Saturday Linkages: Black Soldier Flys, DIY Power Bars and CDFA Thugs are Killing Bees Again

DIY How to Build a DIY Black Soldier Fly Composter (Video) : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/lawn-garden/how-build-diy-black-soldier-fly-composter-video.html … Are You A Chicago Gardener? Take This Survey http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/02/are-you-chicago-gardener-take-this.html#.UTo_UPrAm4A.twitter … My Solar Adventures- DIY solar and arduino projects: How to : DIY Solar Backpack with Solar Mobile phon… http://mysolaradv...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Poison, Pee and Plagiarism

Birdhouse shaped like a Google Map icon. Via Dornob. For the birds Avian Accommodations: Google Map Pin-Shaped Birdhouses | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/avian-accommodations-google-map-pin-shaped-birdhouses/ … Thar she blows . . . Here’s to No-Blow Gardens | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/03/heres-to-no-blow-gardens.html … DIY Pure Salvage: 10 Eclectic Tiny Homes Built with 99% Scrap | Designs & Ideas on Dornob...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Naked Gardening, Ticks, Walking in LA and Eating Giant Rats

Couple gets booted out of the first world naked gardening day. Watch out for the nettles . . . World naked gardening day–May 4: http://www.wngd.org [Editors note: NSFW and no we won't be participating in WNGD, but I once saw a neighbor doing so while I was walking our dog a few years ago.] Making Things Paul Elkin, Maker of Many Things http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/04/paul-elkin-maker-of-many-things.html#.UYSMGz1dyX8.twitter...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Soils, Prickly Pear and the Case for Going Outside

Soil diagram from the Garden Professors. Let’s get (soil) physical… https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=943 … The Science Behind Honey’s Eternal Shelf Life http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/science/2013/08/the-science-behind-honeys-eternal-shelf-life/#.Uh0YB1lfCUw.twitter … Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/21/open-tech-forever-permacultur.html …...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Logs, Invasives and Italian Veggies

Italian veggie tips: Amicidellortodue http://feedly.com/e/AeUKDhxu  The Trouble with the Word “Invasive” | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/01/the-trouble-with-the-word-invasive.html … Colon shaped tiny hotel: http://www.unusualhotelsoftheworld.com/casanus OTIS | Tiny House Swoon http://tinyhouseswoon.com/otis/  Changing the maple syrup paradigm. Crazy efficient, yet also grim, from the tree’s perspective– and mine. http://www...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Can We Please Have More Underpass Chandeliers?

Ballroom Luminoso: Ugly freeway underpass beautified with recycled bike chandeliers : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/urban-design/ballroom-luminoso-underpass-converted-bike-chandeliers-joe-oconnell-blessing-hancock.html … Yes, the farm bill is politically corrupt. Veto it! http://goo.gl/fb/vhLtK  What’s wrong with an ugly winter garden? http://gu.com/p/3mb4a/tw  The secret light of plants by Elizabeth Licata http://feedly.com/e/_hlI...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Battling Herbicides, Solar Wall Ovens and Jaywalking

Solar wall oven. Photo: Natural Building Blog Rachel Aviv: The Scientist Who Took on a Leading Herbicide Manufacturer http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2014/02/10/140210fa_fact_aviv?currentPage=all?mbid=social_retweet … Consider the Cane Toad http://ensia.com/voices/consider-the-cane-toad/ … Commercial Solar Wall Ovens http://feedly.com/e/nrC8gJXU  Wilson Solar Grill for outdoor cooking http://www.examiner.com/article/wilson-solar-grill-for-out...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Elves, Archdruids and Open Source Furniture

20 Open Source Furniture Designs http://www.shareable.net/blog/20-open-source-furniture-designs … “The Valley of The Elves” by Ellie Pritts https://elliepritts.exposure.so/the-valley-of-the-elves … The Archdruid Report: Seven Sustainable Technologies http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/2014/01/seven-sustainable-technologies.html?spref=tw … Silver Lake stays in step with Rudyard Kipling http://feedly.com/e/2K1ZbhCt  Leaked: environmental chap...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sad Cookbooks, Pancakes and Tiny Homes

The saddest cookbook ever written: http://boingboing.net/2014/01/06/the-saddest-cookbook-ever-writ.html … Another take on sourdough pancakes http://www.wildyeastblog.com/2009/02/24/sourdough-pancakes/ … Simply Yoav –His Yurt and Life http://feedly.com/e/X0VjVnaF  How to pull out a car from a frozen lake… Russian style http://feedly.com/e/fHtO IUrv  Old World Woodworking Tools http://feedly.com/e/0H12BeW1  Tiny Apartments in Cities:...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Holiday Edition

How Children Demanding Play Streets Changed Amsterdam http://feedly.com/e/ejQo__gG Overpriced, useless, or just plain bizarre: an anti-garden gift guide http://gardenrant.com/2013/12/overpriced-useless-or-just-plain-bizarre-an-anti-garden-gift-guide.html … Half Of Supermarket Chicken Harbors Superbugs, Consumer Reports Finds http://huff.to/JKYa1W  Why LA’s local water strategy is like ‘Superman 3′ http://www.scpr.org/news/20...

Continue reading…