Saturday Linkages: Making Things and Herding Ducks

Herding ducks. Via The Tangled Nest.


DIY
Simple Swiss fences for the homestead: http://dirttime.com/?p=2687 via Practical Parsimony

Build-It-Solar Blog: Comparing the Performance of Two DIY Solar Water Heaters http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/07/comparing-performance-of-two-diy-solar.html?spref=tw 

Build-It-Solar Blog: Using Your Lawn Sprinkling Water to Cool the House… http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/08/using-your-lawn-sprinkling-water-to.html?spref=tw 

New video series from MAKE: “DiResta”: http://boingboing.net/2012/08/15/new-video-series-from-make.html 

Inspired By. . . SunRay Kelley http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/08/inspired-by-sunray-kelley.html#.UCwiEif7Ek0.twitter 

Cooking and Preserving
Canning 101: Learning to be Flexible http://www.foodinjars.com/2012/08/cannin

Step Up the S’more: 7 Ideas for Campfire Treats by Chris Rochelle: Chocolate Cake Baked in an Orange http://www.chow.com/galleries/315/step-up-the-smore-7-ideas-for-campfire-treats-by-chris-rochelle/7324/chocolate-cake-baked-in-an-orange  

Fowl
How to Herd Your Chickens (or ducks) http://shar.es/v87HU 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Now With Catagories (and Skateboarding Goats)

Design

Small Cabin Plans Online http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/08/small-cabin-plans-online.html#.UCFFrqY1GF0.twitter  

How-To: Crackle Paint Finish with Elmer’s Glue http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2012/08/how-to_crackle_paint_finish_wi.html  

Flat pack live/work loft: http://www.spaceflavor.com/Cube_Prefabricated_Home_Live_Work_Loft.html 

Events

Are you pressure cooking, yet?!? Free San Francisco Bay demos lure cooks to the pressure cooker http://shar.es/vxakE  

Cookin’

Pickled Beets with Orange and Coriander. Excellent on a sandwich with goat cheese and pesto. http://fb.me/1HJYF63ww via @nwedible

Gardenin’

Growing chayote: Bury one fruit, get an epic plant http://www.latimes.com/features/home/la-lh-chayote-planting-20120806,0,5571772.story  

Small-garden ideas from Thomas Rainer | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/08/thomas-rainer-small-garden-ideas.html 
 

Health

Lesson Burned: Does Sunscreen Actually Reduce the Risk of Cancer? http://shar.es/vlki0

I couldn’t make this stuff up if I tried . . . 

Skateboarding goat wins Guinness World Record (video): http://boingboing.net/2012/08/10/skateboarding-goat-wins-guinne.html  

Road rage against cyclist–by an elephant. I reiterate my call for separated elephant lanes, preferably buffered. http://ow.ly/cO6HX via @dudeonabike

Slicing vegetables with thrown playing cards: http://boingboing.net/2012/08/06/silcing-vegetables-with-thrown.html 

Miami restaurant serves up (Salmonella) sushi, sashimi on naked models | barfblog: http://barfblog.foodsafety.ksu.edu/blog/155812/12/08/04/miami-restaurant-serves-salmonella-sushi-sashimi-naked-models#.UB3Nna2ionM.twitter 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Soil Liming, Vegans Partying, Cats and Couches

Designer Seungji Mun’s cat couch.

Please Stop Liming your Soil Based on the pH! | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/07/please-stop-liming-your-soil-based-on-the-ph.html 

Vegans party … at the butcher shop! http://www.latimes.com/features/food/dailydish/la-dd-vegans-party-at-the-butcher-shop-20120801,0,7684645.story 

Small Homes in Working Class Neighborhoods http://bit.ly/NMf0xX

Purr-fect Playground: Human Sofa Doubles as Feline Toy | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/purr-fect-playground-human-sofa-doubles-as-feline-toy/ 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Pig’s Milk, Hot Sauce, Clutter

Nettle hot sauce recipe from the Wild Food Lab.

How About a Nice Cold Glass of Camel, Buffalo, or Pig Milk?

Artisinal cocktail movement gets out of hand: Stop the Madness! | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/07/stop-the-madness.html  

Yes, there’s a parasite of the day blog: http://dailyparasite.blogspot.com

The Clutter Culture via UCLA Magazine http://magazine.ucla.edu/features/the-clutter-culture/ 

And, how to deal with that clutter: Unf#$&^% Your Habitat: a smart phone ap for messy people: http://boingboing.net/2012/07/25/unfuck-your-habitat-tidy-advi.html 

Compendium of Research Reports on Use of Non-Traditional Materials for Crop Production: http://extension.agron.iastate.edu/compendium/index.aspx  

Cross-contamination: washing chicken or any meat is a bad idea | barfblog: http://bit.ly/M4pybB 

Making hot sauces with wild plants: http://www.urbanoutdoorskills.com/wildfoodlab.html  

How to Restore an Heirloom Axe | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2012/07/17/how-to-restore-an-heirloom-axe/  

Of all the linkages this week this is the most important: please consider helping one of Los Angeles’ bike activists, Shay Sanchez, defeat a terrible disease: Raise Money for Shay’s Kick Butt and Get Better Fund –  http://www.youcaring.com/fundraiser_details?fundraiser_id=1412&url=shays  

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Spoiled Kids, Leaf Blowers, and Yet More Signs of the Artisinal Apocalypse

Customized leaf blower by artist Rubén Ortiz-Torres

Those damn leaf blowers! It’s Not About the Noise: Pollen, Mold, Feces and Lung-Lodging Particulates: http://arlingtonleafblowers.blogspot.com/2012/06/pollen-mold-feces-and-lung-lodging.html?spref=tw 

Why Are American Kids So Spoiled? : The New Yorker http://www.newyorker.com/arts/critics/books/2012/07/02/120702crbo_books_kolbert?mbid=social_retweet 

Man builds 50 Foot Wooden Tower to reach vegetable garden:  http://dornob.com/50-foot-wooden-tower-is-a-brilliant-diy-backyard-solution/ 

Another sign of the artisinal apocalypse: NYC water cafe sells fancily filtered local water http://boingboing.net/2012/07/19/nyc-water-cafe-sells-fancily-f.html 

Hacked Ikea Leaning Chair: http://dornob.com/hacked-ikea-leaning-chair-design-imitates-life-art-cartoons/  

[email protected]: John Jeavons: http://youtu.be/afHd9EhsJ1U 

Stop the War on Front Yard Vegetable Gardens – Arrêtez la Guerre contre les Potagers sur les Cours Avant http://www.causes.com/causes/11991-plant-healthy-gardens-feed-a-hungry-world/actions/1667714  

Chicken proofing your vegetable garden: Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/07/chickens-vs-vegetable-beds-round-two.html 

Color in the (House and) Garden | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/07/color-in-the-house-and-garden.html 

Desperately Seeking Shade: How South L.A. Bus Riders Weather the Elements http://la.streetsblog.org/2012/07/12/desperately-seeking-shade-how-south-l-a-bus-riders-weather-the-elements/#.UATeyLR4nH4.twitter  

Color Palettes Inspired by Cats from Design Seeds – http://www.moderncat.net/2012/07/15/color-palettes-inspired-by-cats-from-design-seeds/ 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple