Saturday Linkages: Improvised Motocycles, Permaculture, Bear Attacks Man In Outhouse, Unicorn Poop Cookies–Yes, It’s a Strange World We Live In

Stuck in an African desert, a man improvises a motorcycle out of his Citroen with no tools. You can’t get more bad-ass than that!

Homemade motorcycle improvised out of a Citroen 2CV in the middle of the desert: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/23/homemade-motorcycled-improvise.html

Geoff Lawton on the Future of Permaculture | The Survival Podcast http://bit.ly/JRtgEb

Outhouse bear attack survivor was grabbed from ‘throne’ http://soc.li/u7Qdapb

3D printed Yogurt Cup SIPs from Carlyn up on Thingiverse – thanks to @rootsimple for the inspiration! http://bit.ly/JzNbXX

HOWTO make unicorn poop cookies: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/23/howto-make-unicorn-poop-cookie.html

West Coast Women’s Permaculture Gathering: http://westcoastwomenspc.weebly.com

Functional Coat Hooks Made of Unlikely Upcycled Material | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/functional-coat-hooks-made-of-unlikely-upcycled-material/

Art from plastic waste in Kenya: http://www.afrigadget.com/2012/05/20/the-women-of-minyore/

No need to rewash pre-washed leafy greens barfblog: http://bit.ly/JnUIbv

Limiting barf in bike races | barfblog: http://bit.ly/JuTUCP

Imidacloprid bee study appears flawed: http://scientificbeekeeping.com

Follow the Root Simple twitter feed for more linkages.

Saturday Linkages

Not exactly sure if this is a good idea. Maybe if it collected and diluted urine for use as fertilizer!

Combination Urinal Concept Surprisingly Blends Sink & Toilet | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/combination-urinal-concept-surprisingly-blends-sink-toilet/

Making Shelter Simple: An Interview with Lloyd Kahn: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/15/making-shelter-simple-an-inte.html

Horticultural myths: http://www.puyallup.wsu.edu/~linda chalker-scott/Horticultural Myths_files/

Where Laundry is Garden Art http://bit.ly/JdNs33

Video: Alphabets Heaven beat music and “Private Life of Plants”: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/14/video-alphabets-heaven-beat-m.html

Carpenter builds incredible egg-shaped treehouse hidden from view on Crown land just yards from… http://bit.ly/IkAM7w

Wood fired ovens in Baja California: http://altbuildblog.blogspot.com/2012/05/wood-fired-ovens-in-baja-california-sur.html

Very cool art piece at my Alma mater UCSD: Fallen Star http://stuartcollection.ucsd.edu/artists/suh.shtml

If you’re in the mood for a long read, something to chew on from Orion: Confessions of a Recovering Environmentalist

Follow the Root Simple twitter feed for more linkages.

Saturday Linkages: Really Old Beer, Interior Design Tips From the Mafia, Trash in LA, Halloumi Kabobs and More

Williams-Sonoma’s $60 “predator proofing” kit. Yes, that’s hardware cloth and nails. Via Northwest Edible Life.

Beer From 1840s Shipwreck May Be Recreated By Scientists. http://huff.to/JFfiAl

Huge, dumb booze producer Diageo orders industry association to give them the prize that had been awarded to competitor:http://boingboing.net/2012/05/10/huge-dumb-scottish-bar-chain.html

Italian mafia interior tastes exposed – in pictures http://gu.com/p/37d2t/tw

Behind the scenes of a city: Trash in L.A.: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/08/behind-the-scenes-of-a-city-t.html

Train horn attached to bicycle: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/08/train-horn-attached-to-bicycle.html

Vegetarian Recipe: Halloumi Kabobs – Good Food http://blogs.kcrw.com/goodfood/2012/05/vegetarian-recipe-halloumi-kabobs/

A Bamboo Mat Shed With Palm Thatch Roof: http://altbuildblog.blogspot.com/2012/04/bamboo-mat-shed-with-palm-thatch-roof.html

Don’t Buy These 5 Williams-Sonoma Agrarian Products http://www.nwedible.com/2012/04/dont-buy-these-5-william-sonoma-agrarian-products.html

Common Appliances, Uncommon Uses http://www.chow.com/food-news/54485/common-appliances-uncommon-uses/

Follow the Root Simple twitter feed for more linkages.

Saturday Linkages: Off-Grid Living, Urban Velo, Meat Glue, Home Depot and Dandelions

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Amazing photos of people living off-the-grid in the United States: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/03/photos-of-people-living-off-th.html

This week in TSA awfulness: a recap of recent American airport atrocities: http://boingboing.net/2012/05/02/this-week-in-tsa-awfulness-a.html

New issue of Urban Velo: http://www.urbanvelo.org/issue31/index.html

Meat Glue (not to be confused with pink slime): http://boingboing.net/2012/05/01/meat-glue.html

Barf Blog, a great blog about foodborne illness: http://barfblog.foodsafety.ksu.edu/barfblog

What kind of advice are Home Depot’s “Certified Nursery Consultants” giving? http://bit.ly/Inbqod

On Dandelions: http://ow.ly/1LitSC

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.

Saturday Linkages: Cave Living, Chocolate Sourdough, Persian Marmalade and Much More . . .

@ericmiller built the native pollinator house from Making It and tweeted the result!

Farine: Chocolate and Currant Sourdough recipe http://www.farine-mc.com/2012/04/chocolate-and-currant-sourdough.html?spref=tw

The American who quit money to live in a cave: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/26/the-american-who-quit-money-to.html

A Place for Old Chickens, Outside the Pot http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/26/us/new-homes-beckon-for-city-chickens-in-retirement.html

Persian Marmalade History http://totastings.blogspot.com/2011/02/persian-marmalade-history.html?spref=tw

Homemade Yogurt in Mason Jars http://www.foodinjars.com/2012/04/homemade-yogurt-in-mason-jars/

Via @Rational Survivor: Introduction to Permaculture – 40 hours of Free video lectures http://fb.me/JcaxlEd3

Government tries to shut down paleo diet blogger http://hunter-gatherer.com/blog/government-tries-shut-down-paleo-diet-blogger#.T5gjX8RAoBA.twitter

Logical fallacies poster: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/23/logical-fallacies-poster.html

Japanify: How to Make Biwashu (Loquat Liqueur) « Umamimart: http://www.umamimart.com/2009/06/how-to-make-biwashu-loquat-liqueur/#.T5WYeB_lzPU.twitter

These, and more linkages, are from the Root Simple twitter feed.