Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Roasting and That Crazy Rhubarb Lady

...Stairs http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/3_e0IccStLo/new-skateboard-can-go-down-stairs.html … Life in the city Urban Healers: http://urbanhealers.tumblr.com Clotheslines vs. HOAs: “Right to Dry” States http://bit.ly/13nMrPL The Ten Most Ambitious Failed Utopian Mass Transit Systems http://jalopnik.com/the-ten-most-ambitious-failed-utopian-mass-transit-syst-1135019271 … Making a Case to Phase Out “Beg Buttons” in Santa Monic...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Cheese Powder and Torpedo Bikes

Cheese powder anyone? Cheese powder: What is it?: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/14/cheese-powder-what-is-it.html … Heat Your Clothes, Not Your House http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-clothes-not-your-house.html … Heat Your Desk, Not Your Office http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-desk-not-your-office.html … Bog Butter: Storing Food in Soil http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/bog-butter-storing-food...

Continue reading…

Saturday Linkages: Balloon Jumping, Front Yard Graves and a Poo Themed Restaurant

What If There Was No Landscaping? http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/09/what-if-there-was-no-landscaping.html … Make Your Own $35 Straw Mattress http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/make-your-own-35-straw-mattress.html … How to solder: http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_mfaire.php  Outrageously Themed Magic Restroom Cafe Soft Opens, Serving “Golden Poop” Rice http://eater.cc/1fxFy2N  ORDNING stainless steel brea...

Continue reading…

Gourmet Foraging and Advanced Acorn Processing

...with white sage and dusted with dehydrated raspberry powder, plum membrillo and beer hopped with yarrow. We were there to learn about acorns, but they fed us well! Pascal and Mia are high caliber foragers and foodies.  Check out their sites, Urban Outdoor Skills and Transitional Gastronomy, and if you live in the Los Angeles area, you’ll definitely want to experience their forages and food workshops. Their Meetup groups are The Los Angeles...

Continue reading…

City of Angels Permaculture Academy Design Course Series

...arting up this October 5th and 6th. Kelly and I are planning to attend and we look forward to seeing some of you there. Here’s the 411: One weekend a month for 6 months. World-class education for less than $12 an hour! Discounts, Payment Plans and up to 50% Work-Trade Still Available You can drop in for one day- or for the whole series. Elegant Home and Gardens- DIY Design & Build Learn Urban Homesteading Skills Community Projects Star...

Continue reading…

Monday Linkages: The Blob, Urine Soaked Acorns

...Blob – An Unusual Micro-Home Encased in Storage http://humble-homes.com/blob-unusual-micro-home-encased-storage/ The Labyrinth Project, the beginning http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com/2013/09/the-labyrinth-project-beginning.html … Homesteading weirdness 1859: A native delicacy – acorns pickled in human urine http://shar.es/Kkb0q  How Japanese honeybees switch to ‘hot defensive bee ball’ mode when threatened http://www.globalpost.com...

Continue reading…

Black Widow or False Black Widow?

...black spider with red markings, be very, very afraid. That there is definitely a female black widow. But really, there’s no guarantees here that other less flashy spiders aren’t some kind of dangerous, either. This is not reassuring. But then on the handy page Frequently Encountered Spiders in California, I learned about the False black widow. Another European invasive, this spider seems to be displacing our native black widows in urb...

Continue reading…

Till vs. No-Till

...pading fork in moderately compacted soils. This is clearly a topic on which reasonable people can disagree, but the no-till folks seem to have the upper hand in terms of the science. As with all gardening problems, though, context is king. Environmental factors and economic issues (those expensive broadforks) intersect in our urban gardens in complex ways. You have to make up your own mind. I’d say if you’re going to double-dig do it...

Continue reading…

Root Simple and LA Bread Bakers at Artisinal LA

This Saturday Kelly and I will be joining a panel discussion on urban homesteading along with our good friends Craig Ruggless of Winnetka Farms and goat keepers and cheese makers Gloria Putnam and Stephen Rucidel. The panel will take place at Artisinal LA on Saturday April 16th at 2 pm in Santa Monica. I will also be taking part in a bread baking demo along with the LA Bread Bakers the same day at 1 pm. More information at artisinalla.com....

Continue reading…