Saturday Linkages: Black Soldier Flys, DIY Power Bars and CDFA Thugs are Killing Bees Again

DIY
How to Build a DIY Black Soldier Fly Composter (Video) : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/lawn-garden/how-build-diy-black-soldier-fly-composter-video.html …

Are You A Chicago Gardener? Take This Survey http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/02/are-you-chicago-gardener-take-this.html#.UTo_UPrAm4A.twitter …

My Solar Adventures- DIY solar and arduino projects: How to : DIY Solar Backpack with Solar Mobile phon… http://mysolaradventures.com/2012/06/how-to-diy-solar-backpack-with-solar.html?spref=tw …

Cookin’
How to Make Easy 3-Ingredient Energy Bars at Home Cooking Lessons from The Kitchn http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-easy-3-ingredient-energy-bars-at-home-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-184306 …

Curly Parsley and Arugula Pesto http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/curly-parsley-and-arugula-pesto/ …

Bad Ideas Department
CDFA thugs killing bees: Pest versus pollinator? | News | Santa Maria Sun, CA http://www.santamariasun.com/news/9452/pest-versus-pollinator/#.UTo7chMwEko.twitter …

The American Plan to Build Nuclear Power Plants in the Ocean http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/paleofuture/2013/02/the-american-plan-to-build-nuclear-power-plants-in-the-ocean/#.UTfFax5lLoc.twitter …

Good Ideas Department
DRM Chair that works only 8 times: http://hackaday.com/2013/03/04/drm-chair-only-works-8-times/ …

Nature Blows My Mind! This 80,000-Year-Old Aspen Grove Clones Itself : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/slideshows/natural-sciences/nature-blows-my-mind-80000-year-old-aspen-grove-clones-itself/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Whole Systems, Critters and the Most Beautiful Garden in the World

Casey Cripe collage

Art by Casey Cripe

Casey Cripe’s “whole systems” collages and illustrations: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/27/casey-cripes-whole-systems.html …

Turn Down the City Lights and Make Streets Safer http://bloom.bg/XuXeCi 

Coping with Critters http://www.motherearthnews.com/Modern-Homesteading/Protect-Your-Home-From-Critters.aspx …

Is Antibacterial Soap Bad For You? (Part 1) http://shar.es/jrPgV 

Jeffrey Bale’s World of Gardens: The Kolymbetra Garden http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com/2013/02/the-kolymbetra-garden.html?spref=tw …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Of Granola and Turlets

A stunning toilet

Granola
The New Granola http://nyti.ms/132CUM5

Coconut Quinoa Granola http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/coconut-quinoa-granola/ …

Foraging
Winter Purslane: http://dirttime.com/?p=2876

Potty Talk
Hey, Science: Can You Eat Your Own Poop? – http://gawker.com/5985723/can-you-eat-your-own-poop …

How to Install a Toilet | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/06/how-to-install-a-toilet/ …

DIY
Wax Seals: A History and How-To | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/13/wax-seals-a-history-and-how-to/ …

Emergency Bench http://www.dudecraft.com/2013/02/emergency-bench.html …

Bike flat tire repair kit inside tire levers: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/18/bike-flat-tire-repair-kit-insi.html …

Building a bottle tower for container gardening: http://youtu.be/-uDbjZ9roEQ 

A just plain cool garden design blog: http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com

Do Everything Wrong And Still Bake Good Bread http://huff.to/UHEpMm 

Bad News Department
Citrus industry using insecticide deadly to bees: sulfoxaflor has surfaced again http://shar.es/YTAP7 

CISPA is back: worst Internet law since SOPA needs you to fight it! – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/02/18/cispa-is-back-worst-internet.html …

The Extraordinary Science of Addictive Junk Food http://nyti.ms/154Tqde

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Lemon Peels, Shrub, Duct Tape and the Art of Relaxing

air dried lemon peels

Air dried lemon peels from Food in Jars.

Preservin’
Air-Dried Lemon Peel http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/air-dried-lemon-peel/ …

Drinking Vinegars: The Other Kind of Shrub | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/02/drinking-vinegars-the-other-kind-of-shrub.html …

EDC
Solutions for the Everyday Carry of Duct Tape | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/14/solutions-for-the-everyday-carry-of-duct-tape/ …

Relax!
Relax! You’ll Be More Productive http://nyti.ms/12dSHms

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Forklift Furniture and Pickled Turnips

Pickled turnips–photo and recipe by The Domestic Man

Having some trouble with our blogging software this weekend–so Root Simple may look a little funky until we figure out what the problem is.

Cookin’
Kabees El Lift (Pickled Turnips) http://wp.me/pWGRR-YU 

DIY
Forklift Furniture: 10 DIY Projects for Used Wooden Pallets | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/forklift-furniture-10-diy-projects-for-used-wooden-pallets/ …

Champions of wood planing: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/08/champions-of-wood-planing.html …

IKEA Hackers: IKEA featuring JBL http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/01/ikea-featuring-jbl.html?spref=tw …

How to stock a minimalist kitchen: http://tinyrevolution.us/2010/12/08/how-to-stock-a-minimalist-kitchen/ …

Signs of the Apocalypse:
Pizza Hut China’s hot-dog-encrusted shrimp tempura pizza, with mayonnaise: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/06/pizza-hut-chinas-hot-dog-enc.html …

Yuckylicious: Salami Bouquet http://yuckylicious.blogspot.com/2013/02/salami-bouquet.html?spref=tw …

Urban Farm Magazine owner BowTie sold – Business – The Orange County Register http://www.ocregister.com/articles/bowtie-414242-fancy-company.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Let’s Make Chickens Legal in Pasadena!

Let’s really make backyard hens legal in Pasadena CA! 

Gardening
Preventing the heartbreak of splayage: http://ow.ly/1RN6pB

Uli Westphal’s Ripening Tomatoes http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/01/uli-westphals-ripening-tomatoes.html#.UQxX3qqq5vY.twitter …

The Wild, the Domesticated, and the Coyote-Tainted http://j.mp/14EAlz6 


Beyond Thunderdome

Bug-Out Security with UV : http://dirttime.com/?p=2804

For 40 years, this Russian family was cut off from all human contact #longreads http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history-archaeology/For-40-Years-This-Russian-Family-Was-Cut-Off-From-Human-Contact-Unaware-of-World-War-II-188843001.html#.UQgv0Pcfh0Y.twitter …

Bikesailing http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/01/bikesailing.html#.UQckcMq9Xa8.twitter …

Build your own junk bagpipes out of PVC and duct tape: http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-your-own-Smallpipes-for-a-few-bucks-Membra/?ALLSTEPS …

2-In-1 iPotty with Activity Seat for iPad: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/01/2-in-1-ipotty-with-activity-se.html …

Your Biggest Carbon Sin May Be Air Travel http://nyti.ms/VesXDI

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Bus Offices and Secret Doors

Vintage Hungarian bus re-purposed as a home office. Via Dornob. (Kelly says: I can totally see Erik working in here, with a little hat to match.)

DIY
Hungary For History: Vintage Bus Becomes Rad Home Office | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/hungary-for-history-vintage-bus-becomes-rad-home-office/ …

Secret exterior door with remote control lock – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/01/24/secret-exterior-door-with-remo.html …

“Yes You Can Build Your Own Tiny House” http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/01/yes-you-can-build-your-own-tiny-house.html#.UPtz5N_K5l8.twitter …

HOWTO assemble the Powercube, hydraulic power source for the Global Village Construction set: http://boingboing.net/2013/01/18/howto-assemble-the-powercube.html …

A just plain cool site: inspirationgreen.com/index  Thanks, Davis!

Gardening
grounded design by Thomas Rainer: No They Didn’t!: A Gallery of Mockable Landscapes http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/p/no-they-didnt-gallery-of-mockable.html?spref=tw …

Ancient wheat: making a comeback http://www.smithsonianmag.com/people-places/Artisanal-Wheat-On-the-Rise.html#.UQM4YKWpmhs.twitter …

Soul Searching
The secret to feeling like you have more time available – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/01/25/the-secret-to-feeling-like-you.html …

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail (review): http://boingboing.net/2013/01/24/wild-from-lost-to-found-on-th.html …

Zócalo Public Square :: How Doctors Die http://www.zocalopublicsquare.org/2011/11/30/how-doctors-die/ideas/nexus/#.UQBvvozSrTM.twitter …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Garden Hoses, Planners and IKEA Hacks . . .

Ikea meets aquaponics.

Gardening
Finding the Garden Hose of my Dreams Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/01/garden-hose-of-my-d1reams.html …

Home Ec
On Planners, Productivity, and Idle Pleasures http://thetanglednest.com/2013/01/on-planners-productivity-and-idle-pleasures/ …

DIY Barn Door Track Tutorail http://shar.es/47h3M 

How Google Earth Revealed Chicago’s Hidden Farms: http://ow.ly/gJRrS

Bad News Department
Florida couple may have to give up their vegetable garden b/c of city ordinance http://ow.ly/gIg4C
Looney Gas and Lead Poisoning: A Short, Sad History | Wired Science | http://Wired.com  http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2013/01/looney-gas-and-lead-poisoning-a-short-sad-history/ …

Aquaponic hacks
Rooftop aquaponic system: http://www.ampsnola.com

Indoor Micro Aquaponics System (IKEA-hack): http://www.instructables.com/id/Easy-and-Cheap-IKEA-Indoor-Aquaponics-System/ …

Recipes
The Lucien Gaudin Cocktail http://www.cocktailmusings.com/2010/11/lucien-gaudin-cocktail.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Tiny Houses, Pink Slime and Martinis

Garage becomes house.

Tiny Houses
Cozy Carpark: 250-Square-Foot Home Inside Old Garage | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/totally-cozy-250-square-foot-home-from-old-garage/ …

Losing Everything–Starting Over with a Tiny House http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/01/losing-everythingstarting-over-with.html#.UOMxMX2ZB28.twitter …

Cookin’
Vegetarian Recipe: Fennel alla Parmigiana http://blogs.kcrw.com/goodfood/2013/01/vegetarian-recipe-fennel-alla-parmigiana/#.UOdd3dpPfss.twitter …

News
Leaded gasoline and the 20th-century crime wave: http://boingboing.net/2013/01/03/leaded-gasoline-and-the-20th-c.html …

USDA internal discussions of Pink Slime revealed:”We are taking a beating from the media” – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2012/12/31/usda-internal-discussions-of-p.html …

@itspastormatt How Doctors Die: Not Like the Rest of Ushttp://ow.ly/gypnB 

Closing Quote
Buñuel martini recipe: allow “a ray of sunlight to shine through a bottle of Noilly Prat before it hits the bottle of gin.”

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: A Boat Couch and Chickens in the News

Design
Couch made out of old rowboat: http://www.dudecraft.com/2012/12/all-at-sea.html …

Chickens in the News
Pet chicken alerts family about house fire http://www.weau.com/home/headlines

VW Chicken Coop Scale Model http://www.dudecraft.com/2012/12/vw-chicken-coop-scale-model.html …

Gardening
What a Little Paint Can Do In Your Garden | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/12/what-a-little-paint-can-do.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: