Saturday Linkages: Comfrey, a Parking Rock Star and Voracious Worms

Russian comfrey in flower. Image: Wikipedia. Does comfrey really improve soil? http://permaculturenews.org/2014/03/18/comfrey-really-improve-soil/ … Soviet Russia’s answer to the Monsanto house of the future: http://gizmodo.com/that-time-soviet-russia-built-a-house-entirely-out-of-p-1544925507/1544979348/+mattnovak/+mattnovak … No, your pot doesn’t come from enviromentally conscious hippies http://www.motherjones.c...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Poultry Shaming, Horse Treadmills and Garden Snark

Image: Thirdroar. Poultry shaming: http://www.thirdroar.com/journal/2014/2/24/public-poultry-shaming.html … Russian Man Uses Horse Treadmill to Power Log Splitter http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/russian-man-uses-horse-treadmill-to-power-chainsaw-1532466975 … Garden Variety SNARK | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/02/garden-variety-snark.html … Pison eu, Colon grossum! http://wp.me/p4bjRl-5V  Reviving forgotten recipes: ht...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Rammed Earth, Vanilla Ice and Moonshine

Best idea of the week. Image: Natural Building Blog Smokeless Rammed Earth Stove http://feedly.com/e/3e4xRBr8  Ice Goes Amish: http://modernfarmer.com/2014/02/vanilla-ice-amish-farmer/ … Plastic debris for brains http://www.honeybeesuite.com/plastic-debris-for-brains/ … RiYL podcast 041: Colin Spoelman, moonshine maker: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/20/riyl-podcast-041-colin-spoelm.html … Brazil’s new dietary guidelines: food-...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Can We Please Have More Underpass Chandeliers?

Ballroom Luminoso: Ugly freeway underpass beautified with recycled bike chandeliers : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/urban-design/ballroom-luminoso-underpass-converted-bike-chandeliers-joe-oconnell-blessing-hancock.html … Yes, the farm bill is politically corrupt. Veto it! http://goo.gl/fb/vhLtK  What’s wrong with an ugly winter garden? http://gu.com/p/3mb4a/tw  The secret light of plants by Elizabeth Licata http:...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Battling Herbicides, Solar Wall Ovens and Jaywalking

Solar wall oven. Photo: Natural Building Blog Rachel Aviv: The Scientist Who Took on a Leading Herbicide Manufacturer http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2014/02/10/140210fa_fact_aviv?currentPage=all?mbid=social_retweet … Consider the Cane Toad http://ensia.com/voices/consider-the-cane-toad/ … Commercial Solar Wall Ovens http://feedly.com/e/nrC8gJXU  Wilson Solar Grill for outdoor cooking http://www.examiner.com/article/wilson-...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Fire Plows, Kite Fishing and Roundup-Ready Turfgrass

Tell Me You Wouldn’t Buy This Snow-Fighting Fire Plow http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/tell-me-you-wouldnt-buy-this-snow-fighting-fire-plow-1519897386 … Tear Down These 10 Freeways! (And Then Tear Down Some More) http://feedly.com/e/5TEe4eBI  Mineral waters à la carte http://shar.es/QRHOf  Google hangout with Lloyd Kahn, master urban homesteader: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/12/google-hangout-with-lloyd-kahn.html … 3 MAK...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Killer Bees, Bikes and Cold Coffee

Low tech bike shift lever via No Tech Magazine. Low-tech Bike Shift Lever http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/low-tech-bike-shift-lever.html … Before The Age of Automobiles, Cyclists Fought For Better Roads http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/before-the-age-of-automobiles-cyclists-fought-for-bett-1450090817 … Stop Trying to Make Killer Bees Happen http://shar.es/IqK8T  Designing Urban Agriculture: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2013/...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Incas, Big Rocks and Cool Cucumbers

Engineering professor Michael Peshkin and his clear whiteboard. Growin’ things Wildflower project takes root in Echo Park http://feedly.com/e/pugEWv4Z  Lost Crops of the Incas http://feedly.com/e/9GygG_Yc  Reading: Urban Oasis on a Balcony: From Concrete Furnace to Edible Habitat… http://bit.ly/HSeQ6B  Look at My Big Rock by Evelyn Hadden http://feedly.com/e/0gB_TOO6  The coolest cucumber you’ve never met:...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Talking Plants, Microbes, Groundcovers, Shaving Rituals

Maybe Prince Charles was right after all: British scientists reveal plants really do talk http://bit.ly/Lr30hj Finally, A Map Of All The Microbes On Your Body http://n.pr/M2V5FQ   Groundcovers for gaps: http://ow.ly/1NEm0w Unique Shaving & Grooming Rituals from History and Around the World | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2012/06/07/shaving-rituals/ Handlebar Bicycle Hanger Suspends Your Ride from the Wall | Designs &...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: The Archdruid, Cat Climbing Shelves, Rewilding, Tempeh Food Safety and More!

John Michael Greer The Archdruid Report: The Rumbling of Distant Thunder http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/2012/05/rumbling-of-distant-thunder.html?spref=tw Simple and Elegant DIY Cat Climbing Shelves – http://www.moderncat.net/2012/05/31/simple-and-elegant-diy-cat-climbing-shelves/ Build-It-Solar Blog: How Large a Solar Collector Do You Need to Heat Your Hot Tub http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/05/how-large-solar-collec...

Continue reading…