Goat Worship: A Halloween Exclusive!

Dance with me in the witches’ grove! Bwah ha…ha…er…. Well, okay, if you’re not so into that, I’ll take an apple instead. This Saturday our friends Gloria Putnam and Steve Rudicel at the Mariposa Creamery in Altadena gave a free, two-hour class on the basics of goat keeping. I was there with bells on. I’ve always wanted goats. It was a wonderful afternoon–about forty “goat curious...

Continue reading…

Remember to Label Those Jars!

Label, label, label!” This was one of the most important lessons I learned in my Master Food Preserver training. You’ll note, from the jars above, that I’m not very good about this. When were those jars canned and what’s in them? I have no idea. They were probably the result of some late night canning frenzy two years ago. At the time I probably thought to myself, “I’ll label them in the morning.”...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: The Usual Suspects–Goats, Bikes and Tiny Houses

...013/05 DIY garden gear made with a 3d printer: http://modernfarmer.com/2013/05/diy-garden-gear-made-with-a-3d-printer/ … 3D Printed Track Bike http://www.dudecraft.com/2013/05/3d-printed-track-bike.html#.UZO-C2bKjeA.twitter … Goats, Just Goats Goats in the house: modernfarmer.com/2013/05/farmer-mistakes-goats-in-the-house/ … Moving Susan Orlean: The Power of Walking While Working http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2013/05/20/130520fa_fact_orlea...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Goats in Sweaters, Evil Gardeners and Cooking in the Dishwasher

Goats in sweaters! http://modernfarmer.com/2013/11/goats-sweaters/ … Transparent Cabin Built of Wood and Mirrors in California Desert http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/11/transparent-cabin-built-of-wood-and.html#.Upkc7Eg2Ius.twitter … Evil, Frivolous Gardener!!! | Garden Rant http://gardenrant.com/2013/11/evil-frivolous-gardener.html … No Queso-Dilla http://plantbasedonabudget.com/recipe/no-queso-dilla/ … Is there norovirus where you...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Goats, Chainsaws and a Big Blue Rooster

.../2013/07/artist-jay-nelsons-tiny-houseboat.html#.UfBzg3Afa-Q.twitter … Humanist bathroom tiny stuff holder http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Ikeahacker/~3/wKFLUf0kLNU/humanist-bathroom-tiny-stuff-holder.html … Livestock Put The Goats To Work? http://hencam.com/thevintagehen/2013/07/put-the-goats-to-work/ … How Long Do Chickens Live? | HenCam http://hencam.com/faq/2012/10/how-long-do-chickens-live-2/ … Woman fined for letting horse poop inside UK Mc...

Continue reading…

Looking for the Union Label

We’ve got a bad case of Ohrwurm, a German expression translated as “earworm” and used to describe a song stuck in your head. Our earworm came after a search for union made socks and underwear on the internets recalled a highly catchy ad jingle from the roller disco era, “Look for the Union Label” (youngsters can watch it on youtube here). We looked for the union label and we were surprised to find it via a company c...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Roach Racing, Bedding the Farmer and Eating Like Goats

...ednest.com/2013/04/saint-hildegards-cookies/ … Sun Hives: pollination and health before honey – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/04/15/sun-hives-pollination-and-hea.html … Genetically modifiying people to eat like goats: http://www.ediblegeography.com/cyborg-digestion/ … via @tomfurt For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: Follow @rootsimple...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Now With Catagories (and Skateboarding Goats)

Design Small Cabin Plans Online http:// lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/08/small- cabin-plans-online.html#.UCFFrqY1GF0.twitter  …   How-To: Crackle Paint Finish with Elmer’s Glue http:// blog.craftzine.com/archive/2012/0 8/how-to_crackle_paint_finish_wi.html  …  Flat pack live/work loft: http://www. spaceflavor.com/Cube_Prefabric ated_Home_Live_Work_Loft.html  … Events Are you pressure cooking, yet?!? Free San Francisco Bay demo...

Continue reading…