vw-chicken-coop-scale-model.html …

Gardening
What a Little Paint Can Do In Your Garden | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/12/what-a-little-paint-can-do.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Coop Plans, Moonshine and Mercury in Seafood

How to Build A Chicken Coop
by TimothySanders. Based on Tom and Lyanda’s Chicken coop.


DIY

Infographic: How To Build Tom and Lyanda’s Backyard Chicken Coop http://thetanglednest.com/2012/12/infographic-how-to-build-our-coop/ …

An easy way to make moonshine: http://boingboing.net/2012/12/18/an-easy-way-to-make-moonshine.html …

Pastoral Pavilion: Eco-Friendly Retreat Meets Regional Style | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/pastoral-pavilion-eco-friendly-retreat-meets-regional-style/ …

Gardening
Loving David Culp’s Layered Garden. Scheming to see the garden. | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/12/loving-david-culps-layered-garden-scheming-to-see-the-garden.html …

The story of Mission grapes: http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/1942

Signs of the Mayan Apocalypse
Cigarette company endorses apples: http://boingboing.net/2012/12/18/cigarette-company-endorses-app.html …

Mercury in seafood: Where does it come from? http://grist.org/food/mercury-in-seafood-where-does-it-come-from/#.UM036EuO8V8.twitter …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Alphabet Birdhouses, Ancient Cheese and the World’s Worst Cookbooks

Aviary Alphabet: Birdhouses Shaped Like Letters http://dornob.com/aviary-alphabet-birdhouses-shaped-like-letters/ …

How much does it cost to decorate your house with Christmas lights?: http://boingboing.net/2012/12/10/how-much-does-it-cost-to-decor.html …

Archaeologists Find Ancient Evidence Of Cheese-Making http://n.pr/TUyVLZ

New Research Links Pesticides in Tap Water to Rise in Food Allergies http://inhabitat.com/new-research-links-pesticides-in-tap-water-to-rise-in-food-allergies/ …

The world’s worst cookbooks: http://yuckylicious.blogspot.com

Does Costco Destroy Baby Manatees? MoJo’s Eco-Doom Headline Generator http://www.motherjones.com/environment/2012/12/mother-jones-fake-headline-generator …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:


Saturday Linkages: Sedum Stumps, Chicken Steadycams and the End of the World

Gardening

Cool gift idea–plant a sedum stump: http://ow.ly/1PQqq2

Nature Meets Video

Chicken as steadycam: http://n.pr/11bA7gl

Fantastic slow motion video of sprinting cheetahs – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2012/11/26/fantastic-flow-motion-video-of.html …

DIY Livin’

Sun Ray Kelly: An Ungated Community http://nyti.ms/Ut6Tb5

Modest Student Micro-Cottage is a Mere 12 Square Meters | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/modest-student-micro-cottage-is-a-mere-12-square-meters/ …

Emergency Shelters http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/11/emergency-shelters.html#.ULPceX88vHE.twitter …

Read and Relax in the Sculptural Bookworm Chair | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/read-and-relax-on-the-sculptural-bookworm-chair/ …

Holy Crap!

GRANTHAM: We’re Headed For A Disaster Of Biblical Proportions http://www.businessinsider.com/were-headed-for-a-disaster-of-biblical-proportions-2012-11?0=bi …

The World in 2036: Nassim Taleb looks at what will break, and what won’t | The Economist http://econ.st/KAOPVc

Cornstalks Everywhere But Nothing Else, Not Even A Bee http://n.pr/Rlasks

Why Phoenix is becoming more like Minneapolis: http://nyti.ms/V3Nwlo

Central Valley residents tired of receiving L.A.’s urban waste – Los Angeles Times http://www.latimes.com/la-me-central-valley-20121126,0,3069632.story …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:


Saturday Linkages: Makers, Haters and Beekeeping Donkeys

Critters

Beekeeping Donkey is a Honey Farmer’s Best Friend : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/culture/honey-farmer-creates-beekeeping-suit-his-donkey.html … via bikejuju

Rental Search, Caused by Storm, Is Complicated by Pet Chickens http://nyti.ms/VXoM3v

Gardening

Exactly what wildlife do we want overwintering in our beds? | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/11/what-wildlife-do-we-want-overwintering-in-our-beds.html …

Grounded Design by Thomas Rainer: Fabulous Succulent Pots http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2012/10/fabulous-succulent-pots.html?spref=tw …

Brazilian model offers post storm hazard tree assessment: http://ow.ly/1PuiKX

Food Preservation

Homemade Cranberry Jelly and Pickled Cranberries http://www.foodinjars.com/2012/11/homemade-cranberry-jelly-and-pickled-cranberries/ …

Makers

Step-by-Step Tiny Home Design & Construction http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/11/step-by-step-tiny-home-design.html#.UKbP0iPHQeI.twitter …

Open Source Ecology’s “Build Yourself”: http://boingboing.net/2012/11/14/open-source-ecologys-build.html …

Popular Mechanics Magazines from the 1930s http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/11/popular-mechanics-magazines-from-1930s.html#.UKbP-zJtCxE.twitter …

People Are Suspicious About This Pee-Powered Generator http://motherboard.vice.com/2012/11/8/people-are-suspicious-about-this-pee-powered-generator#.UKbO4xqMa-I.twitter …

Electric Velomobiles-as Fast and Comfortable as Autos-80 times more Efficient http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2012/10/electric-velomobiles.html …

Haters

Shopspin: The Hater’s Guide To The Williams-Sonoma Catalog – http://deadspin.com/5959212/the-haters-guide-to-the-williams+sonoma-catalog …

Hand-crank mills with which to grind one’s own flour ($675.95) are the new artisanal mayonnaise: http://boingboing.net/2012/11/09/hand-crank-mills-with-which-to.html …

From the be careful who you put on a pedestal department . . .

Nikola Tesla the Eugenicist: Eliminating Undesirables by 2100 http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/paleofuture/2012/11/nikola-tesla-the-eugenicist-eliminating-undesirables-by-2100/#.UKbSgF_a9sU.twitter …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:


Saturday Linkages: The Calm After the Storm

Got a storm damaged tree? See Trees Are Good for advice.

DIY
Build-It-Solar Blog: A Unique DIY Solar Pool Heating Collector Using PV… http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/10/a-unique-diy-solar-pool-heating.html?spref=tw 

Build-It-Solar Blog: Large DIY Solar Space and Water Heating System in … http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/10/large-diy-solar-space-and-water-heating.html?spref=tw 

Continue reading…