Saturday Linkages: Cheapskates and Controversy!

What happens when you Instagram airline food. Photo by John Walton. Cheapskates Three Friends Make An Attempt to ‘Live Below the Line’ http://thebillfold.com/2013/05/three-friends-make-an-attempt-to-live-below-the-line/ … How to make a cake pan banjo: http://boingboing.net/2013/05/10/how-to-make-a-cake-pan-banjo-u.html … Controversy Is Michael Pollan a sexist pig? http://www.salon.com/2013/04/28/is_michael_pollan_a_sexist_pig/ … In Defense of...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Artisinal DIY

Looks like the use of the word “artisinal” peaked–back in the 1990s! Artisinal Everything Artisanal Won’t Die – Jen Doll – The Atlantic Wire http://www.theatlanticwire.com/national/2013/04/artisanal-wont-die/63840/ … DIY! Make a Teardrop Camper Trailer: http://blog.makezine.com/projects/teardrop-camper-trailer/ … Backyard Bioshelter http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/backyard-bioshelter/ … Shed of the Year 2...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Insect Hotels, Edwardian Hipsters and Biomorphic Light Fixtures

DIY insect hotel spotted on the ever amazing Lloyd’s Blog. Insect Hotels http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/insect-hotels.html#.UcEUtDWXvN0.twitter … Good Yard or Bad Yard? Garden Design Pitfalls | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/06/good-yard-or-bad-yard-garden-design-pitfalls-2.html … Q & A – Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/1844StH Edwardian stunt bikers – in pictures http://gu.com/p/3ggde/tw  Intera...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Tables, Ride Shares and Hot to Grill

Coffee table made with pallet: http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/coffee-table-made-with-pallet/ … Sorry Uber, Los Angeles Has Been Banning Ride-Shares For a Century http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/sorry-uber-los-angeles-has-been-banning-ride-shares-fo-574851806 … Metro threatens Phantom Planter with arrest if he tends his DuPont Circle station flowers http://wapo.st/14pF8Ts The Three Zone Fire: How to Grill Perfect Meat | The Art of Manliness htt...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: $1 Homes, Compost Heated Showers and Potty Talk

3573 Lincoln St.in Gary, Indiana. Yours for $1. Home Sweet Home Gary Indiana unveils Dollar Home Program: http://bit.ly/19HD517  Gardening Pipe planters http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/pipe-planters/ … Mariposa Nabi Community Garden features this alter via @GlenDake http://pinterest.com/pin/306667055846811135/ … DIY IKEA Hackers: New life for Old Poang! http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/06 13 Ways To Turn Your Outdated ’90s Tech Into Truly Usa...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: I’m tired of doom, let’s garden and make things . . .

...er-et-al/ … Small batch artisanal high-fructose corn syrup: http://boingboing.net/2013/05/30/small-batch-artisanal-high-fru.html … Nolita’s Little Free Library http://www.stereotank.com/Little-Free-Library … Fitness Is It Better to Walk or Run? http://ow.ly/lyt12 Activate Demand Home Depot, Lowe’s stop selling bee-killing poisons. Click to take action: http://bit.ly/13mU9GQ Help the EFF save podcasting from a patent troll: http://b...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: The Usual Suspects–Goats, Bikes and Tiny Houses

3D printed slug trap. Via Modern Farmer. Small House Living Tiny Cabin With Fold-out Porches http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/05/tiny-cabin-with-fold-out-porches.html#.UZO74lkyivE.twitter … Spherical Tree Tents for Temporary & Permanent Dwelling | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/spherical-tree-tents-for-temporary-permanent-dwelling/ … Tokyo’s Tiniest Apartments are Like Expensive Little Closets | Designs & Idea...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: A Log Lounge, Tiny Apartments and Poop Scrubbing People

Log chair via Decor Hacks. DIY Log Lounge Chair http://decorhacks.com/2013/05/log-lounge-chair/ … Luxury trash Chandelier http://www.recyclart.org/2013/05/luxury-trash/ … Tiny Apartments Freedom Rooms: Micro Apartments Designed by Prisoners | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/freedom-rooms-micro-apartments-designed-by-prisoners/ … Manhattan shoebox apartment: a 78-square-foot mini studio http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sink Urinals!

...ash-hands/ … Adding fuel to the fire The Exaggerated Benefits of Electric Cars http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/01/the-exaggerated-benefits-of-electric-cars/#.UdyjXdg39C8.twitter … Car Ownership May Be Down in the U.S., But It’s Soaring Globally http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/05/car-ownership-may-be-down-in-the-u-s-but-its-soaring-globally/#.Udyi4jX2O2g.twitter … Hollywood–blocking bike lanes yet again: http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/0...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sidewalk Koi, Papercrete, Jaywalking and How to Grow Fresh Air

Wendy Tremayne and Mikey Sklar’s papercrete masterpiece. Interventions Sidewalk Koi http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/08/sidewalk-koi.html … Worker sent to remove graffiti finds image of himself on the same wall hours later http://fw.to/wOjTzDJ Let’s Build A Traditional City (And Make A Profit) http://www.andrewalexanderprice.com/blog20130330.php … Building Tiny Tea House on Wheels http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~...

Continue reading…