Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Roasting and That Crazy Rhubarb Lady

...Stairs http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/3_e0IccStLo/new-skateboard-can-go-down-stairs.html … Life in the city Urban Healers: http://urbanhealers.tumblr.com Clotheslines vs. HOAs: “Right to Dry” States http://bit.ly/13nMrPL The Ten Most Ambitious Failed Utopian Mass Transit Systems http://jalopnik.com/the-ten-most-ambitious-failed-utopian-mass-transit-syst-1135019271 … Making a Case to Phase Out “Beg Buttons” in Santa Monic...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: An Egg Shaped Houseboat, Bamboo Joints and the Origins of Umami

...pg/whole-life-integration-tips-to-simplify-nearly-everything-in-your-productive-home.html … Two new resources on the web for the DIY solar crowd http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2013/07/two-new-resources-on-web-for-diy-solar.html … A Long-Term Survival Guide – How to Make Bamboo Joints http://www.scribd.com/doc/24688327/A-Long-Term-Survival-Guide-How-to-Make-Bamboo-Joints … Funnel Wall Plays Music during Rain http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/l...

Continue reading…

Picture Sundays: Do You Believe In Magic?

I really like this mural that just appeared in our neighborhood near the corner of Sunset and Coronado. Bunnies tumble out of a magic hat and there’s a silhouette of a coyote and crow (common urban wildlife here). The text, “do you beleav [sic] in magic” brought a smile to my face as I waited for the bus. My day had been re-enchanted by this symbolic bit of street art....

Continue reading…

Bee Fever in Los Angeles

...y has an article, “Could LA Become a Honeybee Mecca” detailing efforts by two groups, Honey Love and the Backwards Beekeepers, to legalize beekeeping in Los Angeles. The process, while slow, looks promising thanks to the hard work of Honey Love and sympathetic city councilman Bill Rosendahl. The article also neatly sums up the radical “backwards” approach to beekeeping advocated by LA’s maverick urban beekeeper Kirk...

Continue reading…

City of Angels Permaculture Academy Design Course Series

...arting up this October 5th and 6th. Kelly and I are planning to attend and we look forward to seeing some of you there. Here’s the 411: One weekend a month for 6 months. World-class education for less than $12 an hour! Discounts, Payment Plans and up to 50% Work-Trade Still Available You can drop in for one day- or for the whole series. Elegant Home and Gardens- DIY Design & Build Learn Urban Homesteading Skills Community Projects Star...

Continue reading…

Monday Linkages: The Blob, Urine Soaked Acorns

...Blob – An Unusual Micro-Home Encased in Storage http://humble-homes.com/blob-unusual-micro-home-encased-storage/ The Labyrinth Project, the beginning http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com/2013/09/the-labyrinth-project-beginning.html … Homesteading weirdness 1859: A native delicacy – acorns pickled in human urine http://shar.es/Kkb0q  How Japanese honeybees switch to ‘hot defensive bee ball’ mode when threatened http://www.globalpost.com...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Incas, Big Rocks and Cool Cucumbers

.... Growin’ things Wildflower project takes root in Echo Park http://feedly.com/e/pugEWv4Z  Lost Crops of the Incas http://feedly.com/e/9GygG_Yc  Reading: Urban Oasis on a Balcony: From Concrete Furnace to Edible Habitat… http://bit.ly/HSeQ6B  Look at My Big Rock by Evelyn Hadden http://feedly.com/e/0gB_TOO6  The coolest cucumber you’ve never met: http://modernfarmer.com/2013/11/coolest-cucumber-never-met/ … Food issues Americ...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Cheese Powder and Torpedo Bikes

Cheese powder anyone? Cheese powder: What is it?: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/14/cheese-powder-what-is-it.html … Heat Your Clothes, Not Your House http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-clothes-not-your-house.html … Heat Your Desk, Not Your Office http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-desk-not-your-office.html … Bog Butter: Storing Food in Soil http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/bog-butter-storing-food...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Balloon Jumping, Front Yard Graves and a Poo Themed Restaurant

What If There Was No Landscaping? http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/09/what-if-there-was-no-landscaping.html … Make Your Own $35 Straw Mattress http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/make-your-own-35-straw-mattress.html … How to solder: http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_mfaire.php  Outrageously Themed Magic Restroom Cafe Soft Opens, Serving “Golden Poop” Rice http://eater.cc/1fxFy2N  ORDNING stainless steel brea...

Continue reading…