Saturday Linkages: A Log Lounge, Tiny Apartments and Poop Scrubbing People

...tments-designed-by-prisoners/ … Manhattan shoebox apartment: a 78-square-foot mini studio http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/05/manhattan-shoebox-apartment-78-square.html#.UZzSuJnl-0s.twitter … Questioning 3d Printing 3D Printing in the Home: Fad, Fantasy, or the Future? : TreeHugger http://www.treehugger.com/gadgets/3d-printing-in-home-fad-fantasy-future.html … Bad Ideas The National Automated Highway System That Almost Was http://blo...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: The Usual Suspects–Goats, Bikes and Tiny Houses

3D printed slug trap. Via Modern Farmer. Small House Living Tiny Cabin With Fold-out Porches http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/05/tiny-cabin-with-fold-out-porches.html#.UZO74lkyivE.twitter … Spherical Tree Tents for Temporary & Permanent Dwelling | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/spherical-tree-tents-for-temporary-permanent-dwelling/ … Tokyo’s Tiniest Apartments are Like Expensive Little Closets | Designs & Idea...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Cheapskates and Controversy!

What happens when you Instagram airline food. Photo by John Walton. Cheapskates Three Friends Make An Attempt to ‘Live Below the Line’ http://thebillfold.com/2013/05/three-friends-make-an-attempt-to-live-below-the-line/ … How to make a cake pan banjo: http://boingboing.net/2013/05/10/how-to-make-a-cake-pan-banjo-u.html … Controversy Is Michael Pollan a sexist pig? http://www.salon.com/2013/04/28/is_michael_pollan_a_sexist_pig/ … In Defense of...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: $1 Homes, Compost Heated Showers and Potty Talk

3573 Lincoln St.in Gary, Indiana. Yours for $1. Home Sweet Home Gary Indiana unveils Dollar Home Program: http://bit.ly/19HD517  Gardening Pipe planters http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/pipe-planters/ … Mariposa Nabi Community Garden features this alter via @GlenDake http://pinterest.com/pin/306667055846811135/ … DIY IKEA Hackers: New life for Old Poang! http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/06 13 Ways To Turn Your Outdated ’90s Tech Into Truly Usa...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Artisinal DIY

Looks like the use of the word “artisinal” peaked–back in the 1990s! Artisinal Everything Artisanal Won’t Die – Jen Doll – The Atlantic Wire http://www.theatlanticwire.com/national/2013/04/artisanal-wont-die/63840/ … DIY! Make a Teardrop Camper Trailer: http://blog.makezine.com/projects/teardrop-camper-trailer/ … Backyard Bioshelter http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/backyard-bioshelter/ … Shed of the Year 2...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Balloon Jumping, Front Yard Graves and a Poo Themed Restaurant

What If There Was No Landscaping? http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/09/what-if-there-was-no-landscaping.html … Make Your Own $35 Straw Mattress http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/make-your-own-35-straw-mattress.html … How to solder: http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_mfaire.php  Outrageously Themed Magic Restroom Cafe Soft Opens, Serving “Golden Poop” Rice http://eater.cc/1fxFy2N  ORDNING stainless steel breadbox to modern mail...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sink Urinals!

...ash-hands/ … Adding fuel to the fire The Exaggerated Benefits of Electric Cars http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/01/the-exaggerated-benefits-of-electric-cars/#.UdyjXdg39C8.twitter … Car Ownership May Be Down in the U.S., But It’s Soaring Globally http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/05/car-ownership-may-be-down-in-the-u-s-but-its-soaring-globally/#.Udyi4jX2O2g.twitter … Hollywood–blocking bike lanes yet again: http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/0...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Of Tiny Shops and Margarita Dermatitis

....org/the-challenge.html Stuff to worry about With 2 Weeks’ Worth Of Trans Fat, Long John Silver’s ‘Big Catch’ Dubbed Worst Restaurant Meal http://wp.me/p2L7Ik-GvOF  Four paralyzed after herb mix-up in Italy: http://barfblog.com/2013/06/4-paralyzed-after-herb-mix-up-in-italy/ … Royal Mail warns Shropshire man over ‘aggressive’ raspberry bush | http://metro.co.uk/2013/06/28/postmen-refuse-to-deliver-mail-to-shro...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Tables, Ride Shares and Hot to Grill

Coffee table made with pallet: http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/coffee-table-made-with-pallet/ … Sorry Uber, Los Angeles Has Been Banning Ride-Shares For a Century http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/sorry-uber-los-angeles-has-been-banning-ride-shares-fo-574851806 … Metro threatens Phantom Planter with arrest if he tends his DuPont Circle station flowers http://wapo.st/14pF8Ts The Three Zone Fire: How to Grill Perfect Meat | The Art of Manliness htt...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Insect Hotels, Edwardian Hipsters and Biomorphic Light Fixtures

DIY insect hotel spotted on the ever amazing Lloyd’s Blog. Insect Hotels http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/insect-hotels.html#.UcEUtDWXvN0.twitter … Good Yard or Bad Yard? Garden Design Pitfalls | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/06/good-yard-or-bad-yard-garden-design-pitfalls-2.html … Q & A – Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/1844StH Edwardian stunt bikers – in pictures http://gu.com/p/3ggde/tw  Intera...

Continue reading…