Saturday Linkages: $1 Homes, Compost Heated Showers and Potty Talk

3573 Lincoln St.in Gary, Indiana. Yours for $1. Home Sweet Home Gary Indiana unveils Dollar Home Program: http://bit.ly/19HD517  Gardening Pipe planters http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/pipe-planters/ … Mariposa Nabi Community Garden features this alter via @GlenDake http://pinterest.com/pin/306667055846811135/ … DIY IKEA Hackers: New life for Old Poang! http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/06 13 Ways To Turn Your Outdated ’90s...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: I’m tired of doom, let’s garden and make things . . .

Onesmus Mwangi’s homemade helicopter. Gardens Thomas Rainer’s amazing garden http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/05/pleasure-garden.html?spref=tw … Container planting: intuition vs. reality: http://ow.ly/1WWQXg Praise for Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/ZekBDm DIY Small Batch Strawberry Rhubarb Jam + Rhubarb Recipes from the Archives http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/05/small-batch-strawberr...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: A Log Lounge, Tiny Apartments and Poop Scrubbing People

Log chair via Decor Hacks. DIY Log Lounge Chair http://decorhacks.com/2013/05/log-lounge-chair/ … Luxury trash Chandelier http://www.recyclart.org/2013/05/luxury-trash/ … Tiny Apartments Freedom Rooms: Micro Apartments Designed by Prisoners | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/freedom-rooms-micro-apartments-designed-by-prisoners/ … Manhattan shoebox apartment: a 78-square-foot mini studio http://lloydkahn-ongoin...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Ducks, Bikes and Body Care

Bare-chested Russian orders ducks to attention, marches them into barn http:// boingboing.net/2014/08/05/bar e-chested-russian-orders-du.html  … Journey Around Copenhagen’s Latest Bicycle Innovations! http://www. streetfilms.org/journey-around -copenhagens-latest-bicycle-innovations/#.U-FrZgGAlcY.twitter  … This is exactly why we make our own body care products: http:// tinyurl.com/mp3bmov The Flying Tortoise: The P-Tree. For When He’s...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Tables, Ride Shares and Hot to Grill

Coffee table made with pallet: http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/coffee-table-made-with-pallet/ … Sorry Uber, Los Angeles Has Been Banning Ride-Shares For a Century http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/sorry-uber-los-angeles-has-been-banning-ride-shares-fo-574851806 … Metro threatens Phantom Planter with arrest if he tends his DuPont Circle station flowers http://wapo.st/14pF8Ts The Three Zone Fire: How to Grill Perfect Meat | The A...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Killer Bees, Bikes and Cold Coffee

Low tech bike shift lever via No Tech Magazine. Low-tech Bike Shift Lever http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/low-tech-bike-shift-lever.html … Before The Age of Automobiles, Cyclists Fought For Better Roads http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/before-the-age-of-automobiles-cyclists-fought-for-bett-1450090817 … Stop Trying to Make Killer Bees Happen http://shar.es/IqK8T  Designing Urban Agriculture: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2013/...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Bike Racks, Sugary Drinks and . . . CATS!!!!

Krokig £3 bike rack – IKEA Hackers http:// po.st/5YbBHS   One-Day Protected Bike Lane Demos Have Swept America this Summer http:// usa.streetsblog.org/2014/08/14/one -day-protected-bike-lane-demos-have-swept-america-this-summer/#.U-1h4kOtPDc.twitter  … Sugary drinks are hiding under a ‘health halo’ http:// ucanr.edu/blogs/blogcore /postdetail.cfm?postnum=14897  … Architecture meets horses–ACE Center...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Invaders, Sick Chickens and Adaptive Reuse

Armadillo invaders! More Foreign Invaders: Possums on the Half Shell | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2014/07/more-foreign-invaders-possums-on-the-half-shell.html … Water rationing for farmers? It’s on the horizon http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2494  When To Isolate A Sick Chicken | HenCam http://hencam.com/henblog/2014/08/when-to-isolate-a-sick-chicken/ … via @terrygolson Can Edible Gardening Reduce Deforestation? – http://go.shr.lc/...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sink Urinals!

Sink urinal from Latvian designer Kaspars Jursons. Gardening Toronto Gardens: Idea File: Matt Gil’s garden works with the constr… http://torontogardens.blogspot.com/2013/07/idea-file-matt-gils-garden-works-with.html?spref=tw … Brace yourself: remove staking from trees! https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=938 … Metro rips out Phantom Planter’s flowers at Dupont Circle stat...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Of Tiny Shops and Margarita Dermatitis

The smallest shop in London. Gardening How to make a ferrocement raised bed: http://www.ruralize.com/Genes  Projects/ferrocement/ferrocement garden bed.html The Agony and the Ecstasy of Gardening with Children: http://www.nwedible.com/2013/06/the-agony-and-the-ecstasy-of-gardening-with-children.html … Live light Join the Aussies in a Plastic-Free July: http://www.plasticfreejuly.org/the-challenge.html Stuff to worry about Wi...

Continue reading…