Saturday Linkages: Battling Herbicides, Solar Wall Ovens and Jaywalking

Solar wall oven. Photo: Natural Building Blog Rachel Aviv: The Scientist Who Took on a Leading Herbicide Manufacturer http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2014/02/10/140210fa_fact_aviv?currentPage=all?mbid=social_retweet … Consider the Cane Toad http://ensia.com/voices/consider-the-cane-toad/ … Commercial Solar Wall Ovens http://feedly.com/e/nrC8gJXU  Wilson Solar Grill for outdoor cooking http://www.examiner.com/article/wilson-solar-grill-for-out...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Can We Please Have More Underpass Chandeliers?

Ballroom Luminoso: Ugly freeway underpass beautified with recycled bike chandeliers : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/urban-design/ballroom-luminoso-underpass-converted-bike-chandeliers-joe-oconnell-blessing-hancock.html … Yes, the farm bill is politically corrupt. Veto it! http://goo.gl/fb/vhLtK  What’s wrong with an ugly winter garden? http://gu.com/p/3mb4a/tw  The secret light of plants by Elizabeth Licata http://feedly.com/e/_hlI...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sad Cookbooks, Pancakes and Tiny Homes

The saddest cookbook ever written: http://boingboing.net/2014/01/06/the-saddest-cookbook-ever-writ.html … Another take on sourdough pancakes http://www.wildyeastblog.com/2009/02/24/sourdough-pancakes/ … Simply Yoav –His Yurt and Life http://feedly.com/e/X0VjVnaF  How to pull out a car from a frozen lake… Russian style http://feedly.com/e/fHtO IUrv  Old World Woodworking Tools http://feedly.com/e/0H12BeW1  Tiny Apartments in Cities:...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Elves, Archdruids and Open Source Furniture

20 Open Source Furniture Designs http://www.shareable.net/blog/20-open-source-furniture-designs … “The Valley of The Elves” by Ellie Pritts https://elliepritts.exposure.so/the-valley-of-the-elves … The Archdruid Report: Seven Sustainable Technologies http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/2014/01/seven-sustainable-technologies.html?spref=tw … Silver Lake stays in step with Rudyard Kipling http://feedly.com/e/2K1ZbhCt  Leaked: environmental chap...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Logs, Invasives and Italian Veggies

Italian veggie tips: Amicidellortodue http://feedly.com/e/AeUKDhxu  The Trouble with the Word “Invasive” | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/01/the-trouble-with-the-word-invasive.html … Colon shaped tiny hotel: http://www.unusualhotelsoftheworld.com/casanus OTIS | Tiny House Swoon http://tinyhouseswoon.com/otis/  Changing the maple syrup paradigm. Crazy efficient, yet also grim, from the tree’s perspective– and mine. http://www...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Finally, A Use for Palm Fronds

Incredibly important information At last, something to do with them! Halloween mask carved from a palm tree frond. http://boingboing.net/2013/10/10/mask-carved-from-a-palm-tree-f.html … The Perfect Cat House by Thinking Design http://www.hauspanther.com/2013/10/10/the-perfect-cat-house-by-thinking-design/ … Keep Your House in Tip-Top Shape: An Incredibly Handy Home Maintenance Checklist http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/0JHKd...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Killer Bees, Bikes and Cold Coffee

Low tech bike shift lever via No Tech Magazine. Low-tech Bike Shift Lever http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/low-tech-bike-shift-lever.html … Before The Age of Automobiles, Cyclists Fought For Better Roads http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/before-the-age-of-automobiles-cyclists-fought-for-bett-1450090817 … Stop Trying to Make Killer Bees Happen http://shar.es/IqK8T  Designing Urban Agriculture: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2013/10/27/designing-urb...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Of Sausages, Sandbags and Cell Phones

Sandbag couch via Dornob How to Turn an Old WWII Field Phone Into a Bluetooth Handset | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2012/06/21/wwii-field-phone-bluetooth/ Man robs man using stolen sausage | barfblog: http://bit.ly/MhRT9h  Another reason not to use cardboard as mulch: http://ow.ly/1O12ho 50 seconds in Cloudbreak Barrel with Kalani Chapman http://bit.ly/M4xQMZ Emergency sandbags repurposed as a couch http://dornob.com...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Collapse Now and Avoid the Rush

Using a tampon as a “survival straw” water filter. Outdoor Deck & Inside Room Linked via Climbing Walls & Ladders | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/outdoor-deck-inside-room-linked-via-climbing-walls-ladders/ Did you know lemons are hybrids? The secret lives of citrus fruit – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2012/06/08/the-secret-lives-of-citrus-fru.html The Archdruid Report: Collapse Now and...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Rude and Stinky

The very stinky Dracunculus vulgaris on the Garden Professors’ Blog Stacking metal lunchbox made from tuna cans: http:// boingboing.net/2012/06/28/sta  … Grow Something Rude and Smelly-Dracunculus vulgaris: http:// ow.ly/1O9FIl Moss Tiles – a rally bad idea: http:// ow.ly/1O9FGX Life Magazine 1948: Chicago Family’s Mutant Bikes http:// is.gd/kSBy9U via @bikejuju Geodesic Hub Connectors – http://www. domerama.com/d...

Continue reading…