Saturday Linkages: Hiding Spots, Bedbugs and Rodents of Unusual Size

how-to-use-the-prohibition-kit

Francesco Morackini’s stealth prohibition kit. Via Dornob.

Prepping meets modern design
Cheeky Kitchen Objects Hide a stealth prohibition kit| Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/cheeky-kitchen-objects-hide-a-provocative-secret-function/ …

Hiding in Plain Sight: Brilliant DIY Safe in Overlooked Spot | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/hiding-in-plain-sight-brilliant-diy-safe-in-overlooked-spot/ …

Obviously Secret: 8 Great Hiding Spots in Ordinary Objects | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/obviously-secret-8-great-hiding-spots-in-ordinary-objects/ …

130 Square Foot Micro Apartment in Paris | Inthralld http://inthralld.com/2013/04/130-square-foot-micro-apartment-in-paris/ …

Bedbugs!
How a Leafy Folk Remedy Stopped Bedbugs in Their Tracks http://nyti.ms/12H9HDI

Gardening
All About Gabions : Cheap Retaining and Other Garden Features http://shar.es/JHCQS 

New killer compost problem–Imprelis: http://ow.ly/1UWcBj

How to protect plants from frost: http://ow.ly/1UMWLG

Farmers tackle pests with colas: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/3977351.stm …

Rodents of Unusual Size – a documentary about 20-lb rats in Louisiana – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/04/09/rodents-of-unusual-size-a-do.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Beer Caps n’ Plants

beer cap bathroom floor

Beer cap floor via Dude Craft.

DIY
Beer Cap Bathroom Floor http://www.dudecraft.com/2013/04/beer-cap-bathroom-floor.html …

Lecture on stone-wall building, with miniature stone wall built: http://boingboing.net/2013/04/02/lecture-on-stone-wall-building.html …

Plants!
Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/12r218m

Transmitted light photos of houseplants: http://plantsarethestrangestpeople.blogspot.com/2013/04/exceptionally-pretty-pictures.htmlntsarethestrangestpeople.blogspot.com/2013/04/except… …

grounded design by Thomas Rainer: Noel Kingsbury: The Ghost in the Machine http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/04/noel-kingsbury-ghost-in-machine.html?spref=tw …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Poison, Pee and Plagiarism

Google Map birdhouse

Birdhouse shaped like a Google Map icon. Via Dornob.

For the birds
Avian Accommodations: Google Map Pin-Shaped Birdhouses | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/avian-accommodations-google-map-pin-shaped-birdhouses/ …

Thar she blows . . .
Here’s to No-Blow Gardens | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/03/heres-to-no-blow-gardens.html …

DIY
Pure Salvage: 10 Eclectic Tiny Homes Built with 99% Scrap | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/pure-salvage-10-eclectic-tiny-homes-built-with-99-scrap/ …

Poison
Umm…what exactly is botulism? (Part I) http://wp.me/p2TfI0-64 

The case of the poison potato: http://boingboing.net/2013/03/25/the-case-of-the-poison-potato.html …

Pee
How To Use Pee In Your Garden http://www.nwedible.com/2013/03/how-to-use-pee-in-your-garden.html …

Plagiarism
Jane Goodall’s Troubling, Plagiarized, Error-Filled New Book, ‘Seeds of Hope’ http://thebea.st/X9k58O 

???
Hard times for Marshmallow farmers!: http://youtu.be/h9RfuD1Im4U 

Vegan Black Metal Chef, A Vegan Cooking Show Like No Other http://laughingsquid.com/vegan-black-metal-chef-a-vegan-cooking-show-like-no-other/ …

The Archdruid Report: The Illusion of Invincibility http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/2013/03/the-illusion-of-invincibility.html?spref=tw …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Straw Bales and Bike Hacks

straw bale garden

Photo by Tracy Walsh/Poser Design

Gardening
Straw bale gardening in the New York Times: http://nyti.ms/10kt1Hf

DIY
How to fix a bicycle tube http://www.afrigadget.com/2013/02/22/how-to-fix-a-bicycle-tube/ …

Bike headlight displays speed: http://boingboing.net/2013/03/20/bike-headlight-displays-speed.html

Build-It-Solar Blog: A Inexpensive DIY Blower Door http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2013/02/a-inexpensive-diy-blower-door-that.html?spref=tw …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Bow Drills and Cramped Apartments

Bow Drill

Bow drill from Low Tech Magazine

Gardening
The End of Molasses Malarkey: http://ow.ly/1TC4aU

DIY
Making Wooden Spoons http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/03/making-wooden-spoons.html#.UUPl2rFofzQ.twitter …

Low-Tech Wonders
Hand powered drilling tools and machines: http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2010/12/hand-powered-drilling-tools-and-machines.html …

Endless Rope Drives: http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/03/the-mechanical-transmission-of-power-3-wire-ropes.html …

Cramped Apartments in Hong Kong Shot From Directly Above http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/03/cramped-apartments-in-hong-kong-shot.html#.UUPmMbpCjK4.twitter …

Saint-Exupéry Quote Poster http://www.dudecraft.com/2013/02/saint-exupery-quote-poster.html#.UT6Erbc8oiA.twitter …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: