Saturday Linkages: Crimean Ovens, Ikea Distillery and Pallet Wood

Crimean oven. Image: No Tech Magazine. Crimean Ovens http://bit.ly/1kvPJrr The brand that dares not speak its name | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/03/the-brand-that-dares-not-speak-its-name.html … Ikea distillery design – IKEA Hackers http://po.st/s3JdPL  Pallet Wood Kitchen Cabinets http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/pallet-wood-kitchen-cabinets/ … Bees in Danger: California DFA Plans Pesticide Application in Carpinteria, Summer...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sidewalk Koi, Papercrete, Jaywalking and How to Grow Fresh Air

Wendy Tremayne and Mikey Sklar’s papercrete masterpiece. Interventions Sidewalk Koi http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/08/sidewalk-koi.html … Worker sent to remove graffiti finds image of himself on the same wall hours later http://fw.to/wOjTzDJ Let’s Build A Traditional City (And Make A Profit) http://www.andrewalexanderprice.com/blog20130330.php … Building Tiny Tea House on Wheels http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Comfrey, a Parking Rock Star and Voracious Worms

...your pot doesn’t come from enviromentally conscious hippies http://www.motherjones.com/environment/2014/03/marijuana-weed-pot-farming-environmental-impacts … Voracious Worm Evolves to Eat Biotech Corn Engineered to Kill It – Wired Science http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2014/03/rootworm-resistance-bt-corn/ … Adapting to Climate by Being a Nomad within your own House http://feedly.com/e/M3JFioqL  Rock Star or Comedian? Donald Shoup T...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Soils, Prickly Pear and the Case for Going Outside

Soil diagram from the Garden Professors. Let’s get (soil) physical… https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=943 … The Science Behind Honey’s Eternal Shelf Life http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/science/2013/08/the-science-behind-honeys-eternal-shelf-life/#.Uh0YB1lfCUw.twitter … Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/21/open-tech-forever-permacultur.html …...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Loving LA and Gardening

...013/08/tiny-gardens-in-greenwich-village.html?utm_source=feedly … I love LA Christopher Nyerges loves LA: http://christophernyerges.blogspot.com/2013/08/to-love-la.html … 10 Things To Get Over About Los Angeles And 10 Things It Will Teach You To Love http://www.buzzfeed.com/iang18/10-things-to-get-over-about-los-angeles-and-10-thi-eg04 … Los Angeles: A History of the Future: http://issuu.com/metroeco/docs/lahof … For these links and more, follow...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html … Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ … DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/ An Open Source Commu...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Finally, A Use for Palm Fronds

...QlAB7vJcM.twitter … Decorated Mud Houses of Tiébélé, Burkina Faso http://www.amusingplanet.com/2013/01/decorated-mud-houses-of-tiebele-burkina.html … Fail! Cycling So Popular in Georgia That Lawmaker Carl Rogers Wants to Ban It http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/10/07/cycling-so-popular-in-georgia-that-lawmaker-carl-rogers-wants-to-ban-it/ … Some Online Journals Will Publish Fake Science, For A Fee http://n.pr/18UlKA5 Threat of Death Makes People Go...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Speedos, Blue Eggs and the Rise of Rye

A rancher of the future according to the 1981 children’s book Tomorrow’s Home. Trojan Horses, Recipes, and Permaculture http://www.patternliteracy.com/770-trojan-horses-recipes-and-permaculture … How bad for the environment are gas-powered leaf blowers? http://wapo.st/14bgqIQ  In Pursuit of Tastier Chickens, a Strict Diet of Four-Star Scraps http://nyti.ms/15yN8EY  Rye’s Rise: New Loaves That Are More Than a Vehicle for Pastrami http...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Stealth, Mules and Opiates

...fferent-nomadic-lifestyle-of.html … Restaurants in China spike meals with opiates to keep diners coming back? http://barfblog.com/2013/10/restaurants-in-china-spike-meals-with-opiates-to-keep-diners-coming-back/ … Okay, Then, It’s a “War on Cars” http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/okay-fine-its-war/Content?oid=9937449 … For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: Follow @rootsimple...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Poultry Shaming, Horse Treadmills and Garden Snark

Image: Thirdroar. Poultry shaming: http://www.thirdroar.com/journal/2014/2/24/public-poultry-shaming.html … Russian Man Uses Horse Treadmill to Power Log Splitter http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/russian-man-uses-horse-treadmill-to-power-chainsaw-1532466975 … Garden Variety SNARK | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/02/garden-variety-snark.html … Pison eu, Colon grossum! http://wp.me/p4bjRl-5V  Reviving forgotten recipes: http://www.thesmartse...

Continue reading…