Saturday Linkages: Invaders, Sick Chickens and Adaptive Reuse

Armadillo invaders! More Foreign Invaders: Possums on the Half Shell | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/07/more-foreign-invaders-possums-on-the-half-shell.html … Water rationing for farmers? It’s on the horizon http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2494  When To Isolate A Sick Chicken | HenCam http://hencam.com/henblog/2014/08/when-to-isolate-a-sick-chicken/ … via @terrygolson Can Edible Gardening Reduce Deforestation? – http://go.shr.lc/...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Bike Racks, Sugary Drinks and . . . CATS!!!!

...ail.cfm?postnum=14897  … Architecture meets horses–ACE Center builds an environment for learning at Taking the Reins http:// fw.to/gWD9U4E   Setting the Record Straight on the Legality of Seed Libraries (via @Shareable ) http://www. shareable.net/blog/setting-t he-record-straight-on-the-legality-of-seed-libraries  … DIY Hidden Cat Ladder: http://www. hauspanther.com/2014/08/08/diy -hidden-cat-ladder/  … Vintage viral cat photo: http://...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Of Tiny Shops and Margarita Dermatitis

...o make a ferrocement raised bed: http://www.ruralize.com/Genes  Projects/ferrocement/ferrocement garden bed.html The Agony and the Ecstasy of Gardening with Children: http://www.nwedible.com/2013/06/the-agony-and-the-ecstasy-of-gardening-with-children.html … Live light Join the Aussies in a Plastic-Free July: http://www.plasticfreejuly.org/the-challenge.html Stuff to worry about With 2 Weeks’ Worth Of Trans Fat, Long John Silver’s &#...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sink Urinals!

.../07/because-guys-need-better-ways-to-piss-sink-urinal-saves-water-encourages-men-to-wash-hands/ … Adding fuel to the fire The Exaggerated Benefits of Electric Cars http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/01/the-exaggerated-benefits-of-electric-cars/#.UdyjXdg39C8.twitter … Car Ownership May Be Down in the U.S., But It’s Soaring Globally http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/07/05/car-ownership-may-be-down-in-the-u-s-but-its-soaring-globally/#.Udyi4jX2O2g.twit...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Tables, Ride Shares and Hot to Grill

...Metro threatens Phantom Planter with arrest if he tends his DuPont Circle station flowers http://wapo.st/14pF8Ts The Three Zone Fire: How to Grill Perfect Meat | The Art of Manliness http://www.artofmanliness.com/2013/06/26/summer-grilling-week-the-3-zone-fire-video/ … Protect power cords from cable-gnawing cats: http://boingboing.net/2013/06/26/protect-power-cords-from-cable.html … For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: Follow...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Insect Hotels, Edwardian Hipsters and Biomorphic Light Fixtures

DIY insect hotel spotted on the ever amazing Lloyd’s Blog. Insect Hotels http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/06/insect-hotels.html#.UcEUtDWXvN0.twitter … Good Yard or Bad Yard? Garden Design Pitfalls | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/06/good-yard-or-bad-yard-garden-design-pitfalls-2.html … Q & A – Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/1844StH Edwardian stunt bikers – in pictures http://gu.com...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Artisinal DIY

Looks like the use of the word “artisinal” peaked–back in the 1990s! Artisinal Everything Artisanal Won’t Die – Jen Doll – The Atlantic Wire http://www.theatlanticwire.com/national/2013/04/artisanal-wont-die/63840/ … DIY! Make a Teardrop Camper Trailer: http://blog.makezine.com/projects/teardrop-camper-trailer/ … Backyard Bioshelter http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/backyard-bioshelter/ …...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Goats, Chainsaws and a Big Blue Rooster

...r/lloydkahn/~3/BGY9jmWITPc/bike-trailers.html … 11 things it took me 42 years to learn http://bit.ly/1175KcM See the Documentary “Wonder: The Lives of Anna and Harlan Hubbard” if You Can by Allen Bush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/see-the-documentary-wonder-the-lives-of-anna-and-harlan-hubbard-if-you-can.html?utm_source=feedly … Crafty Crafting with cat hair: no, I’m not making this up  The Redventure Romp Cocktail by Amy Stewart http://ga...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sidewalk Koi, Papercrete, Jaywalking and How to Grow Fresh Air

...s http://tinyhouseblog.com/construction-articles/straatlokaal-dumpster-structures/ … Building with Papercrete at the Good Life Lab : http://wp.me/p22K2I-1mgi  Straw Bale Dome Home in France http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/straw-bale-dome-home-in-france/ … Do-it-yourself Pole-barn Building http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/do-it-yourself-pole-barn-building/ … Fitness Healthy Design: 3 Core Engaging Chairs http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/three...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Loving LA and Gardening

...ID=944 … Mulch Addiction http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/08/mulch-addiction.html … Intermingling and the Aesthetics of Ecology http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/08/intermingling-and-aesthetics-of-ecology.html … Heritage Agri-tourism as a Strategy for Promoting the Recovery of Heirloom Vegetables, Grains, Fruits http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2240  Tiny Gardens in Greenwich Village by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013...

Continue reading…