Saturday Linkages: Gardening, Rocket Heaters and DIY Tips

Forgot your reading glasses? No problem. Tip via Popular Mechanics. A Garden Cannot be Designed http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/11/a-garden-cannot-be-designed.html … Seeds on seeds on seeds: Why more biodiversity means more food security http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2347  Lawn Pesticides Outlawed! by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/11/lawn-pesticides-out-lawed.html?utm_source=feedly … Chelle Lindahl’s rocket mass heater h...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Lemon Peels, Shrub, Duct Tape and the Art of Relaxing

Air dried lemon peels from Food in Jars. Preservin’ Air-Dried Lemon Peel http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/02/air-dried-lemon-peel/ … Drinking Vinegars: The Other Kind of Shrub | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/02/drinking-vinegars-the-other-kind-of-shrub.html … EDC Solutions for the Everyday Carry of Duct Tape | The Art of Manliness http://artofmanliness.com/2013/02/14/solutions-for-the-everyday-carry-of-duct-tape/ … Relax! Relax!...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Killer Bees, Bikes and Cold Coffee

Low tech bike shift lever via No Tech Magazine. Low-tech Bike Shift Lever http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/low-tech-bike-shift-lever.html … Before The Age of Automobiles, Cyclists Fought For Better Roads http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/before-the-age-of-automobiles-cyclists-fought-for-bett-1450090817 … Stop Trying to Make Killer Bees Happen http://shar.es/IqK8T  Designing Urban Agriculture: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2013/10/27/designing-urb...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Balloon Jumping, Front Yard Graves and a Poo Themed Restaurant

What If There Was No Landscaping? http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/09/what-if-there-was-no-landscaping.html … Make Your Own $35 Straw Mattress http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/make-your-own-35-straw-mattress.html … How to solder: http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_mfaire.php  Outrageously Themed Magic Restroom Cafe Soft Opens, Serving “Golden Poop” Rice http://eater.cc/1fxFy2N  ORDNING stainless steel breadbox to modern mail...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Finally, A Use for Palm Fronds

...QlAB7vJcM.twitter … Decorated Mud Houses of Tiébélé, Burkina Faso http://www.amusingplanet.com/2013/01/decorated-mud-houses-of-tiebele-burkina.html … Fail! Cycling So Popular in Georgia That Lawmaker Carl Rogers Wants to Ban It http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/10/07/cycling-so-popular-in-georgia-that-lawmaker-carl-rogers-wants-to-ban-it/ … Some Online Journals Will Publish Fake Science, For A Fee http://n.pr/18UlKA5 Threat of Death Makes People Go...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html … Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ … DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/ An Open Source Commu...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Stealth, Mules and Opiates

...fferent-nomadic-lifestyle-of.html … Restaurants in China spike meals with opiates to keep diners coming back? http://barfblog.com/2013/10/restaurants-in-china-spike-meals-with-opiates-to-keep-diners-coming-back/ … Okay, Then, It’s a “War on Cars” http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/okay-fine-its-war/Content?oid=9937449 … For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: Follow @rootsimple...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Loving LA and Gardening

...013/08/tiny-gardens-in-greenwich-village.html?utm_source=feedly … I love LA Christopher Nyerges loves LA: http://christophernyerges.blogspot.com/2013/08/to-love-la.html … 10 Things To Get Over About Los Angeles And 10 Things It Will Teach You To Love http://www.buzzfeed.com/iang18/10-things-to-get-over-about-los-angeles-and-10-thi-eg04 … Los Angeles: A History of the Future: http://issuu.com/metroeco/docs/lahof … For these links and more, follow...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Soils, Prickly Pear and the Case for Going Outside

Soil diagram from the Garden Professors. Let’s get (soil) physical… https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=943 … The Science Behind Honey’s Eternal Shelf Life http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/science/2013/08/the-science-behind-honeys-eternal-shelf-life/#.Uh0YB1lfCUw.twitter … Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/21/open-tech-forever-permacultur.html …...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Controversy Edition

Gardening Homegrown polenta? Floriani corn plants deliver ‘amazing flavor’ http://fw.to/2ju3QtE The High Line in Person by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/the-high-line-in-person.html?utm_source=feedly … Knocked Out—and not in a good way by James Roush http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/knocked-out-and-not-in-a-good-way.html?utm_source=feedly … Hackin’ Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboin...

Continue reading…