Saturday Linkages: Don’t seek the truth – just drop your opinions

DIY
Rear-cycling: Minimalist Stool Grows With Old Magazines | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/rear-cycling-minimalist-stool-grows-with-old-magazines/ 

Bastard chairs of China: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/15/bastard-chairs-of-china.html 

Tiny Home With Metal Siding in Texas http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/tiny-home-with-metal-siding-in-texas.html#.UIBNRCkp2Ys.twitter 

Life is swell in a fallout shelter!: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/17/life-is-swell-in-a-fall.html 

Small, Flat-bottomed Sailboat http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/small-flat-bottomed-sailboat.html#.UH78qIIo7TY.twitter 

Car Tent for stealth city camping: Geekologie http://www.geekologie.com/2007/06/car-tent.php  

Thoughtstylings
Heirloom Apples, Heritage Orchards & Cideries Bring Back Food Diversity and Jobs to Our Communities http://j.mp/VkvZvh

World Food Day: A Franciscan Prayer Service on Behalf of Farmers, Farmworkers & Fishers in a Year of Drought http://j.mp/VkvRfl

Zen saying: Don’t seek the truth – just drop your opinions.

Health and Fitness
Fencing may help improve some cognitive functions in older people – Los Angeles Times http://www.latimes.com/la-heb-fencing-cogitive-improvement-20111230,0,1166016.story 

Gardening
Garden planter turns out to be Roman antique: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/12/garden-planter-turns-out-to-be.html  

Best Reporting on the Space Shuttle Tree Debacle
Science Center Given Approval to Remove Nearly 400 Trees to Make Way for Shuttle http://la.streetsblog.org/2012/09/18/science-center-given-approval-to-remove-nearly-400-trees-to-make-way-for-shuttle/#.UHkCZyjj5iQ.twitter   

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Will Your Next House Be Built With Mushrooms?

Fast Fungi Bricks via Dornob

Gardening
What I am reading from the Los Angeles Public Library: Organic Olives http://catalog.lapl.org/carlweb/jsp/DoSearch?databaseID=965&terms=5013187&index=z  

Garden planter turns out to be Roman antique: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/12/garden-planter-turns-out-to-be.html 

DIY
North House Folk School http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/north-house-folk-school.html#.UHTSPhsTC2o.twitter 

HOWTO make a sandwich caddy out of a milk jug: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/08/howto-make-a-sandwich-caddy-ou.html 

Preparedness
Tegaderm 3M product for applying dressing over bleeding injury: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/11/tegaderm.html 

How to Tell Time Like a Soldier | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2012/10/11/how-to-tell-time-like-a-soldier/  

DesignFast Fungi Bricks: Mushroom Blocks Better than Concrete?! | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/fast-fungi-bricks-mushroom-blocks-better-than-concrete/ 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Tiny Houses and Succulent Suprises

Gardening
Sunflower sutra | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/10/sunflower-sutra.html 

Succulent Surprise http://www.dudecraft.com/2012/09/succulent-surprise.html 

DIY
Build-It-Solar Blog: DIY Insulating Window or Door Shutters Using Astrofoil: http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/09/diy-insulating-window-or-door-shutters.html?spref=tw 

Bikes
Cargo cyclists replace truck drivers on European city streets: http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2012/09/jobs-of-the-future-cargo-cyclist.html 

Tiny Houses
Tiny Dogtrot House http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/tiny-dogtrot-house.html#.UHA0ZpxF7Vk.twitter  

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Meditation Pods and Zombie Lawn Gnomes

Doesn’t everyone need a vintage 1970s meditation pod?

DIY
How To Build Your Own Trippy Meditation Pod http://www.popsci.com/diy/article/2012-09/how-make-your-own-trippy-meditation-pod-1970 
 
Robin Wood Makes Wooden Bowls With Hand Tools in UK http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/09/robin-wood-makes-wooden-bowls-with-hand.html#.UGX1GKP6FNw.twitter 

Skate Villa: Skateboard-Friendly Hunting Lodge Conversion | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/skate-villa-skateboard-friendly-hunting-lodge-conversion/  

Open source brick machine: the evolution: http://boingboing.net/2012/09/21/open-source-brick-machine-the.html 

Nature
A classic work of entomology, available online in French and English: http://boingboing.net/2012/09/28/a-classic-work-of-entomology.html  

Health
Mark Bittman: Is Alzheimer’s Type 3 Diabetes? http://nyti.ms/TykL5o

Bikes
Cyclists are safe and courteous, and your disdain for them is grounded in cognitive bias: http://boingboing.net/2012/09/26/cyclists-are-safe-and-courteou.html  
 
Is It Time for Interbike to Dump Las Vegas? http://streetsblog.net/2012/09/24/is-it-time-for-interbike-to-dump-las-vegas/#.UGO40NlOI-0.twitter  

???
Zombie lawn-gnomes feast on a pink flamingo: http://boingboing.net/2012/09/26/zombie-lawn-gnomes-feast-on-a.html  

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: From The Woodsman Workout to Crafting With Your Cat

Yes, it’s the woodsman workout. Via the Art of Manliness.

Gardening
My new favorite botanic garden – in Mexico! | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/09/new-favorite-botanic-garden-in-mexico.html 

Deconstructing the cornmeal myth: http://ow.ly/1Owd1F

DIY
Build-It-Solar Blog: DIY Solar Water Heating System in Southeastern Pen… http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/09/diy-solar-hot-water-heating-system-in.html?spref=tw 

Indie Furniture: DIY Construction Made Accessible & Hip | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/indie-furniture-diy-construction-made-accessible-hip/  

2 boards, 1 seat: http://dornob.com/2-boards-1-seat-simple-diy-two-plank-chair-construction/ 

Food Preservation
FreshTech Jam and Jelly Maker Review http://www.foodinjars.com/2012/09/freshtech-jam-and-jelly-maker-review/ 

Cats ‘n Crafts
Catification: Creative Table Leg Cat Scratcher http://jacksongalaxy.com/2012/09/08/catification-creative-table-leg-cat-scratcher/ 

Book on Crafting With Your Cat: Kitty Jones Kitty Crafts link

Fitness
The Woodsman Workout | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2012/09/19/woodsman-workout/  

Things to worry about
Warmer Temperatures-New USDA Zone Map Already Obsolete http://www1.ccny.cuny.edu/advancement/news/Warmer-Temperatures-Make-New-USDA-Plant-Zone-Map-Obsolete.cfm 

Why I don’t Worry Too Much About Organic Fruits and Veggies: http://ow.ly/1OwcYb 

GMO-birthed “Superweeds” Oh joy. You http://www.theawl.com/2012/09/weeds- 

The cat food crisis: http://casaabyayala.tumblr.com/post/29369258284/la-crisis-de-la-comida-para-gatos-parte-1-the-cat-food 

Bermuda Dunes woman’s garden for eating has some neighbors hissing http://mydesert.co/ST0UO6 

Waiter, There’s Arsenic in My Rice http://www.motherjones.com/tom-philpott/2012/09/waiter-theres-arsenic-my-rice  via @motherjones 

Preppin’
Rugged All-Terrain Trailer Home for Off-Road Adventures | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/rugged-teardrop-trailer-home-for-radical-off-road-adventures/   

Earthquake proof desk: http://dornob.com/really-robust-earthquake-proof-desk-survives-smash-tests/  

Just Plain Cool
And Now, the Skatepark House http://www.core77.com/blog/architecture/and_now_the_skatepark_house_23466.asp  

Wild Huts in the UK http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/09/wild-h 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple