Saturday Linkages: Meditation Pods and Zombie Lawn Gnomes

Doesn’t everyone need a vintage 1970s meditation pod? DIY How To Build Your Own Trippy Meditation Pod http://www. popsci.com/diy/article/20 12-09/how-make-your-own-trippy-meditation-pod-1970  …   Robin Wood Makes Wooden Bowls With Hand Tools in UK http:// lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/09/robin- wood-makes-wooden-bowls-with-hand.html#.UGX1GKP6FNw.twitter  … Skate Villa: Skateboard-Friendly Hunting Lodge Conversion | Designs &...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Tiny Houses and Succulent Suprises

Gardening Sunflower sutra | Garden Rant http:// gardenrant.com/2012/10/sunflo wer-sutra.html  … Succulent Surprise http://www. dudecraft.com/2012/09/succul ent-surprise.html  … DIY Build-It-Solar Blog: DIY Insulating Window or Door Shutters Using Astrofoil: http://www. builditsolarblog.com/2012/09/diy-in sulating-window-or-door-shutters.html?spref=tw  … Bikes Cargo cyclists replace truck drivers on European city streets: http://www. lowtechma...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Lemon Peels, Shrub, Duct Tape and the Art of Relaxing

Air dried lemon peels from Food in Jars. Preservin’ Air-Dried Lemon Peel http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/air-dried-lemon-peel/ … Drinking Vinegars: The Other Kind of Shrub | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/02/drinking-vinegars-the-other-kind-of-shrub.html … EDC Solutions for the Everyday Carry of Duct Tape | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/14/solutions-for-the-everyday-carry-of-duct-tape/ … Relax! Relax!...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: How to Wrap a Sari, Scotts Behaves Badly and America’s Finest Bathrooms

  DIY Tea House in Santa Cruz Built of Recycled Wood http:// lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/09/tea-ho use-in-santa-cruz-built-of.html#.UEktM61phus.twitter  … Bad Behavior Scotts Miracle-Gro Fined $12.5M For Bird-Killing Pesticides | Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innov.. http:// bit.ly/TykEUI   And this article from MNN explains why Scotts poisoned the seed: http://www.mnn.com/earth-matters/animals/stories/judge-accepts-scotts-mir...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Can Gardens, BOLs and Attack Geese

Can Garden. Via Recyclart. Gardening Cans Garden http://www. recyclart.org/2012/08/cans-g arden/  …   Design Like a Pro: Sure Tips for Great Plant Composition – Fine Gardening http:// shar.es/7EdXl DIY Recycled metal barrels http://www. recyclart.org/2012/08/recycl ed-metal-barrel/  … DIY Surfboard Bike Rack // http:// korduroy.tv/shows/surf-suf ficient/diy-surfboard-bike-rack  … 80ft Tube Made From VHS Tape http://www. dudecra...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Soil Liming, Vegans Partying, Cats and Couches

Designer Seungji Mun’s cat couch. Please Stop Liming your Soil Based on the pH! | Garden Rant http:// gardenrant.com/2012/07/please -stop-liming-your-soil-based-on-the-ph.html  … Vegans party … at the butcher shop! http://www. latimes.com/features/food/ dailydish/la-dd-vegans-party-at-the-butcher-shop-20120801,0,7684645.story  … Small Homes in Working Class Neighborhoods http:// bit.ly/NMf0xX Purr-fect Playground: Human Sofa...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Now With Catagories (and Skateboarding Goats)

Design Small Cabin Plans Online http:// lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/08/small- cabin-plans-online.html#.UCFFrqY1GF0.twitter  …   How-To: Crackle Paint Finish with Elmer’s Glue http:// blog.craftzine.com/archive/2012/0 8/how-to_crackle_paint_finish_wi.html  …  Flat pack live/work loft: http://www. spaceflavor.com/Cube_Prefabric ated_Home_Live_Work_Loft.html  … Events Are you pressure cooking, yet?!? Free San Francisco Bay demo...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Making Things and Herding Ducks

Herding ducks. Via The Tangled Nest. DIY Simple Swiss fences for the homestead: http:// dirttime.com/?p=2687 via Practical Parsimony Build-It-Solar Blog: Comparing the Performance of Two DIY Solar Water Heaters http://www. builditsolarblog.com/2012/07/compar ing-performance-of-two-diy-solar.html?spref=tw  … Build-It-Solar Blog: Using Your Lawn Sprinkling Water to Cool the House… http://www. builditsolarblog.com/2012/08/using- yo...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: From Plastic Bottle Kayaks to Canine Staircases

Kayak made from plastic bottles. Via Lloyd’s blog. DIY How To Turn A Mason Jar Into A Fermenting Crock – FARMcurious http://www. farmcurious.com/how-to-turn-a- mason-jar-into-a-fermenting-crock/  … Kayak Made from Recycled Bottles in Argentina http:// lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/08/kayak- made-from-recycled-bottles-in.html#.UDPAXX9HYUs.twitter  … Paper Bag Flooring http://www. dudecraft.com/2012/07/paper- bag-floor...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Mules, Turfgrass, Foraging and the End of Backyard Citrus

Emily Ho, a fellow Master Food Preserver trainee, foraged a Silver Lake salad. (Photo by Emily Ho) A Silver Lake Salad http://sustainablefoodworks.com/2012/04/09/a-silver-lake-salad/ via @ misschiffonade   Mule-based bookmobiles for remote Venezuelan communities: http://boingboing.net/2012/04/20/mule-based-bookmobiles-for-rem.html   Dismiss Cyclists At Your Own Peril: The Jackson Huang Lesson – Eagle Rock, CA Patch http://eagleroc...

Continue reading…