Saturday Linkages: From Bananas to Laird’s Laws

Breaking news from Mrs. Homegrown’s alma mater–banana plant busts through glass roof at Smith College conservatory http://www.gazettenet.com/news/9182534-95/banana-plant-busts-through-glass-roof-at-smith-college-conservatory#.UrzZKcw8rbU.twitter … Goleta considers groovy permaculture ordinance: http://www.independent.com/news/2013/dec/23/goleta-considers-groovy-green-ordinance/ … Spanish sperm whale death linked to UK supermarket su...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Teepees, a Preying Mantis and a 1200 Year Old Phone

Pink preying mantis disguises itself as a flower: http://boingboing.net/2013/12/10/pink-preying-mantis-disguises.html … How to Stop Bee-Killing Pesticides? Start with the Box Stores! | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/12/stopping-bee-killing-pesticides-it-starts-with-the-box-stores.html … Calgary blizzard and brazen mice put teepee life to the test http://www.calgaryherald.com/Calgary+blizzard+brazen+mice+teepee+life+test/9243333/story.h...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Stealth, Mules and Opiates

Stealth Pickup Camper http://frommoontomoon.blogspot.com/2013/10/stealth-pickup-camper.html … Rocket Stove Heating http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/rocket-stove-heating-systems.html … Conservation You Can Taste http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2327  The Very Different Nomadic Lifestyle Of John Sears And His Three Mules… http://theflyingtortoise.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-very-different-nomadic-lifestyle-of.html … Restaurants in China s...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Speedos, Blue Eggs and the Rise of Rye

A rancher of the future according to the 1981 children’s book Tomorrow’s Home. Trojan Horses, Recipes, and Permaculture http://www.patternliteracy.com/770-trojan-horses-recipes-and-permaculture … How bad for the environment are gas-powered leaf blowers? http://wapo.st/14bgqIQ  In Pursuit of Tastier Chickens, a Strict Diet of Four-Star Scraps http://nyti.ms/15yN8EY  Rye’s Rise: New Loaves That Are More Than a Vehicle for Pastrami http...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html … Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ … DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/ An Open Source Commu...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders

CD3WD: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders CD3WD: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders http://brinkoffreedom.net/homesteading/cd3wd-mega-reference-homesteaders/?utm_source=feedly … BreadStorm http://www.farine-mc.com/2013/09/breadstorm.html … Get Fit Like a Wild Man: A Primer on MovNat http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/6JaxlN5A7Kc/story01.htm … Tooth Fairy goes pneumatic http://hackaday.com/2013/09/13/tooth-fairy-goes-pneumatic/ … M...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Loving LA and Gardening

Gardening R U pine nuts? https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=944 … Mulch Addiction http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/08/mulch-addiction.html … Intermingling and the Aesthetics of Ecology http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/08/intermingling-and-aesthetics-of-ecology.html … Heritage Agri-tourism as a Strategy for Promoting the Recovery of Heirloom Vegetables, Grains, Fruits http://gary...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Yet More Potty Talk

Potty training fruit snack from Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons As promised . . . Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons: Potty Training Fruit Snack & Other Potty Treats! http://kitchenfunwithmy3sons.blogspot.com/2013/07/potty-training-fruit-snack-other-potty.html?spref=tw … Can diapers really control Salmonella in lap chickens? http://barfblog.com/2013/08/can-diapers-really-control-salmonella-in-lap-chickens/ … Food Issues Cylindrical, quivering, gelatino...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Roasting and That Crazy Rhubarb Lady

IKEA hack: DIY coffee roaster. DIY IKEA hack FrankenRoaster – DIY Coffee Roaster Drum http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Ikeahacker/~3/Ii6NHUh_5Hg/frankenroaster-coffee-roaster-drum.html … Made in the Shade: Building a Vertical Garden Under the Canopy of Our Guava Tree http://disq.us/8en1h5 Create Your Own Hipster Logo In 6 Steps http://www.fastcodesign.com/node/1673156  Back to Basics: Direct Hydropower http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/typepad/...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Finally, A Use for Palm Fronds

Incredibly important information At last, something to do with them! Halloween mask carved from a palm tree frond. http://boingboing.net/2013/10/10/mask-carved-from-a-palm-tree-f.html … The Perfect Cat House by Thinking Design http://www.hauspanther.com/2013/10/10/the-perfect-cat-house-by-thinking-design/ … Keep Your House in Tip-Top Shape: An Incredibly Handy Home Maintenance Checklist http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/0JHKd...

Continue reading…