Saturday Linkages: Incas, Big Rocks and Cool Cucumbers

Engineering professor Michael Peshkin and his clear whiteboard. Growin’ things Wildflower project takes root in Echo Park http://feedly.com/e/pugEWv4Z  Lost Crops of the Incas http://feedly.com/e/9GygG_Yc  Reading: Urban Oasis on a Balcony: From Concrete Furnace to Edible Habitat… http://bit.ly/HSeQ6B  Look at My Big Rock by Evelyn Hadden http://feedly.com/e/0gB_TOO6  The coolest cucumber you’ve never met: http://modernfarme...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Dig that Passive Solar Birdbath!

Passive solar birdbath. Image: Builditsolar.com Passive solar birdbath: http://tinyurl.com/kbalf7x A Veteran Gets Criminal Treatment and Censored over Chickens http://tinyurl.com/lenrx9m Termite Ventilation – Natural Airconditioning http://feedly.com/e/2Zrz8bkc  Rhone Street Gardens: 2013…Looking Back http://www.rhonestreetgardens.com/2013/12/2013looking-back.html One-minute doc on a man’s love for thrifted sweaters – http://b...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sad Cookbooks, Pancakes and Tiny Homes

The saddest cookbook ever written: http://boingboing.net/2014/01/06/the-saddest-cookbook-ever-writ.html … Another take on sourdough pancakes http://www.wildyeastblog.com/2009/02/24/sourdough-pancakes/ … Simply Yoav –His Yurt and Life http://feedly.com/e/X0VjVnaF  How to pull out a car from a frozen lake… Russian style http://feedly.com/e/fHtO IUrv  Old World Woodworking Tools http://feedly.com/e/0H12BeW1  Tiny Apartments in Cities:...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Fire Plows, Kite Fishing and Roundup-Ready Turfgrass

Tell Me You Wouldn’t Buy This Snow-Fighting Fire Plow http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/tell-me-you-wouldnt-buy-this-snow-fighting-fire-plow-1519897386 … Tear Down These 10 Freeways! (And Then Tear Down Some More) http://feedly.com/e/5TEe4eBI  Mineral waters à la carte http://shar.es/QRHOf  Google hangout with Lloyd Kahn, master urban homesteader: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/12/google-hangout-with-lloyd-kahn.html … 3 MAKE projects to help...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Rammed Earth, Vanilla Ice and Moonshine

Best idea of the week. Image: Natural Building Blog Smokeless Rammed Earth Stove http://feedly.com/e/3e4xRBr8  Ice Goes Amish: http://modernfarmer.com/2014/02/vanilla-ice-amish-farmer/ … Plastic debris for brains http://www.honeybeesuite.com/plastic-debris-for-brains/ … RiYL podcast 041: Colin Spoelman, moonshine maker: http://boingboing.net/2014/02/20/riyl-podcast-041-colin-spoelm.html … Brazil’s new dietary guidelines: food-based! http://feedl...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Poultry Shaming, Horse Treadmills and Garden Snark

Image: Thirdroar. Poultry shaming: http://www.thirdroar.com/journal/2014/2/24/public-poultry-shaming.html … Russian Man Uses Horse Treadmill to Power Log Splitter http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/russian-man-uses-horse-treadmill-to-power-chainsaw-1532466975 … Garden Variety SNARK | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/02/garden-variety-snark.html … Pison eu, Colon grossum! http://wp.me/p4bjRl-5V  Reviving forgotten recipes: http://www.thesmartse...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Battling Herbicides, Solar Wall Ovens and Jaywalking

Solar wall oven. Photo: Natural Building Blog Rachel Aviv: The Scientist Who Took on a Leading Herbicide Manufacturer http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2014/02/10/140210fa_fact_aviv?currentPage=all?mbid=social_retweet … Consider the Cane Toad http://ensia.com/voices/consider-the-cane-toad/ … Commercial Solar Wall Ovens http://feedly.com/e/nrC8gJXU  Wilson Solar Grill for outdoor cooking http://www.examiner.com/article/wilson-solar-grill-for-out...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Can We Please Have More Underpass Chandeliers?

Ballroom Luminoso: Ugly freeway underpass beautified with recycled bike chandeliers : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/urban-design/ballroom-luminoso-underpass-converted-bike-chandeliers-joe-oconnell-blessing-hancock.html … Yes, the farm bill is politically corrupt. Veto it! http://goo.gl/fb/vhLtK  What’s wrong with an ugly winter garden? http://gu.com/p/3mb4a/tw  The secret light of plants by Elizabeth Licata http://feedly.com/e/_hlI...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Elves, Archdruids and Open Source Furniture

20 Open Source Furniture Designs http://www.shareable.net/blog/20-open-source-furniture-designs … “The Valley of The Elves” by Ellie Pritts https://elliepritts.exposure.so/the-valley-of-the-elves … The Archdruid Report: Seven Sustainable Technologies http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/2014/01/seven-sustainable-technologies.html?spref=tw … Silver Lake stays in step with Rudyard Kipling http://feedly.com/e/2K1ZbhCt  Leaked: environmental chap...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Logs, Invasives and Italian Veggies

Italian veggie tips: Amicidellortodue http://feedly.com/e/AeUKDhxu  The Trouble with the Word “Invasive” | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/01/the-trouble-with-the-word-invasive.html … Colon shaped tiny hotel: http://www.unusualhotelsoftheworld.com/casanus OTIS | Tiny House Swoon http://tinyhouseswoon.com/otis/  Changing the maple syrup paradigm. Crazy efficient, yet also grim, from the tree’s perspective– and mine. http://www...

Continue reading…