Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html … Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ … DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/ An Open Source Commu...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Speedos, Blue Eggs and the Rise of Rye

A rancher of the future according to the 1981 children’s book Tomorrow’s Home. Trojan Horses, Recipes, and Permaculture http://www.patternliteracy.com/770-trojan-horses-recipes-and-permaculture … How bad for the environment are gas-powered leaf blowers? http://wapo.st/14bgqIQ  In Pursuit of Tastier Chickens, a Strict Diet of Four-Star Scraps http://nyti.ms/15yN8EY  Rye’s Rise: New Loaves That Are More Than a Vehicle for Pastrami http...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Independence Day Weekend Edition

Fireless cooker via Low Tech Magazine. We insulate our houses, why not our cooking pots? http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2014/07/cooking-pot-insulation-key-to-sustainable-cooking.html … GIF Gardens: How to (Easily) Animate Your Plant Photos http://disq.us/8j1m1y Never Buy A Rotten Avocado Again http://www.nwedible.com/2012/05/never-buy-a-rotten-avocado-again.html … Why Do We Refrigerate Eggs in the United States? http://www.kcet.org/living/food/t...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Yet More Potty Talk

...lmonella-in-lap-chickens/ … Food Issues Cylindrical, quivering, gelatinous, tinned 12-course meal – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/08/04/cylindrical-quivering-gelati.html … What if gluten-phobes are eliminating the wrong thing? The Grain of Truth http://www.modernluxury.com/san-francisco/story/the-grain-of-truth … Tokyo’s “unmanned stores” – honor-system sheds where farmers to sell their surplus produce: htt...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sidewalk Koi, Papercrete, Jaywalking and How to Grow Fresh Air

Wendy Tremayne and Mikey Sklar’s papercrete masterpiece. Interventions Sidewalk Koi http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/08/sidewalk-koi.html … Worker sent to remove graffiti finds image of himself on the same wall hours later http://fw.to/wOjTzDJ Let’s Build A Traditional City (And Make A Profit) http://www.andrewalexanderprice.com/blog20130330.php … Building Tiny Tea House on Wheels http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Insect Hotels, Edwardian Hipsters and Biomorphic Light Fixtures

DIY insect hotel spotted on the ever amazing Lloyd’s Blog. Insect Hotels http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/insect-hotels.html#.UcEUtDWXvN0.twitter … Good Yard or Bad Yard? Garden Design Pitfalls | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/06/good-yard-or-bad-yard-garden-design-pitfalls-2.html … Q & A – Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/1844StH Edwardian stunt bikers – in pictures http://gu.com/p/3ggde/tw  Intera...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Artisinal DIY

Looks like the use of the word “artisinal” peaked–back in the 1990s! Artisinal Everything Artisanal Won’t Die – Jen Doll – The Atlantic Wire http://www.theatlanticwire.com/national/2013/04/artisanal-wont-die/63840/ … DIY! Make a Teardrop Camper Trailer: http://blog.makezine.com/projects/teardrop-camper-trailer/ … Backyard Bioshelter http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/backyard-bioshelter/ … Shed of the Year 2...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: $1 Homes, Compost Heated Showers and Potty Talk

...New life for Old Poang! http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/06 13 Ways To Turn Your Outdated ’90s Tech Into Truly Usable Things http://www.buzzfeed.com/leonoraepstein/13-ways-to-turn-your-outdated-90s-tech-into-truly-usable-thi … The Good Life Lab: A modern manual for living off-the-grid: http://boingboing.net/2013/06/04/the-good-life-lab-a-modern-ma.html … Compost Heated Shower http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/compost-heated-shower.html...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: I’m tired of doom, let’s garden and make things . . .

Onesmus Mwangi’s homemade helicopter. Gardens Thomas Rainer’s amazing garden http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/05/pleasure-garden.html?spref=tw … Container planting: intuition vs. reality: http://ow.ly/1WWQXg Praise for Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/ZekBDm DIY Small Batch Strawberry Rhubarb Jam + Rhubarb Recipes from the Archives http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/05/small-batch-strawberry-rhubarb-jam-rhuba...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Tables, Ride Shares and Hot to Grill

Coffee table made with pallet: http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/coffee-table-made-with-pallet/ … Sorry Uber, Los Angeles Has Been Banning Ride-Shares For a Century http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/sorry-uber-los-angeles-has-been-banning-ride-shares-fo-574851806 … Metro threatens Phantom Planter with arrest if he tends his DuPont Circle station flowers http://wapo.st/14pF8Ts The Three Zone Fire: How to Grill Perfect Meat | The Art of Manliness htt...

Continue reading…