Saturday Linkages: Let’s Make Chickens Legal in Pasadena!

Let’s really make backyard hens legal in Pasadena CA!  Gardening Preventing the heartbreak of splayage: http://ow.ly/1RN6pB Uli Westphal’s Ripening Tomatoes http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/01/uli-westphals-ripening-tomatoes.html#.UQxX3qqq5vY.twitter … The Wild, the Domesticated, and the Coyote-Tainted http://j.mp/14EAlz6  Design Tiny Apartment in Soho/Insanely Well Designed http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/01/t...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Bus Offices and Secret Doors

Vintage Hungarian bus re-purposed as a home office. Via Dornob. (Kelly says: I can totally see Erik working in here, with a little hat to match.) DIY Hungary For History: Vintage Bus Becomes Rad Home Office | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/hungary-for-history-vintage-bus-becomes-rad-home-office/ … Secret exterior door with remote control lock – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/01/24/secret-exterior-door-with-remo.ht...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Tiny Houses, Human Cheese, Doomsday Condos and Speakin’ Squirrel

Tiny Cabin in Scottish Countryside http://bit.ly/ItD5XQ And . . . Anderson Cooper tackles tiny houses http://www.mnn.com/your-home/remodeling-design/blogs/watch-anderson-cooper-tackles-tiny-houses Cat needs to learn water conservation: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/12/cat-needs-to-learn-water-conse.html No it’s not one of our April Fools day jokes: Breast Milk Ice Cream, Human Cheese http://aol.it/In5zBn Doomsday condos in old missile...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Makers, Haters and Beekeeping Donkeys

Critters Beekeeping Donkey is a Honey Farmer’s Best Friend : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/culture/honey-farmer-creates-beekeeping-suit-his-donkey.html … via bikejuju Rental Search, Caused by Storm, Is Complicated by Pet Chickens http://nyti.ms/VXoM3v Gardening Exactly what wildlife do we want overwintering in our beds? | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2012/11/what-wildlife-do-we-want-overwintering-in-our-beds.html … Grounded De...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Repair is Beautiful

DIY Beauty of overwrought repair: http://boingboing.net/2013/01/14/beauty-of-overwrought-repair.html … Custom Map Murals Make for Excellent Contextual Wall Decor | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/custom-map-murals-make-for-excellent-contextual-wall-decor/ … Vintage DIY: Wired Staffers’ Favorite Classic Gear Manuals | Wired Design | http://Wired.com  http://www.wired.com/design/2013/01/owners-manuals/ … Thoughtstylings T...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Orange Peel Lamps, Axe Porn and Craft Rooms

From Portugal Smallholding a orange peel lamp. Lamp made from an orange: http://www.portugalsmallholding.org/how-to/make-an-oil-lamp-with-an-orange/ A clever planter made from an Asphalt Handbook: http://www.recyclart.org/2012/03/asphalt-handbook-planter/ Hand-made Axe porn: http://bit.ly/GA0KWp Our friends at the Tangled Nest create an inspiring, low-budget craft room http://shar.es/pvLY5 And, yes, a toilet brush chandelier: http://...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Urine Soaked Eggs, Currents, Squirrels and School Gardens

Urine-soaked eggs a spring taste treat in China city: http://reut.rs/HqBQny Amazing wind map. Equally amazing water current map: http://www.theawl.com/2012/03/soothe-yourself-with-the-oceans-swirl Bald eagle, fox, and cat are porch friends: http://boingboing.net/2012/03/29/bald-eagle-fox-and-cat-are.html HOWTO build a robotic squirrel-squirting water sentry-gun, with python: http://boingboing.net/2012/03/26/howto-build-a-robotic-squirrel.htm...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Don’t seek the truth – just drop your opinions

DIY Rear-cycling: Minimalist Stool Grows With Old Magazines | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http:// dornob.com/rear-cycling-m inimalist-stool-grows-with-old-magazines/  … Bastard chairs of China: http:// boingboing.net/2012/10/15/bas tard-chairs-of-china.html  … Tiny Home With Metal Siding in Texas http:// lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/10/tiny-h ome-with-metal-siding-in-texas.html#.UIBNRCkp2Ys.twitter  … Life is swell in a fallout shelt...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Ginger Grating, Food Poisoning and Williams-Sonoma Chicken Coops

Williams-Sonoma’s “Alexandria” Coop. Quick Tip: Grate Ginger with a Fork http://www.thekitchn.com/quick-tip-grate-ginger-with-a-fork-168905 How long does food poisoning last?: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/05/how-long-does-food-poisoning-l.html La Creuset chicken feeders, perhaps? Williams-Sonoma High-End DIY Line A timeline of American food trends: http://www.foodtimeline.org/fooddecades.html These, and more linka...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Audio Jars, Cutting Glass Bottles and Assorted Rants

E.B. White’s letter to the ASPCA responding to his failure to pay a dog tax: http://bit.ly/wKIq9L Audio Jar – Open Source Speaker Housings: http://bit.ly/xV7II6 Bread geeks bring native wheat species back to Los Angeles | 89.3 KPCC http://www.scpr.org/programs/madeleine-brand/2012/03/08/25511/la-wheat via @ KPCC Working Undercover in a Slaughterhouse: an interview with Timothy Pachirat http://boingboing.net/2012/03/08/working-unde...

Continue reading…