Saturday Linkages: An Egg Shaped Houseboat, Bamboo Joints and the Origins of Umami

Interior of houseboat designed by PAD studio, SPUD group and artist Stephen Turner. Behold a Once-Lost Plan for a Central Park That Might Have Been http://gizmodo.com/behold-a-once-lost-plan-for-a-central-park-that-might-h-787841443 … # Williamsburg vacant lot transformed into bike course and urban farm: http://po.st/2c8dOu  Japanese beetle traps—a reconsideration by James Roush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/japanese-beetle-tr...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Goats, Chainsaws and a Big Blue Rooster

Mason Jar + Juice Carton = Resealable Dispenser Inspiration Bike Trailers http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/BGY9jmWITPc/bike-trailers.html … 11 things it took me 42 years to learn http://bit.ly/1175KcM See the Documentary “Wonder: The Lives of Anna and Harlan Hubbard” if You Can by Allen Bush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/see-the-documentary-wonder-the-lives-of-anna-and-harlan-hubbard-if-you-can.html?utm_source=feed...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Of Tiny Shops and Margarita Dermatitis

The smallest shop in London. Gardening How to make a ferrocement raised bed: http://www.ruralize.com/Genes  Projects/ferrocement/ferrocement garden bed.html The Agony and the Ecstasy of Gardening with Children: http://www.nwedible.com/2013/06/the-agony-and-the-ecstasy-of-gardening-with-children.html … Live light Join the Aussies in a Plastic-Free July: http://www.plasticfreejuly.org/the-challenge.html Stuff to worry about Wi...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Tables, Ride Shares and Hot to Grill

Coffee table made with pallet: http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/coffee-table-made-with-pallet/ … Sorry Uber, Los Angeles Has Been Banning Ride-Shares For a Century http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/sorry-uber-los-angeles-has-been-banning-ride-shares-fo-574851806 … Metro threatens Phantom Planter with arrest if he tends his DuPont Circle station flowers http://wapo.st/14pF8Ts The Three Zone Fire: How to Grill Perfect Meat | The A...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: $1 Homes, Compost Heated Showers and Potty Talk

3573 Lincoln St.in Gary, Indiana. Yours for $1. Home Sweet Home Gary Indiana unveils Dollar Home Program: http://bit.ly/19HD517  Gardening Pipe planters http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/pipe-planters/ … Mariposa Nabi Community Garden features this alter via @GlenDake http://pinterest.com/pin/306667055846811135/ … DIY IKEA Hackers: New life for Old Poang! http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/06 13 Ways To Turn Your Outdated ’90s...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Insect Hotels, Edwardian Hipsters and Biomorphic Light Fixtures

DIY insect hotel spotted on the ever amazing Lloyd’s Blog. Insect Hotels http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/insect-hotels.html#.UcEUtDWXvN0.twitter … Good Yard or Bad Yard? Garden Design Pitfalls | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/06/good-yard-or-bad-yard-garden-design-pitfalls-2.html … Q & A – Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/1844StH Edwardian stunt bikers – in pictures http://gu.com...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Killer Bees, Bikes and Cold Coffee

Low tech bike shift lever via No Tech Magazine. Low-tech Bike Shift Lever http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/low-tech-bike-shift-lever.html … Before The Age of Automobiles, Cyclists Fought For Better Roads http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/before-the-age-of-automobiles-cyclists-fought-for-bett-1450090817 … Stop Trying to Make Killer Bees Happen http://shar.es/IqK8T  Designing Urban Agriculture: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2013/...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Teepees, a Preying Mantis and a 1200 Year Old Phone

Pink preying mantis disguises itself as a flower: http://boingboing.net/2013/12/10/pink-preying-mantis-disguises.html … How to Stop Bee-Killing Pesticides? Start with the Box Stores! | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/12/stopping-bee-killing-pesticides-it-starts-with-the-box-stores.html … Calgary blizzard and brazen mice put teepee life to the test http://www.calgaryherald.com/Calgary+blizzard+brazen+mice+teepee+life+test/9243333/story....

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Broody Hens, Killer Gardens and Salt-Rising Bread

Surveillance camera bird-feeder http://boingboing.net/2014/05/27/surveillance-camera-bird-feede.html … Broody Hens and the Meaning of Life. My new blog post on The Tangled Nest. http://thetanglednest.com/2014/05/broody-hens-and-the-meaning-of-life/ … Coping With Heat in the Garden: Drought-Tolerant Crops, Resilient Perennials and More http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2467 The whole world has a weight problem, new report says...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: A Close Shave, Building Codes and Protected Bike Lanes

Image: Garden Professor’s Blog. Should you shave tree roots? http://blogs.extension.org/gardenprofessors/2014/06/02/another-close-shave/ … Building Codes and the Self Built Mortgage Free Home http://wp.me/p4fosC-fx  Can These $20,000 Houses Save the American Dream http://tinyurl.com/o8vp8a8 Nancy Luce and her chickens: http://poultrybookstore.blogspot.com/2014/06/nancy-luce-and-her-chickens.html … Protected Bike Lanes Ma...

Continue reading…