Saturday Linkages: Grains, Collapse and Mangoes

A Silver Lake street library. Image: The Eastsider. A really well done free street library: New Little Free Library in Silver Lake seeks book donations http://www.theeastsiderla.com/2014/03/bulletin-board-new-little-free-library-in-silver-lake-seeks-book-donations/ … What if Everything You Knew About Grains Was Wrong? http://shar.es/B37xj  Pot grow light interferes with HAM radio bands: http://www.arrl.org/news/view/arrl-to-fcc-grow-light-ballas...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Finally, A Use for Palm Fronds

Incredibly important information At last, something to do with them! Halloween mask carved from a palm tree frond. http://boingboing.net/2013/10/10/mask-carved-from-a-palm-tree-f.html … The Perfect Cat House by Thinking Design http://www.hauspanther.com/2013/10/10/the-perfect-cat-house-by-thinking-design/ … Keep Your House in Tip-Top Shape: An Incredibly Handy Home Maintenance Checklist http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/0JHKd...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Balloon Jumping, Front Yard Graves and a Poo Themed Restaurant

What If There Was No Landscaping? http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/09/what-if-there-was-no-landscaping.html … Make Your Own $35 Straw Mattress http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/make-your-own-35-straw-mattress.html … How to solder: http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_mfaire.php  Outrageously Themed Magic Restroom Cafe Soft Opens, Serving “Golden Poop” Rice http://eater.cc/1fxFy2N  ORDNING stainless steel breadbox to modern mail...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Goat Wars, Dinites and a Sanitary Pad Revolution

Newspaper issues correction concerning human-goat war: http://boingboing.net/2014/03/12/newspaper-issues-correction-co.html … How The Dunites created a secret utopia in the Oceano Dunes http://www.scpr.org/programs/take-two/2014/03/10/36375/how-the-dunites-created-a-secret-utopia-in-the-oce/ … Pay phone booth re-purposed as a tiny library – Unconsumption http://disq.us/8hkfz6  Avoiding pollution, drought’s evil twin http://chanceofrain.com/2014...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html … Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ … DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/ An Open Source Commu...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Whole Systems, Critters and the Most Beautiful Garden in the World

Art by Casey Cripe Casey Cripe’s “whole systems” collages and illustrations: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/27/casey-cripes-whole-systems.html … Turn Down the City Lights and Make Streets Safer http://bloom.bg/XuXeCi  Coping with Critters http://www.motherearthnews.com/Modern-Homesteading/Protect-Your-Home-From-Critters.aspx … Is Antibacterial Soap Bad For You? (Part 1) http://shar.es/jrPgV  Jeffrey Bale’s World of Gardens...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Comfrey, a Parking Rock Star and Voracious Worms

Russian comfrey in flower. Image: Wikipedia. Does comfrey really improve soil? http://permaculturenews.org/2014/03/18/comfrey-really-improve-soil/ … Soviet Russia’s answer to the Monsanto house of the future: http://gizmodo.com/that-time-soviet-russia-built-a-house-entirely-out-of-p-1544925507/1544979348/+mattnovak/+mattnovak … No, your pot doesn’t come from enviromentally conscious hippies http://www.motherjones.com/environment/2014...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Crimean Ovens, Ikea Distillery and Pallet Wood

Crimean oven. Image: No Tech Magazine. Crimean Ovens http://bit.ly/1kvPJrr The brand that dares not speak its name | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/03/the-brand-that-dares-not-speak-its-name.html … Ikea distillery design – IKEA Hackers http://po.st/s3JdPL  Pallet Wood Kitchen Cabinets http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/pallet-wood-kitchen-cabinets/ … Bees in Danger: California DFA Plans Pesticide Application in Carpinteria, Summer...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Stealth, Mules and Opiates

Stealth Pickup Camper http://frommoontomoon.blogspot.com/2013/10/stealth-pickup-camper.html … Rocket Stove Heating http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/rocket-stove-heating-systems.html … Conservation You Can Taste http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2327  The Very Different Nomadic Lifestyle Of John Sears And His Three Mules… http://theflyingtortoise.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-very-different-nomadic-lifestyle-of.html … Restaurants in China s...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Spoiled Kids, Leaf Blowers, and Yet More Signs of the Artisinal Apocalypse

Customized leaf blower by artist Rubén Ortiz-Torres Those damn leaf blowers! It’s Not About the Noise: Pollen, Mold, Feces and Lung-Lodging Particulates: http:// arlingtonleafblowers.blogspot.com/2012/06/pollen -mold-feces-and-lung-lodging.html?spref=tw  … Why Are American Kids So Spoiled? : The New Yorker http://www. newyorker.com/arts/critics/b ooks/2012/07/02/120702crbo_books_kolbert?mbid=social_retweet  … Man builds 50 Foot W...

Continue reading…