Saturday Linkages: Speedos, Blue Eggs and the Rise of Rye

A rancher of the future according to the 1981 children’s book Tomorrow’s Home. Trojan Horses, Recipes, and Permaculture http://www.patternliteracy.com/770-trojan-horses-recipes-and-permaculture … How bad for the environment are gas-powered leaf blowers? http://wapo.st/14bgqIQ  In Pursuit of Tastier Chickens, a Strict Diet of Four-Star Scraps http://nyti.ms/15yN8EY  Rye’s Rise: New Loaves That Are More Than a Vehicle for Pastrami http...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Loving LA and Gardening

...013/08/tiny-gardens-in-greenwich-village.html?utm_source=feedly … I love LA Christopher Nyerges loves LA: http://christophernyerges.blogspot.com/2013/08/to-love-la.html … 10 Things To Get Over About Los Angeles And 10 Things It Will Teach You To Love http://www.buzzfeed.com/iang18/10-things-to-get-over-about-los-angeles-and-10-thi-eg04 … Los Angeles: A History of the Future: http://issuu.com/metroeco/docs/lahof … For these links and more, follow...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Soils, Prickly Pear and the Case for Going Outside

Soil diagram from the Garden Professors. Let’s get (soil) physical… https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=943 … The Science Behind Honey’s Eternal Shelf Life http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/science/2013/08/the-science-behind-honeys-eternal-shelf-life/#.Uh0YB1lfCUw.twitter … Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/21/open-tech-forever-permacultur.html …...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Stealth, Mules and Opiates

...fferent-nomadic-lifestyle-of.html … Restaurants in China spike meals with opiates to keep diners coming back? http://barfblog.com/2013/10/restaurants-in-china-spike-meals-with-opiates-to-keep-diners-coming-back/ … Okay, Then, It’s a “War on Cars” http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/okay-fine-its-war/Content?oid=9937449 … For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: Follow @rootsimple...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sink Urinals!

...ash-hands/ … Adding fuel to the fire The Exaggerated Benefits of Electric Cars http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/01/the-exaggerated-benefits-of-electric-cars/#.UdyjXdg39C8.twitter … Car Ownership May Be Down in the U.S., But It’s Soaring Globally http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/05/car-ownership-may-be-down-in-the-u-s-but-its-soaring-globally/#.Udyi4jX2O2g.twitter … Hollywood–blocking bike lanes yet again: http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/0...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Cheapskates and Controversy!

What happens when you Instagram airline food. Photo by John Walton. Cheapskates Three Friends Make An Attempt to ‘Live Below the Line’ http://thebillfold.com/2013/05/three-friends-make-an-attempt-to-live-below-the-line/ … How to make a cake pan banjo: http://boingboing.net/2013/05/10/how-to-make-a-cake-pan-banjo-u.html … Controversy Is Michael Pollan a sexist pig? http://www.salon.com/2013/04/28/is_michael_pollan_a_sexist_pig/ … In Defense of...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: A Log Lounge, Tiny Apartments and Poop Scrubbing People

Log chair via Decor Hacks. DIY Log Lounge Chair http://decorhacks.com/2013/05/log-lounge-chair/ … Luxury trash Chandelier http://www.recyclart.org/2013/05/luxury-trash/ … Tiny Apartments Freedom Rooms: Micro Apartments Designed by Prisoners | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/freedom-rooms-micro-apartments-designed-by-prisoners/ … Manhattan shoebox apartment: a 78-square-foot mini studio http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Tall Bikes, Za’atar and So Much More

..., a yard in Africa: # JoeMinter and 400 years of African-American history: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/25/garden/joe-minters-african-village-in-america.html?ref=garden … pic.twitter.com/qx07xlvDa4 Bikin’ Here’s what it feels like to ride a 14.5-foot-tall bike http://grist.org/list/heres-what-it-feels-like-to-ride-a-14-5-foot-tall-bike/#.UXl2JmJoeY0.twitter … Bikesnob on self driving cars: http://bikesnobnyc.blogspot.com/2013/04/this-jus...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Roach Racing, Bedding the Farmer and Eating Like Goats

Vintage ad for cockroach racing set: http://boingboing.net/2013/04/16/vintage-ad-for-cockroach-racin.html … It’s raining, it’s pouring, it’s a good time for a site assessment… http://ow.ly/1VjdSq Bedding the Farmer: At Greenmarkets, Lust Blooms Among the Rutabagas http://observer.com/?p=296706  Saint Hildegard’s Cookies of Joy http://thetanglednest.com/2013/04/saint-hildegards-cookies/ … Sun Hives: pollination and...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Dystopian Knitwear, Green Tomatoes and Drought

Great Moments in Dystopian Knitwear http://vult.re/1nJPPwb Animals as the answer to recycling food waste: http://www.notechmagazine.com/2014/07/animals-as-the-answer-to-recycling-food-waste.html … A Food Has an Historic, Objectionable Name. Should We Change It? http://on.natgeo.com/1jFfLsY  How good are we at transportation prediction? http://bit.ly/1sfTRiI Green Tomatoes: Not Just for Frying http://wp.me/p2TfI0-ex Why the modern bathroom is a...

Continue reading…