Saturday Linkages: Crimean Ovens, Ikea Distillery and Pallet Wood

Crimean oven. Image: No Tech Magazine. Crimean Ovens http://bit.ly/1kvPJrr The brand that dares not speak its name | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/03/the-brand-that-dares-not-speak-its-name.html … Ikea distillery design – IKEA Hackers http://po.st/s3JdPL  Pallet Wood Kitchen Cabinets http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/pallet-wood-kitchen-cabinets/ … Bees in Danger: California DFA Plans Pesticide Application in Carpinteria, Summer...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Comfrey, a Parking Rock Star and Voracious Worms

Russian comfrey in flower. Image: Wikipedia. Does comfrey really improve soil? http://permaculturenews.org/2014/03/18/comfrey-really-improve-soil/ … Soviet Russia’s answer to the Monsanto house of the future: http://gizmodo.com/that-time-soviet-russia-built-a-house-entirely-out-of-p-1544925507/1544979348/+mattnovak/+mattnovak … No, your pot doesn’t come from enviromentally conscious hippies http://www.motherjones.com/environment/2014...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Goat Wars, Dinites and a Sanitary Pad Revolution

Newspaper issues correction concerning human-goat war: http://boingboing.net/2014/03/12/newspaper-issues-correction-co.html … How The Dunites created a secret utopia in the Oceano Dunes http://www.scpr.org/programs/take-two/2014/03/10/36375/how-the-dunites-created-a-secret-utopia-in-the-oce/ … Pay phone booth re-purposed as a tiny library – Unconsumption http://disq.us/8hkfz6  Avoiding pollution, drought’s evil twin http://chanceofrain.com/2014...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: The Usual Suspects–Goats, Bikes and Tiny Houses

3D printed slug trap. Via Modern Farmer. Small House Living Tiny Cabin With Fold-out Porches http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/05/tiny-cabin-with-fold-out-porches.html#.UZO74lkyivE.twitter … Spherical Tree Tents for Temporary & Permanent Dwelling | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/spherical-tree-tents-for-temporary-permanent-dwelling/ … Tokyo’s Tiniest Apartments are Like Expensive Little Closets | Designs & Idea...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Cheapskates and Controversy!

What happens when you Instagram airline food. Photo by John Walton. Cheapskates Three Friends Make An Attempt to ‘Live Below the Line’ http://thebillfold.com/2013/05/three-friends-make-an-attempt-to-live-below-the-line/ … How to make a cake pan banjo: http://boingboing.net/2013/05/10/how-to-make-a-cake-pan-banjo-u.html … Controversy Is Michael Pollan a sexist pig? http://www.salon.com/2013/04/28/is_michael_pollan_a_sexist_pig/ … In Defense of...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Of Granola and Turlets

Granola The New Granola http://nyti.ms/132CUM5 Coconut Quinoa Granola http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/coconut-quinoa-granola/ … Foraging Winter Purslane: http://dirttime.com/?p=2876 Potty Talk Hey, Science: Can You Eat Your Own Poop? – http://gawker.com/5985723/can-you-eat-your-own-poop … How to Install a Toilet | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/06/how-to-install-a-toilet/ … DIY Wax Seals: A History and How-To...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Whole Systems, Critters and the Most Beautiful Garden in the World

Art by Casey Cripe Casey Cripe’s “whole systems” collages and illustrations: http://boingboing.net/2013/02/27/casey-cripes-whole-systems.html … Turn Down the City Lights and Make Streets Safer http://bloom.bg/XuXeCi  Coping with Critters http://www.motherearthnews.com/Modern-Homesteading/Protect-Your-Home-From-Critters.aspx … Is Antibacterial Soap Bad For You? (Part 1) http://shar.es/jrPgV  Jeffrey Bale’s World of Gardens...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Straw Bales and Bike Hacks

Photo by Tracy Walsh/Poser Design Gardening Straw bale gardening in the New York Times: http://nyti.ms/10kt1Hf DIY How to fix a bicycle tube http://www.afrigadget.com/2013/02/22/how-to-fix-a-bicycle-tube/ … Bike headlight displays speed: http://boingboing.net/2013/03/20/bike-headlight-displays-speed.html Build-It-Solar Blog: A Inexpensive DIY Blower Door http://www.builditsolarblog.com/2013/02/a-inexpensive-diy-blower-door-that.html?spref=tw …...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Lemon Peels, Shrub, Duct Tape and the Art of Relaxing

Air dried lemon peels from Food in Jars. Preservin’ Air-Dried Lemon Peel http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/air-dried-lemon-peel/ … Drinking Vinegars: The Other Kind of Shrub | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/02/drinking-vinegars-the-other-kind-of-shrub.html … EDC Solutions for the Everyday Carry of Duct Tape | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/14/solutions-for-the-everyday-carry-of-duct-tape/ … Relax! Relax!...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Let’s Make Chickens Legal in Pasadena!

Let’s really make backyard hens legal in Pasadena CA!  Gardening Preventing the heartbreak of splayage: http://ow.ly/1RN6pB Uli Westphal’s Ripening Tomatoes http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/01/uli-westphals-ripening-tomatoes.html#.UQxX3qqq5vY.twitter … The Wild, the Domesticated, and the Coyote-Tainted http://j.mp/14EAlz6  Design Tiny Apartment in Soho/Insanely Well Designed http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/01/t...

Continue reading…