Saturday Linkages: Controversy Edition

takeaseat

Gardening
Homegrown polenta? Floriani corn plants deliver ‘amazing flavor’ http://fw.to/2ju3QtE

The High Line in Person by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/the-high-line-in-person.html?utm_source=feedly …

Knocked Out—and not in a good way by James Roush http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/knocked-out-and-not-in-a-good-way.html?utm_source=feedly …

Hackin’
Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/21/open-tech-forever-permacultur.html …

MIT Has Had a Secret Pirate Program This Whole Time http://www.themarysue.com/mit-pirate-program/ …

Things All Scouts Should Know: 16 Camping and Life Hacks from 1911 http://www.artofmanliness.com/2013/08/20/things-all-scouts-should-know-16-camping-and-life-hacks-from-1911/

Hyping
Don’t Believe the Hype(rloop) http://thebillfold.com/2013/08/dont-believe-the-hyperloop/ …

Anonymous funeral director explains the big con behind the industry, coffins, and embalming http://boingboing.net/2013/08/19/anonymous-funeral-director-exp.html …

On the Phenomenon of Bulls**t Jobs http://www.strikemag.org/bullshit-jobs/ 

The water sommelier of Los Angeles: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/20/the-water-sommelier-of-los-ang.html …

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Roasting and That Crazy Rhubarb Lady

IKEA hack: DIY coffee roaster.

DIY

IKEA hack FrankenRoaster – DIY Coffee Roaster Drum http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Ikeahacker/~3/Ii6NHUh_5Hg/frankenroaster-coffee-roaster-drum.html …

Made in the Shade: Building a Vertical Garden Under the Canopy of Our Guava Tree http://disq.us/8en1h5

Create Your Own Hipster Logo In 6 Steps http://www.fastcodesign.com/node/1673156 

Back to Basics: Direct Hydropower http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/typepad/krisdedecker/lowtechmagazineenglish/~3/3fsfrNm3iis/direct-hydropower.html …

HOWTO: Ultra-cheap Sous-vide – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/08/11/howto-ultra-cheap-sous-vide.html …

Nature
Biology, Antifragility, and Nature http://goo.gl/fb/VQHx3Garden Centers Sell Bee-Attractant Plants with Pesticide Residues Toxic to Bees http://www.beyondpesticides.org/dailynewsblog/?p=11566 …

Want your kids to play outside? Rip out the lawn! by Garden Rant » good read http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/want-your-kids-to-play-outside-rip-out-the-lawn.html?utm_source=feedly …

Design
The Modern Seaweed House by Vandkunsten and Realdania Byg http://www.dezeen.com/2013/07/10/the-modern-seaweed-house-by-vandkunsten-and-realdania/ …

Daily Flash: Jay Nelson/Mollusk Surf Shop http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/rw0ApY0oJPM/daily-flash-jay-nelsonmollusk-surf-shop_2987.html …

Your Open-Concept Kitchen Will Ruin Your House and Your Life http://www.slate.com/articles/life/culturebox/2013/08/against_open_concept_kitchens_don_t_listen_to_hgtv_and_keep_your_walls_and.html?utm_source=tw&utm_medium=sm&utm_campaign=button_chunky …

New Skateboard Can Go Down Stairs http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/3_e0IccStLo/new-skateboard-can-go-down-stairs.html …

Life in the city
Urban Healers: http://urbanhealers.tumblr.com

Clotheslines vs. HOAs: “Right to Dry” States http://bit.ly/13nMrPL

The Ten Most Ambitious Failed Utopian Mass Transit Systems http://jalopnik.com/the-ten-most-ambitious-failed-utopian-mass-transit-syst-1135019271 …

Making a Case to Phase Out “Beg Buttons” in Santa Monica’s Pedestrian Action Plan http://disq.us/8elfzy

Meet Streetmix, the Website Where You Can Design Your Own Street » good read http://www.streetsblog.org/2013/08/12/meet-streetmix-the-website-where-you-can-design-your-own-street/ …

Werner Herzog Made a Documentary About Texting While Driving. And It’s Haunting. http://www.slate.com/blogs/browbeat/2013/08/09/werner_herzog_texting_while_driving_documentary_from_one_second_to_the_next.html?utm_source=tw&utm_medium=sm&utm_campaign=button_chunky …

As City Considers Removing Ban on Parkway Vegetable Gardens, Some Communities Continue Planting http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/08/13/as-city-considers-removing-ban-on-parkway-vegetable-gardens-some-communities-continue-planting/ …

The view from above Los Angeles http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/la-oe-green-homage-to-los-angeles-20130814,0,4040309.story …

This Week in Crazy Rhubarb Lady by Amy Stewart http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/this-week-in-crazy-rhubarb-lady.html?utm_source=feedly …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Yet More Potty Talk

Potty training fruit snack from Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons

As promised . . .
Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons: Potty Training Fruit Snack & Other Potty Treats! http://kitchenfunwithmy3sons.blogspot.com/2013/07/potty-training-fruit-snack-other-potty.html?spref=tw …

Can diapers really control Salmonella in lap chickens? http://barfblog.com/2013/08/can-diapers-really-control-salmonella-in-lap-chickens/ …

Food Issues
Cylindrical, quivering, gelatinous, tinned 12-course meal – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/08/04/cylindrical-quivering-gelati.html …

What if gluten-phobes are eliminating the wrong thing? The Grain of Truth http://www.modernluxury.com/san-francisco/story/the-grain-of-truth …

Tokyo’s “unmanned stores” – honor-system sheds where farmers to sell their surplus produce: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/07/tokyos-unmanned-stores.html …

Gardens
How to Win Friends and Influence the Environment: Put on a Garden Tour by Susan Harris » good read http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/how-to-win-friends-and-influence-the-environment-put-on-a-garden-tour.html?utm_source=feedly …

Bike Rantings
We still don’t really know how bicycles work http://www.newstatesman.com/2013/07/mysteries-bicycle …

L.A.’s Real Growth Is in Car-Free and Car-Lite Families http://disq.us/8egmh7

Can you say “miscellaneous?”
BBC News – Carry on camping – can a week under canvas reset our body clocks? http://bbc.in/17m7tdf

The Dystopic Earths of Heinlein’s Juveniles http://www.tor.com/blogs/2008/08/juviedystopias …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Sidewalk Koi, Papercrete, Jaywalking and How to Grow Fresh Air

Wendy Tremayne and Mikey Sklar's papercrete

Wendy Tremayne and Mikey Sklar’s papercrete masterpiece.

Interventions
Sidewalk Koi http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/08/sidewalk-koi.html …

Worker sent to remove graffiti finds image of himself on the same wall hours later http://fw.to/wOjTzDJ

Let’s Build A Traditional City (And Make A Profit) http://www.andrewalexanderprice.com/blog20130330.php …

Building
Tiny Tea House on Wheels http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/D2Xib4vOfeY/tiny-tea-house-on-wheels.html …

Straatlokaal Dumpster Structures http://tinyhouseblog.com/construction-articles/straatlokaal-dumpster-structures/ …

Building with Papercrete at the Good Life Lab : http://wp.me/p22K2I-1mgi 

Straw Bale Dome Home in France http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/straw-bale-dome-home-in-france/ …

Do-it-yourself Pole-barn Building http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/do-it-yourself-pole-barn-building/ …

Fitness
Healthy Design: 3 Core Engaging Chairs http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/three-unusual-ergonomic-task-chairs-191874 …

Gardening
How to Grow Fresh Air http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/how-to-grow-fresh-air/ …

Secret Garden of Survival – How to Grow a Camouflaged Food Forest http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/secret-garden-of-survival-how-to-grow-a-camouflaged-food-forest/ …

How Flora Grubb and an Airport DJ Saved My Soul by Allen Bush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/how-flora-grubb-and-an-airport-dj-saved-my-soul.html?utm_source=feedly …

Troubles
On Rooftops, a Rival for Utilities http://nyti.ms/15luRcD

The Invention of Jaywalking Was a Massive Shaming Campaign http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/the-invention-of-jaywalking-was-a-massive-shaming-campa-858926923 …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Goats, Chainsaws and a Big Blue Rooster

ku-xlarge

Mason Jar + Juice Carton = Resealable Dispenser

Inspiration
Bike Trailers http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/BGY9jmWITPc/bike-trailers.html …

11 things it took me 42 years to learn http://bit.ly/1175KcM

See the Documentary “Wonder: The Lives of Anna and Harlan Hubbard” if You Can by Allen Bush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/see-the-documentary-wonder-the-lives-of-anna-and-harlan-hubbard-if-you-can.html?utm_source=feedly …

Crafty
Crafting with cat hair: no, I’m not making this up 

The Redventure Romp Cocktail by Amy Stewart http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/the-redventure-romp-cocktail.html?utm_source=feedly …

Vinyl Record Lamps http://www.dudecraft.com/2013/07/vinyl-record-lamps.html …

Combine a Mason Jar and Juice Carton into a Resealable Dispenser http://lifehacker.com/combine-a-mason-jar-and-juice-carton-into-a-resealable-845153794 …

Artist Jay Nelson’s Tiny Houseboat http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/07/artist-jay-nelsons-tiny-houseboat.html#.UfBzg3Afa-Q.twitter …

Humanist bathroom tiny stuff holder http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Ikeahacker/~3/wKFLUf0kLNU/humanist-bathroom-tiny-stuff-holder.html …

Livestock
Put The Goats To Work? http://hencam.com/thevintagehen/2013/07/put-the-goats-to-work/ …

How Long Do Chickens Live? | HenCam http://hencam.com/faq/2012/10/how-long-do-chickens-live-2/ …

Woman fined for letting horse poop inside UK McDonald’s http://barfblog.com/2013/07/woman-fined-for-letting-horse-poop-inside-uk-mcdonalds/ …

Be careful out there . . .
Chainsaws — Can We Talk? http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/DWbMVDFUSEE/chainsaws-can-we-talk.html …

Home Canning Hobby Leads to Near-Fatal Medical Emergency http://bit.ly/12GguN0 

Big blue cock erected on fourth plinth in London’s Trafalgar Square http://gu.com/p/3hhpk/tw 

We’re all gonna die
Our Coming Food Crisis http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2163 

A fresh perspective on alleged pesto outbreak in Italy http://barfblog.com/2013/07/a-fresh-perspective-on-alleged-pesto-outbreak-in-italy/ …

The Blip http://nymag.com/news/features/economic-growth-2013-7/ …

Saturday Linkages: An Egg Shaped Houseboat, Bamboo Joints and the Origins of Umami

exbury-egg-designboom-03

Interior of houseboat designed by PAD studio, SPUD group and artist Stephen Turner.

Behold a Once-Lost Plan for a Central Park That Might Have Been http://gizmodo.com/behold-a-once-lost-plan-for-a-central-park-that-might-h-787841443 …

#Williamsburg vacant lot transformed into bike course and urban farm: http://po.st/2c8dOu 

Japanese beetle traps—a reconsideration by James Roush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/japanese-beetle-traps-a-reconsideration.html?utm_source=feedly …

Lifehacking
Whole Life Integration: Tips To Simplify Nearly Everything In Your Productive Home http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/NorthwestEdibleLife/~3/UC-3zsZ43pg/whole-life-integration-tips-to-simplify-nearly-everything-in-your-productive-home.html …

Two new resources on the web for the DIY solar crowd http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2013/07/two-new-resources-on-web-for-diy-solar.html …

A Long-Term Survival Guide – How to Make Bamboo Joints http://www.scribd.com/doc/24688327/A-Long-Term-Survival-Guide-How-to-Make-Bamboo-Joints …

Funnel Wall Plays Music during Rain http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/cBklP2QZW7E/funnel-wall-plays-music-during-rain.html …

Just plain amazing
Stunning houseboat–Exbury egg by PAD studio, SPUD group & stephen turner: http://www.designboom.com/architecture/exbury-egg-by-pad-studio-spud-group-stephen-turner/#.UehXNCf_u3g.twitter …

The Pheonix Earthship….. http://frommoontomoon.blogspot.com/2013/07/the-pheonix-earthship.html …

Scale Models of Bicycles http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/typepad/krisdedecker/lowtechmagazineenglish/~3/Zre1F8bEuz4/bicycle-scale-models.html …

Food
The Origins of Heritage Foods Revivals 1980-1985 http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2137 

Fermenting Mentor: Uri Laio of Brassica and Brine http://wp.me/p1xg32-qw 

“Umami” Was Coined by the Inventor of MSG to describe Its Taste http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/umami-was-coined-by-the-inventor-of-msg-to-describe-i-693953580 …

Why lettuce is making us sick: http://modernfarmer.com/2013/07/why-lettuce-keeps-making-us-sick/ …

Devolution
In Oregon, The GMO Wheat Mystery Deepens http://n.pr/15CRyHO

Study: Wealthier Motorists More Likely to Drive Like Reckless Jerks http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/16/study-wealthier-motorists-more-likely-to-drive-like-reckless-jerks/ …

Gardena PD Ticket, Harass United Riders of South Los Angeles for Taking Lane while protesting case of the Hit-and-Run… http://disq.us/8e2ep5

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Sink Urinals!

Sink urinal from Latvian designer Kaspars Jursons.

Sink urinal from Latvian designer Kaspars Jursons.

Gardening
Toronto Gardens: Idea File: Matt Gil’s garden works with the constr… http://torontogardens.blogspot.com/2013/07/idea-file-matt-gils-garden-works-with.html?spref=tw …

Brace yourself: remove staking from trees! https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=938 …

Metro rips out Phantom Planter’s flowers at Dupont Circle station: http://wapo.st/14UF668

Pee talk
Because guys need better ways to pee; sink-urinal saves water, encourages men to wash hands http://barfblog.com/2013/07/because-guys-need-better-ways-to-piss-sink-urinal-saves-water-encourages-men-to-wash-hands/ …

Adding fuel to the fire
The Exaggerated Benefits of Electric Cars http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/01/the-exaggerated-benefits-of-electric-cars/#.UdyjXdg39C8.twitter …

Car Ownership May Be Down in the U.S., But It’s Soaring Globally http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/05/car-ownership-may-be-down-in-the-u-s-but-its-soaring-globally/#.Udyi4jX2O2g.twitter …

Hollywood–blocking bike lanes yet again: http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/07/03/eyes-on-the-street-guess-whos-blocking-the-bike-lane/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Of Tiny Shops and Margarita Dermatitis

The smallest shop in London.

The smallest shop in London.

Gardening
How to make a ferrocement raised bed: http://www.ruralize.com/Genes  Projects/ferrocement/ferrocement garden bed.html

The Agony and the Ecstasy of Gardening with Children: http://www.nwedible.com/2013/06/the-agony-and-the-ecstasy-of-gardening-with-children.html …

Live light

Join the Aussies in a Plastic-Free July: http://www.plasticfreejuly.org/the-challenge.html

Stuff to worry about
With 2 Weeks’ Worth Of Trans Fat, Long John Silver’s ‘Big Catch’ Dubbed Worst Restaurant Meal http://wp.me/p2L7Ik-GvOF 

Four paralyzed after herb mix-up in Italy: http://barfblog.com/2013/06/4-paralyzed-after-herb-mix-up-in-italy/ …

Royal Mail warns Shropshire man over ‘aggressive’ raspberry bush | http://metro.co.uk/2013/06/28/postmen-refuse-to-deliver-mail-to-shropshire-man-with-aggressive-raspberry-bush-3860915/ …

Combination Of Limes, Sun Can Result In ‘Margarita Dermatitis’: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2007/08/070815153545.htm#.UdXAlb3MdZ8.twitter …

Twitter to allow advertisers to target your browsing history, email addresses; here’s how to opt out: http://boingboing.net/2013/07/03/twitter-will-allow-advertisers.html …

???
Smallest shop in history: http://collectivehistory.tumblr.com/post/54217812035/the-smallest-shop-in-london-a-shoe-salesman-with …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Tables, Ride Shares and Hot to Grill

coffee table made with pallet

Coffee table made with pallet: http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/coffee-table-made-with-pallet/ …

Sorry Uber, Los Angeles Has Been Banning Ride-Shares For a Century http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/sorry-uber-los-angeles-has-been-banning-ride-shares-fo-574851806 …

Metro threatens Phantom Planter with arrest if he tends his DuPont Circle station flowers http://wapo.st/14pF8Ts

The Three Zone Fire: How to Grill Perfect Meat | The Art of Manliness http://www.artofmanliness.com/2013/06/26/summer-grilling-week-the-3-zone-fire-video/ …

Protect power cords from cable-gnawing cats: http://boingboing.net/2013/06/26/protect-power-cords-from-cable.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Insect Hotels, Edwardian Hipsters and Biomorphic Light Fixtures

wildlife-trust-insect-hotel

DIY insect hotel spotted on the ever amazing Lloyd’s Blog.

Insect Hotels http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/insect-hotels.html#.UcEUtDWXvN0.twitter …

Good Yard or Bad Yard? Garden Design Pitfalls | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/06/good-yard-or-bad-yard-garden-design-pitfalls-2.html …

Q & A – Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/1844StH

Edwardian stunt bikers – in pictures http://gu.com/p/3ggde/tw 

Interactive Light Sculpture Moves Just Like a Living Creature | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/interactive-light-sculpture-moves-just-like-a-living-creature/ …

Plans for Lightweight Dinghies http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/plans-for-lightweight-dinghies.html#.UbyvUcYCR7k.twitter …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: