Saturday Linkages: The Calm After the Storm

Got a storm damaged tree? See Trees Are Good for advice.

DIY
Build-It-Solar Blog: A Unique DIY Solar Pool Heating Collector Using PV… http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/10/a-unique-diy-solar-pool-heating.html?spref=tw 

Build-It-Solar Blog: Large DIY Solar Space and Water Heating System in … http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/10/large-diy-solar-space-and-water-heating.html?spref=tw 

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Fueling Up

Only in India

DIY
Six ways to reuse plastic mesh bags: http://collectedquotidian.com/2012/10/21/six-ways-to-reuse-plastic-mesh-produce-bags/ 

How I Work: I’m Mark Frauenfelder, Editor-In-Chief of MAKE Magazine, and This Is How I Work – http://lifehacker.com/5954275/im-mark-frauenfelder-editor+in+chief-of-make-magazine-and-this-is-how-i-work 

Free Heat for Your Home: Homemade Briquettes and Logs http://naturalbuildingblog.com/free-heat-for-your-home-homemade-briquettes-and-logs/ 

Thoughtstylings
Mark Bittman: A Simple Fix for Farming http://nyti.ms/VjNlZb

Fueling up: http://we2our2.blogspot.com/2012/10/fueling-up.html 

Health
The Island Where People Forget to Die http://nyti.ms/S3Mitk

Bikes
Nice graphic showing why taking the lane is a good idea. http://ow.ly/eIgHH  (via Commute Orlando) 

From the Root Simple Archive 
Appletastic Apple Cake http://www.rootsimple.com/2010/12/applet

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Don’t seek the truth – just drop your opinions

DIY
Rear-cycling: Minimalist Stool Grows With Old Magazines | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/rear-cycling-minimalist-stool-grows-with-old-magazines/ 

Bastard chairs of China: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/15/bastard-chairs-of-china.html 

Tiny Home With Metal Siding in Texas http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/tiny-home-with-metal-siding-in-texas.html#.UIBNRCkp2Ys.twitter 

Life is swell in a fallout shelter!: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/17/life-is-swell-in-a-fall.html 

Small, Flat-bottomed Sailboat http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/small-flat-bottomed-sailboat.html#.UH78qIIo7TY.twitter 

Car Tent for stealth city camping: Geekologie http://www.geekologie.com/2007/06/car-tent.php  

Thoughtstylings
Heirloom Apples, Heritage Orchards & Cideries Bring Back Food Diversity and Jobs to Our Communities http://j.mp/VkvZvh

World Food Day: A Franciscan Prayer Service on Behalf of Farmers, Farmworkers & Fishers in a Year of Drought http://j.mp/VkvRfl

Zen saying: Don’t seek the truth – just drop your opinions.

Health and Fitness
Fencing may help improve some cognitive functions in older people – Los Angeles Times http://www.latimes.com/la-heb-fencing-cogitive-improvement-20111230,0,1166016.story 

Gardening
Garden planter turns out to be Roman antique: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/12/garden-planter-turns-out-to-be.html  

Best Reporting on the Space Shuttle Tree Debacle
Science Center Given Approval to Remove Nearly 400 Trees to Make Way for Shuttle http://la.streetsblog.org/2012/09/18/science-center-given-approval-to-remove-nearly-400-trees-to-make-way-for-shuttle/#.UHkCZyjj5iQ.twitter   

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Will Your Next House Be Built With Mushrooms?

Fast Fungi Bricks via Dornob

Gardening
What I am reading from the Los Angeles Public Library: Organic Olives http://catalog.lapl.org/carlweb/jsp/DoSearch?databaseID=965&terms=5013187&index=z  

Garden planter turns out to be Roman antique: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/12/garden-planter-turns-out-to-be.html 

DIY
North House Folk School http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/north-house-folk-school.html#.UHTSPhsTC2o.twitter 

HOWTO make a sandwich caddy out of a milk jug: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/08/howto-make-a-sandwich-caddy-ou.html 

Preparedness
Tegaderm 3M product for applying dressing over bleeding injury: http://boingboing.net/2012/10/11/tegaderm.html 

How to Tell Time Like a Soldier | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2012/10/11/how-to-tell-time-like-a-soldier/  

DesignFast Fungi Bricks: Mushroom Blocks Better than Concrete?! | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/fast-fungi-bricks-mushroom-blocks-better-than-concrete/ 

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Saturday Linkages: Tiny Houses and Succulent Suprises

Gardening
Sunflower sutra | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/10/sunflower-sutra.html 

Succulent Surprise http://www.dudecraft.com/2012/09/succulent-surprise.html 

DIY
Build-It-Solar Blog: DIY Insulating Window or Door Shutters Using Astrofoil: http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2012/09/diy-insulating-window-or-door-shutters.html?spref=tw 

Bikes
Cargo cyclists replace truck drivers on European city streets: http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2012/09/jobs-of-the-future-cargo-cyclist.html 

Tiny Houses
Tiny Dogtrot House http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/tiny-dogtrot-house.html#.UHA0ZpxF7Vk.twitter  

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple