Saturday Linkages: From Bananas to Laird’s Laws

banana

Breaking news from Mrs. Homegrown’s alma mater–banana plant busts through glass roof at Smith College conservatory http://www.gazettenet.com/news/9182534-95/banana-plant-busts-through-glass-roof-at-smith-college-conservatory#.UrzZKcw8rbU.twitter …

Goleta considers groovy permaculture ordinance: http://www.independent.com/news/2013/dec/23/goleta-considers-groovy-green-ordinance/ …

Spanish sperm whale death linked to UK supermarket supplier’s plastic http://gu.com/p/3eb3b/tw 

Solicitor George Cooper’s diaries give insight into Victorian life with his watercolour paintings http://bit.ly/yFANsU 

Recreation of ancient beer suggests it was really, really gross http://io9.com/recreation-of-ancient-beer-suggests-it-was-sour-and-ful-572664886 …

Laird’s Laws http://shar.es/OPik9 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Holiday Edition

How Children Demanding Play Streets Changed Amsterdam http://feedly.com/e/ejQo__gG

Overpriced, useless, or just plain bizarre: an anti-garden gift guide http://gardenrant.com/2013/12/overpriced-useless-or-just-plain-bizarre-an-anti-garden-gift-guide.html …

Half Of Supermarket Chicken Harbors Superbugs, Consumer Reports Finds http://huff.to/JKYa1W 

Why LA’s local water strategy is like ‘Superman 3′ http://www.scpr.org/news/2013/12/13/40922/with-water-from-the-delta-uncertain-la-looks-to-ex/ …

Bike helmets and safety: a case study in difficult epidemiology – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/12/15/bike-helmets-and-safety-a-cas.html …

Avoid Antibacterial Soaps, Say Consumer Advocates http://on.natgeo.com/18Pptyh 

Arizona Food and Farm Finance Forum 2014 http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2366 

Practical Permaculture – Planting Under Fruit Trees http://wp.me/p2Lm7J-wK 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Teepees, a Preying Mantis and a 1200 Year Old Phone

Pink preying mantis disguises itself as a flower: http://boingboing.net/2013/12/10/pink-preying-mantis-disguises.html …

How to Stop Bee-Killing Pesticides? Start with the Box Stores! | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/12/stopping-bee-killing-pesticides-it-starts-with-the-box-stores.html …

Calgary blizzard and brazen mice put teepee life to the test http://www.calgaryherald.com/Calgary+blizzard+brazen+mice+teepee+life+test/9243333/story.html …

Bad service on your #iphone? Try this 1200 year old phone @NMAI http://www.smithsonianmag.com/ideas-innovations/Theres-a-1200-year-old-Phone-in-the-Smithsonian-Collections-231152081.html#.UqeBp_EoRXg.twitter …

War veteran forced to change bike shop’s name after threat from U.S bike giant Specialized http://wp.me/p1IkT4-iZS  Update: Specialized has apologized (thanks Max).

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Bitters, Dogs and Native Plants

ku-xlarge (2)

What our hometown looked like in the 1920s.

We Only Bond with Complex Landscapes | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/12/we-only-bond-with-complex-landscapes.html …

How To Make Homemade Bitters Cooking Lessons from The Kitchn http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-homemade-bitters-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-197883 …

100 Years of Dog Breed “Improvement” http://wp.me/p1VSYl-eg 

Los Angeles Was Once a Forest of Oil Derricks http://southland.gizmodo.com/los-angeles-was-once-a-forest-of-oil-derricks-1469825345 …

Full-color handout for plant-based eating. Tips for food, nutrition, shopping. http://truelovehealth.com/2013/12/04/how-to-eat-more-plant-based-meals-handout-now-available/ ….

Eagle Rock backyard yields fresh fruit and food for the hungry http://www.theeastsiderla.com/2013/12/eagle-rock-backyard-yields-fresh-fruit-and-food-for-the-hungry/ …

Native plants: restoring an idea–http://www.patternliteracy.com/116-native-plants-restoring-to-an-idea …

In the U.S., recycling is often pigeonholed as… – Unconsumption http://disq.us/8gf2so 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Goats in Sweaters, Evil Gardeners and Cooking in the Dishwasher

goatsweathero


Goats in sweaters! http://modernfarmer.com/2013/11/goats-sweaters/ …

Transparent Cabin Built of Wood and Mirrors in California Desert http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/11/transparent-cabin-built-of-wood-and.html#.Upkc7Eg2Ius.twitter …

Evil, Frivolous Gardener!!! | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/11/evil-frivolous-gardener.html …

No Queso-Dilla http://plantbasedonabudget.com/recipe/no-queso-dilla/ …

Is there norovirus where you are going? There’s an app for that http://barfblog.com/2013/11/is-there-norovirus-where-you-are-going-theres-an-app-for-that/

The sous vide of the suburbs: Cooking Thanksgiving in the dishwasher http://barfblog.com/2013/11/the-sous-vide-of-the-suburbs-cooking-thanksgiving-in-the-dishwasher/

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Incas, Big Rocks and Cool Cucumbers

building-a-crystal-clear-whiteboard

Engineering professor Michael Peshkin and his clear whiteboard.

Growin’ things
Wildflower project takes root in Echo Park http://feedly.com/e/pugEWv4Z 

Lost Crops of the Incas http://feedly.com/e/9GygG_Yc 

Reading: Urban Oasis on a Balcony: From Concrete Furnace to Edible Habitat… http://bit.ly/HSeQ6B 

Look at My Big Rock by Evelyn Hadden http://feedly.com/e/0gB_TOO6 

The coolest cucumber you’ve never met: http://modernfarmer.com/2013/11/coolest-cucumber-never-met/ …

Food issues
Americans – why do you keep refrigerating your eggs? http://io9.com/americans-why-do-you-keep-refrigerating-your-eggs-1465309529 …

35 sickened; how did E. coli O121 get into Farm Rich Brand Frozen pizza? Flour http://barfblog.com/2013/11/35-sickened-how-did-e-coli-o121-get-into-farm-rich-brand-frozen-pizza-flour/ …

Cool Designs
Building a Crystal Clear Whiteboard http://feedly.com/e/54gF3j19 

Lock Pick Earrings by GiantEye http://etsy.me/1aASFNh 

Micro-community of tiny homes flourishes on rehabilitated vacant lot http://feedly.com/e/V62jTC8v 

Simple And Delightful Tiny Homes On The Back Of Small Pick-Up Trucks… http://feedly.com/e/EIHJkA8Y

Odd ideas
Betrayers’ Banquet: gourmet dining vs the Prisoner’s Dilemma – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/11/21/betrayers-banquet-gourmet-d.html …

Complete meal cooking with a hotel coffee-maker: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/18/complete-meal-cooking-with-a-h.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Cheese Powder and Torpedo Bikes

Cheese powder anyone?

Cheese powder anyone?

Cheese powder: What is it?: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/14/cheese-powder-what-is-it.html …

Heat Your Clothes, Not Your House http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-clothes-not-your-house.html …

Heat Your Desk, Not Your Office http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-desk-not-your-office.html …

Bog Butter: Storing Food in Soil http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/bog-butter-storing-food-in-soil.html …

Appeal to American Children to Encourage Monsanto to Safeguard Monarch Butterflies: http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2354 

17 Better Ways to Waste Your Money Than On This Crowdfunded “Flying Car” http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/17-better-ways-to-waste-your-money-than-this-crowdfunde-1458308873 …

Berlin workshop on “Unpleasant Design”: urban design that bullies it users: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/11/berlin-workshop-tomorrow-on.html …

It’s Time to Rethink America’s Corn System http://ensia.com/voices/its-time-to-rethink-americas-corn-system/ …

Cheese powder: What is it?: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/14/cheese-powder-what-is-it.html …

My Vintage Apron Collection http://hencam.com/thevintagehen/2013/11/my-vintage-apron-collection/ …

1913 : Torpedo Bike http://www.retronaut.com/2013/11/torpedo-bike/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Gardening, Rocket Heaters and DIY Tips

110-tips-06-0312-lgn

Forgot your reading glasses? No problem. Tip via Popular Mechanics.

A Garden Cannot be Designed http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/11/a-garden-cannot-be-designed.html …

Seeds on seeds on seeds: Why more biodiversity means more food security http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2347 

Lawn Pesticides Outlawed! by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/11/lawn-pesticides-out-lawed.html?utm_source=feedly …

Chelle Lindahl’s rocket mass heater http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/chelle-lindahls-rocket-mass-heater/ …

Know Your Stuff: The 110 Best DIY Tips Ever http://www.popularmechanics.com/home/skills/know-your-stuff-the-110-best-diy-tips-ever?src=soc_twtr …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Killer Bees, Bikes and Cold Coffee

Low tech bike lever via

Low tech bike shift lever via No Tech Magazine.

Low-tech Bike Shift Lever http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/low-tech-bike-shift-lever.html …

Before The Age of Automobiles, Cyclists Fought For Better Roads http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/before-the-age-of-automobiles-cyclists-fought-for-bett-1450090817 …

Stop Trying to Make Killer Bees Happen http://shar.es/IqK8T 

Designing Urban Agriculture: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2013/10/27/designing-urban-agriculture-a-complete-guide-to-the-planning-design-construction-maintenance-and-management-of-edible-landscapes/ …

Why the Brain Prefers to Read on Paper http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/why-the-brain-prefers-to-read-on-paper.html …

HOWTO make a bike-charged emergency battery: http://boingboing.net/2013/10/29/howto-make-a-bike-charged-emer.html …

Easy cold-brew coffee with a French press: http://boingboing.net/2013/10/30/easy-cold-brew-coffee-with-a-f.html …

Ten Steps You Can Take Right Now Against Internet Surveillance https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2013/10/ten-steps-against-surveillance …

Saturday Linkages: Balloon Jumping, Front Yard Graves and a Poo Themed Restaurant

ku-bigpic (1)

What If There Was No Landscaping? http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/09/what-if-there-was-no-landscaping.html …

Make Your Own $35 Straw Mattress http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/make-your-own-35-straw-mattress.html …

How to solder: http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_mfaire.php 

Outrageously Themed Magic Restroom Cafe Soft Opens, Serving “Golden Poop” Rice http://eater.cc/1fxFy2N 

ORDNING stainless steel breadbox to modern mailbox http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/10/ordning-stainless-steel-breadbox-to-modern-mailbox.html …

How To Grow Your Own Garlic http://www.nwedible.com/2013/10/how-to-grow-your-own-garlic.html …

During Your First Freezes Be Concerned About The Wind http://www.finegardening.com/item/30377/during-your-first-freezes-be-concerned-about-the-wind …

Pumpkin Tap turns pumpkin or watermelon into keg: http://boingboing.net/2013/10/21/pumpkin-tap-turns-pumpkin-or-w.html …

Tombstone as Landscape Feature by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/10/tombstone-front-yard.html?utm_source=feedly …

“We’re going to check the burger with our hands here” http://barfblog.com/2013/10/were-going-to-check-the-burger-with-our-hands-here/ …

Jeff Speck: America Has So Many Problems. Walkability Solves Most of Them. http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/10/15/jeff-speck-america-has-so-many-problems-walkability-solves-most-of-them/ …

Distracted Driving Is Claiming the Lives of More Pedestrians and Cyclists http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/10/23/distracted-driving-is-claiming-the-lives-of-more-cyclists-and-pedestrians/#.Uml6jtaXz3w.twitter …

Balloon Jumping: Yesterday’s Fun (and Dangerous) Sport of the Future http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/balloon-jumping-yesterdays-fun-and-dangerous-sport-1450733941 …

HOWTO make a $10 digital microscope kit for your phone: http://boingboing.net/2013/10/22/howto-make-a-10-digital-micro.html …

Pico-Dwelling: Urban Living in Less than 200 Square Feet http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/dornob/~3/UcyD8r98jAQ/story01.htm …

Branch-Like Modular Benches Have Endless Possibilities http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/dornob/~3/9OyXv2JJKMo/story01.htm …

The Venetian Handcart http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/the-venetian-handcart.html …

5 MPH Home: Ultra-Tiny Caravan Towed by Mobility Scooter | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/5-mph-home-ultra-tiny-caravan-towed-by-mobility-scooter/ …

Six-Legged Caravan Gives New Meaning to ‘Walking Home’ | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/six-legged-caravan-gives-new-meaning-to-walking-home/ …

Out of Stock: Simple & Easy-to-Assemble 3-Shelf Wall Set http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/dornob/~3/WFfQM7iaKJg/story01.htm …

Truck recycling? http://www.we2ours2.in/2013/10/truck-recycling.html …

Pumpkin Bread with Chocolate Chips and Bourbon http://www.nwedible.com/2013/10/pumpkin-bread-with-chocolate-chips-and-bourbon.html …

Infuse Your Booze! A Complete Guide To DIY Flavored Liquors http://www.nwedible.com/2013/10/infuse-your-booze-a-complete-guide-to-diy-flavored-liquors.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: