Saturday Linkages: Really Old Beer, Interior Design Tips From the Mafia, Trash in LA, Halloumi Kabobs and More

Williams-Sonoma’s $60 “predator proofing” kit. Yes, that’s hardware cloth and nails. Via Northwest Edible Life.

Beer From 1840s Shipwreck May Be Recreated By Scientists. http://huff.to/JFfiAl

Huge, dumb booze producer Diageo orders industry association to give them the prize that had been awarded to competitor:http://boingboing.net/2012/05/10/huge-dumb-scottish-bar-chain.html

Italian mafia interior tastes exposed – in pictures http://gu.com/p/37d2t/tw

Behind the scenes of a city: Trash in L.A.: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/08/behind-the-scenes-of-a-city-t.html

Train horn attached to bicycle: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/08/train-horn-attached-to-bicycle.html

Vegetarian Recipe: Halloumi Kabobs – Good Food http://blogs.kcrw.com/goodfood/2012/05/vegetarian-recipe-halloumi-kabobs/

A Bamboo Mat Shed With Palm Thatch Roof: http://altbuildblog.blogspot.com/2012/04/bamboo-mat-shed-with-palm-thatch-roof.html

Don’t Buy These 5 Williams-Sonoma Agrarian Products http://www.nwedible.com/2012/04/dont-buy-these-5-william-sonoma-agrarian-products.html

Common Appliances, Uncommon Uses http://www.chow.com/food-news/54485/common-appliances-uncommon-uses/

Follow the Root Simple twitter feed for more linkages.

Saturday Linkages: Off-Grid Living, Urban Velo, Meat Glue, Home Depot and Dandelions

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Amazing photos of people living off-the-grid in the United States: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/03/photos-of-people-living-off-th.html

This week in TSA awfulness: a recap of recent American airport atrocities: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/02/this-week-in-tsa-awfulness-a.html

New issue of Urban Velo: http://www.urbanvelo.org/issue31/index.html

Meat Glue (not to be confused with pink slime): http://boingboing.net/2012/05/01/meat-glue.html

Barf Blog, a great blog about foodborne illness: http://barfblog.foodsafety.ksu.edu/barfblog

What kind of advice are Home Depot’s “Certified Nursery Consultants” giving? http://bit.ly/Inbqod

On Dandelions: http://ow.ly/1LitSC

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Cave Living, Chocolate Sourdough, Persian Marmalade and Much More . . .

@ericmiller built the native pollinator house from Making It and tweeted the result!

Farine: Chocolate and Currant Sourdough recipe http://www.farine-mc.com/2012/04/chocolate-and-currant-sourdough.html?spref=tw

The American who quit money to live in a cave: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/26/the-american-who-quit-money-to.html

A Place for Old Chickens, Outside the Pot http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/26/us/new-homes-beckon-for-city-chickens-in-retirement.html

Persian Marmalade History http://totastings.blogspot.com/2011/02/persian-marmalade-history.html?spref=tw

Homemade Yogurt in Mason Jars http://www.foodinjars.com/2012/04/homemade-yogurt-in-mason-jars/

Via @Rational Survivor: Introduction to Permaculture – 40 hours of Free video lectures http://fb.me/JcaxlEd3

Government tries to shut down paleo diet blogger http://hunter-gatherer.com/blog/government-tries-shut-down-paleo-diet-blogger#.T5gjX8RAoBA.twitter

Logical fallacies poster: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/23/logical-fallacies-poster.html

Japanify: How to Make Biwashu (Loquat Liqueur) « Umamimart: http://www.umamimart.com/2009/06/how-to-make-biwashu-loquat-liqueur/#.T5WYeB_lzPU.twitter

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Mules, Turfgrass, Foraging and the End of Backyard Citrus

Emily Ho, a fellow Master Food Preserver trainee, foraged a Silver Lake salad. (Photo by Emily Ho)

A Silver Lake Salad http://sustainablefoodworks.com/2012/04/09/a-silver-lake-salad/ via @misschiffonade 

Mule-based bookmobiles for remote Venezuelan communities: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/20/mule-based-bookmobiles-for-rem.html 

Dismiss Cyclists At Your Own Peril: The Jackson Huang Lesson – Eagle Rock, CA Patch http://eaglerock.patch.com/articles/dismiss-cyclists-at-your-own-peril-the-jackson-huang-lesson 

Boulder-Like Home Office is a Working Retreat in the Garden | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/boulder-like-home-office-is-a-working-retreat-in-the-garden/ via @dornobdesign 

Turfgrass Infomercial at the National Arboretum? http://bit.ly/J1w3UN 

But the free citrus is half the point of living here!: Disease threatens backyard citrus in CA : http://nyti.ms/IJSLjd

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Tiny Houses, Human Cheese, Doomsday Condos and Speakin’ Squirrel

Tiny Cabin in Scottish Countryside http://bit.ly/ItD5XQ

And . . . Anderson Cooper tackles tiny houses http://www.mnn.com/your-home/remodeling-design/blogs/watch-anderson-cooper-tackles-tiny-houses

Cat needs to learn water conservation: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/12/cat-needs-to-learn-water-conse.html

No it’s not one of our April Fools day jokes: Breast Milk Ice Cream, Human Cheese http://aol.it/In5zBn

Doomsday condos in old missile silos: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/11/doomsday-condos-in-old-missile.html

Thomas Rainer’s 5 Myths about Native Plants http://bit.ly/IxkbcY

Learn to speak squirrel: http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/learn-to-speak-squirrel-in-four-easy-lessons/2012/04/09/gIQAV8Jr6S_print.html

Abused Altadena Kitten Still Needs a Home http://bit.ly/IEaUzW

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Ginger Grating, Food Poisoning and Williams-Sonoma Chicken Coops

Williams-Sonoma’s “Alexandria” Coop.

Quick Tip: Grate Ginger with a Fork http://www.thekitchn.com/quick-tip-grate-ginger-with-a-fork-168905

How long does food poisoning last?: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/05/how-long-does-food-poisoning-l.html

La Creuset chicken feeders, perhaps? Williams-Sonoma High-End DIY Line

A timeline of American food trends: http://www.foodtimeline.org/fooddecades.html

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Urine Soaked Eggs, Currents, Squirrels and School Gardens

Urine-soaked eggs a spring taste treat in China city: http://reut.rs/HqBQny

Amazing wind map.

Equally amazing water current map: http://www.theawl.com/2012/03/soothe-yourself-with-the-oceans-swirl

Bald eagle, fox, and cat are porch friends: http://boingboing.net/2012/03/29/bald-eagle-fox-and-cat-are.html

HOWTO build a robotic squirrel-squirting water sentry-gun, with python: http://boingboing.net/2012/03/26/howto-build-a-robotic-squirrel.html

Tips on running a school garden: http://bit.ly/GKA3Md

@bikejuju blog post: Freak Bike Friday: Bed Frame Bike http://is.gd/f18Q5A

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Orange Peel Lamps, Axe Porn and Craft Rooms

From Portugal Smallholding a orange peel lamp.

Lamp made from an orange: http://www.portugalsmallholding.org/how-to/make-an-oil-lamp-with-an-orange/

A clever planter made from an Asphalt Handbook: http://www.recyclart.org/2012/03/asphalt-handbook-planter/

Hand-made Axe porn: http://bit.ly/GA0KWp

Our friends at the Tangled Nest create an inspiring, low-budget craft room http://shar.es/pvLY5

And, yes, a toilet brush chandelier: http://www.recyclart.org/2012/03/toilet-brush-light/

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Yaks, an M16 Lamp and Hog Farm Explosions

An urban homestead meltdown in Arcata involving yaks, 24 foot meditation towers and unhappy neighbors: http://www.arcataeye.com/2012/03/occupy-arcata-heights-ends-with-a-splatter-march-14-2012/

M16 lamp – http://boingboing.net/2012/03/15/m16-lamp.html

And . . a lamp made out of used coffee filters: http://www.recyclart.org/2012/03/coffee-filter-lamp/ 

The Apocalypse will be a lot like flying coach: http://boingboing.net/2012/03/14/the-apocalypse-will-be-a-lot-l.html

Mysterious hog farm explosions stump scientists http://arst.ch/sus

For more of this wackiness, subscribe to the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Audio Jars, Cutting Glass Bottles and Assorted Rants

E.B. White’s letter to the ASPCA responding to his failure to pay a dog tax: http://bit.ly/wKIq9L

Audio Jar – Open Source Speaker Housings: http://bit.ly/xV7II6

Bread geeks bring native wheat species back to Los Angeles | 89.3 KPCC http://www.scpr.org/programs/madeleine-brand/2012/03/08/25511/la-wheat via @KPCC

Working Undercover in a Slaughterhouse: an interview with Timothy Pachirat http://boingboing.net/2012/03/08/working-undercover-in-a-slaugh.html via @BoingBoing

Easy way to cut glass bottles: http://www.recyclart.org/2012/02/diy-easy-cut-glass-bottles/

Frugal food: 10 DIY tips to save money while eating better and healthier – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2012/03/06/frugal-food-10-diy-tips-to-sa.html via @BoingBoing

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed