Saturday Linkages: Straw Bales and Bike Hacks

straw bale garden

Photo by Tracy Walsh/Poser Design

Gardening
Straw bale gardening in the New York Times: http://nyti.ms/10kt1Hf

DIY
How to fix a bicycle tube http://www.afrigadget.com/2013/02/22/how-to-fix-a-bicycle-tube/ …

Bike headlight displays speed: http://boingboing.net/2013/03/20/bike-headlight-displays-speed.html

Build-It-Solar Blog: A Inexpensive DIY Blower Door http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2013/02/a-inexpensive-diy-blower-door-that.html?spref=tw …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Bow Drills and Cramped Apartments

Bow Drill

Bow drill from Low Tech Magazine

Gardening
The End of Molasses Malarkey: http://ow.ly/1TC4aU

DIY
Making Wooden Spoons http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/03/making-wooden-spoons.html#.UUPl2rFofzQ.twitter …

Low-Tech Wonders
Hand powered drilling tools and machines: http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2010/12/hand-powered-drilling-tools-and-machines.html …

Endless Rope Drives: http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/03/the-mechanical-transmission-of-power-3-wire-ropes.html …

Cramped Apartments in Hong Kong Shot From Directly Above http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/03/cramped-apartments-in-hong-kong-shot.html#.UUPmMbpCjK4.twitter …

Saint-Exupéry Quote Poster http://www.dudecraft.com/2013/02/saint-exupery-quote-poster.html#.UT6Erbc8oiA.twitter …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Black Soldier Flys, DIY Power Bars and CDFA Thugs are Killing Bees Again

DIY
How to Build a DIY Black Soldier Fly Composter (Video) : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/lawn-garden/how-build-diy-black-soldier-fly-composter-video.html …

Are You A Chicago Gardener? Take This Survey http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/02/are-you-chicago-gardener-take-this.html#.UTo_UPrAm4A.twitter …

My Solar Adventures- DIY solar and arduino projects: How to : DIY Solar Backpack with Solar Mobile phon… http://mysolaradventures.com/2012/06/how-to-diy-solar-backpack-with-solar.html?spref=tw …

Cookin’
How to Make Easy 3-Ingredient Energy Bars at Home Cooking Lessons from The Kitchn http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-easy-3-ingredient-energy-bars-at-home-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-184306 …

Curly Parsley and Arugula Pesto http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/curly-parsley-and-arugula-pesto/ …

Bad Ideas Department
CDFA thugs killing bees: Pest versus pollinator? | News | Santa Maria Sun, CA http://www.santamariasun.com/news/9452/pest-versus-pollinator/#.UTo7chMwEko.twitter …

The American Plan to Build Nuclear Power Plants in the Ocean http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/paleofuture/2013/02/the-american-plan-to-build-nuclear-power-plants-in-the-ocean/#.UTfFax5lLoc.twitter …

Good Ideas Department
DRM Chair that works only 8 times: http://hackaday.com/2013/03/04/drm-chair-only-works-8-times/ …

Nature Blows My Mind! This 80,000-Year-Old Aspen Grove Clones Itself : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/slideshows/natural-sciences/nature-blows-my-mind-80000-year-old-aspen-grove-clones-itself/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Whole Systems, Critters and the Most Beautiful Garden in the World

Casey Cripe collage

Art by Casey Cripe

Casey Cripe’s “whole systems” collages and illustrations: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/27/casey-cripes-whole-systems.html …

Turn Down the City Lights and Make Streets Safer http://bloom.bg/XuXeCi 

Coping with Critters http://www.motherearthnews.com/Modern-Homesteading/Protect-Your-Home-From-Critters.aspx …

Is Antibacterial Soap Bad For You? (Part 1) http://shar.es/jrPgV 

Jeffrey Bale’s World of Gardens: The Kolymbetra Garden http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com/2013/02/the-kolymbetra-garden.html?spref=tw …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Of Granola and Turlets

A stunning toilet

Granola
The New Granola http://nyti.ms/132CUM5

Coconut Quinoa Granola http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/coconut-quinoa-granola/ …

Foraging
Winter Purslane: http://dirttime.com/?p=2876

Potty Talk
Hey, Science: Can You Eat Your Own Poop? – http://gawker.com/5985723/can-you-eat-your-own-poop …

How to Install a Toilet | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/06/how-to-install-a-toilet/ …

DIY
Wax Seals: A History and How-To | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/13/wax-seals-a-history-and-how-to/ …

Emergency Bench http://www.dudecraft.com/2013/02/emergency-bench.html …

Bike flat tire repair kit inside tire levers: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/18/bike-flat-tire-repair-kit-insi.html …

Building a bottle tower for container gardening: http://youtu.be/-uDbjZ9roEQ 

A just plain cool garden design blog: http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com

Do Everything Wrong And Still Bake Good Bread http://huff.to/UHEpMm 

Bad News Department
Citrus industry using insecticide deadly to bees: sulfoxaflor has surfaced again http://shar.es/YTAP7 

CISPA is back: worst Internet law since SOPA needs you to fight it! – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/02/18/cispa-is-back-worst-internet.html …

The Extraordinary Science of Addictive Junk Food http://nyti.ms/154Tqde

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: