Saturday Linkages: Speedos, Blue Eggs and the Rise of Rye

A rancher of the future according to the 1981 children’s book Tomorrow’s Home. Trojan Horses, Recipes, and Permaculture http://www.patternliteracy.com/770-trojan-horses-recipes-and-permaculture … How bad for the environment are gas-powered leaf blowers? http://wapo.st/14bgqIQ  In Pursuit of Tastier Chickens, a Strict Diet of Four-Star Scraps http://nyti.ms/15yN8EY  Rye’s Rise: New Loaves That Are More Than a Vehicle for Pastrami http...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html … Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ … DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/ An Open Source Commu...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Stealth, Mules and Opiates

...fferent-nomadic-lifestyle-of.html … Restaurants in China spike meals with opiates to keep diners coming back? http://barfblog.com/2013/10/restaurants-in-china-spike-meals-with-opiates-to-keep-diners-coming-back/ … Okay, Then, It’s a “War on Cars” http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/okay-fine-its-war/Content?oid=9937449 … For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: Follow @rootsimple...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Well Tended Fires, Gardening Myths and a Spartan House

Image: Low Tech Magazine. Well tended fires outperform modern cooking stoves: http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2014/06/thermal-efficiency-cooking-stoves.html … Grace and Gratitude, an urban homestead in Norfolk http://fw.to/kSevPBG  ‘Hobbit house’ set to be knocked down http://bit.ly/1qttpPH  10 Gardening Myths Busted! http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/photos/0,,20815937,00.html … One for the honey: Beekeeping frame storage – IKEA...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Loving LA and Gardening

...013/08/tiny-gardens-in-greenwich-village.html?utm_source=feedly … I love LA Christopher Nyerges loves LA: http://christophernyerges.blogspot.com/2013/08/to-love-la.html … 10 Things To Get Over About Los Angeles And 10 Things It Will Teach You To Love http://www.buzzfeed.com/iang18/10-things-to-get-over-about-los-angeles-and-10-thi-eg04 … Los Angeles: A History of the Future: http://issuu.com/metroeco/docs/lahof … For these links and more, follow...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Roach Racing, Bedding the Farmer and Eating Like Goats

Vintage ad for cockroach racing set: http://boingboing.net/2013/04/16/vintage-ad-for-cockroach-racin.html … It’s raining, it’s pouring, it’s a good time for a site assessment… http://ow.ly/1VjdSq Bedding the Farmer: At Greenmarkets, Lust Blooms Among the Rutabagas http://observer.com/?p=296706  Saint Hildegard’s Cookies of Joy http://thetanglednest.com/2013/04/saint-hildegards-cookies/ … Sun Hives: pollination and...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Independence Day Weekend Edition

Fireless cooker via Low Tech Magazine. We insulate our houses, why not our cooking pots? http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2014/07/cooking-pot-insulation-key-to-sustainable-cooking.html … GIF Gardens: How to (Easily) Animate Your Plant Photos http://disq.us/8j1m1y Never Buy A Rotten Avocado Again http://www.nwedible.com/2012/05/never-buy-a-rotten-avocado-again.html … Why Do We Refrigerate Eggs in the United States? http://www.kcet.org/living/food/t...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Expensive Grapes, Martha Stewart’s Drones and Sunscreen

Some very expensive grapes. Top-notch Japanese grapes fetch a record $5,400: http://disq.us/8j5pz8 Martha Stewart digs drones via http://boingboing.net/2014/07/10/martha-stewart-digs-drones.html … Lead abatement, a wise economic and public health investment http://www.riskscience.umich.edu/lead-abatement-wise-economic-public-health-investment-report-finds/ … Can using sunscreen increase your risk of dying? http://www.riskscience.umich.edu/can-us...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: I’m tired of doom, let’s garden and make things . . .

...er-et-al/ … Small batch artisanal high-fructose corn syrup: http://boingboing.net/2013/05/30/small-batch-artisanal-high-fru.html … Nolita’s Little Free Library http://www.stereotank.com/Little-Free-Library … Fitness Is It Better to Walk or Run? http://ow.ly/lyt12 Activate Demand Home Depot, Lowe’s stop selling bee-killing poisons. Click to take action: http://bit.ly/13mU9GQ Help the EFF save podcasting from a patent troll: http://b...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: A Log Lounge, Tiny Apartments and Poop Scrubbing People

Log chair via Decor Hacks. DIY Log Lounge Chair http://decorhacks.com/2013/05/log-lounge-chair/ … Luxury trash Chandelier http://www.recyclart.org/2013/05/luxury-trash/ … Tiny Apartments Freedom Rooms: Micro Apartments Designed by Prisoners | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/freedom-rooms-micro-apartments-designed-by-prisoners/ … Manhattan shoebox apartment: a 78-square-foot mini studio http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013...

Continue reading…