Saturday Linkages: Artisinal DIY

Looks like the use of the word “artisinal” peaked–back in the 1990s! Artisinal Everything Artisanal Won’t Die – Jen Doll – The Atlantic Wire http://www.theatlanticwire.com/national/2013/04/artisanal-wont-die/63840/ … DIY! Make a Teardrop Camper Trailer: http://blog.makezine.com/projects/teardrop-camper-trailer/ … Backyard Bioshelter http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/backyard-bioshelter/ …...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: $1 Homes, Compost Heated Showers and Potty Talk

3573 Lincoln St.in Gary, Indiana. Yours for $1. Home Sweet Home Gary Indiana unveils Dollar Home Program: http://bit.ly/19HD517  Gardening Pipe planters http://www.recyclart.org/2013/06/pipe-planters/ … Mariposa Nabi Community Garden features this alter via @GlenDake http://pinterest.com/pin/306667055846811135/ … DIY IKEA Hackers: New life for Old Poang! http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/06 13 Ways To Turn Your Outdated ’90s...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: A Log Lounge, Tiny Apartments and Poop Scrubbing People

Log chair via Decor Hacks. DIY Log Lounge Chair http://decorhacks.com/2013/05/log-lounge-chair/ … Luxury trash Chandelier http://www.recyclart.org/2013/05/luxury-trash/ … Tiny Apartments Freedom Rooms: Micro Apartments Designed by Prisoners | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/freedom-rooms-micro-apartments-designed-by-prisoners/ … Manhattan shoebox apartment: a 78-square-foot mini studio http://lloydkahn-ongoin...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: I’m tired of doom, let’s garden and make things . . .

Onesmus Mwangi’s homemade helicopter. Gardens Thomas Rainer’s amazing garden http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/05/pleasure-garden.html?spref=tw … Container planting: intuition vs. reality: http://ow.ly/1WWQXg Praise for Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land http://j.mp/ZekBDm DIY Small Batch Strawberry Rhubarb Jam + Rhubarb Recipes from the Archives http://www.foodinjars.com/2013/05/small-batch-strawberr...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Of Tiny Shops and Margarita Dermatitis

The smallest shop in London. Gardening How to make a ferrocement raised bed: http://www.ruralize.com/Genes  Projects/ferrocement/ferrocement garden bed.html The Agony and the Ecstasy of Gardening with Children: http://www.nwedible.com/2013/06/the-agony-and-the-ecstasy-of-gardening-with-children.html … Live light Join the Aussies in a Plastic-Free July: http://www.plasticfreejuly.org/the-challenge.html Stuff to worry about Wi...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Bike Racks, Sugary Drinks and . . . CATS!!!!

Krokig £3 bike rack – IKEA Hackers http:// po.st/5YbBHS   One-Day Protected Bike Lane Demos Have Swept America this Summer http:// usa.streetsblog.org/2014/08/14/one -day-protected-bike-lane-demos-have-swept-america-this-summer/#.U-1h4kOtPDc.twitter  … Sugary drinks are hiding under a ‘health halo’ http:// ucanr.edu/blogs/blogcore /postdetail.cfm?postnum=14897  … Architecture meets horses–ACE Center...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Cheese Powder and Torpedo Bikes

...-than-this-crowdfunde-1458308873 … Berlin workshop on “Unpleasant Design”: urban design that bullies it users: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/11/berlin-workshop-tomorrow-on.html … It’s Time to Rethink America’s Corn System http://ensia.com/voices/its-time-to-rethink-americas-corn-system/ … Cheese powder: What is it?: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/14/cheese-powder-what-is-it.html … My Vintage Apron Collection http://hencam.com/thevintag...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Sidewalk Koi, Papercrete, Jaywalking and How to Grow Fresh Air

Wendy Tremayne and Mikey Sklar’s papercrete masterpiece. Interventions Sidewalk Koi http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/08/sidewalk-koi.html … Worker sent to remove graffiti finds image of himself on the same wall hours later http://fw.to/wOjTzDJ Let’s Build A Traditional City (And Make A Profit) http://www.andrewalexanderprice.com/blog20130330.php … Building Tiny Tea House on Wheels http://feedproxy.google...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: The Usual Suspects–Goats, Bikes and Tiny Houses

3D printed slug trap. Via Modern Farmer. Small House Living Tiny Cabin With Fold-out Porches http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/05/tiny-cabin-with-fold-out-porches.html#.UZO74lkyivE.twitter … Spherical Tree Tents for Temporary & Permanent Dwelling | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/spherical-tree-tents-for-temporary-permanent-dwelling/ … Tokyo’s Tiniest Apartments are Like Expensive Little Closets |...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Ducks, Bikes and Body Care

Bare-chested Russian orders ducks to attention, marches them into barn http:// boingboing.net/2014/08/05/bar e-chested-russian-orders-du.html  … Journey Around Copenhagen’s Latest Bicycle Innovations! http://www. streetfilms.org/journey-around -copenhagens-latest-bicycle-innovations/#.U-FrZgGAlcY.twitter  … This is exactly why we make our own body care products: http:// tinyurl.com/mp3bmov The Flying Tortoise: The P-Tree. For When He’s...

Continue reading…