Saturday Linkages: Goats, Chainsaws and a Big Blue Rooster

ku-xlarge

Mason Jar + Juice Carton = Resealable Dispenser

Inspiration
Bike Trailers http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/BGY9jmWITPc/bike-trailers.html …

11 things it took me 42 years to learn http://bit.ly/1175KcM

See the Documentary “Wonder: The Lives of Anna and Harlan Hubbard” if You Can by Allen Bush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/see-the-documentary-wonder-the-lives-of-anna-and-harlan-hubbard-if-you-can.html?utm_source=feedly …

Crafty
Crafting with cat hair: no, I’m not making this up 

The Redventure Romp Cocktail by Amy Stewart http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/the-redventure-romp-cocktail.html?utm_source=feedly …

Vinyl Record Lamps http://www.dudecraft.com/2013/07/vinyl-record-lamps.html …

Combine a Mason Jar and Juice Carton into a Resealable Dispenser http://lifehacker.com/combine-a-mason-jar-and-juice-carton-into-a-resealable-845153794 …

Artist Jay Nelson’s Tiny Houseboat http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/07/artist-jay-nelsons-tiny-houseboat.html#.UfBzg3Afa-Q.twitter …

Humanist bathroom tiny stuff holder http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Ikeahacker/~3/wKFLUf0kLNU/humanist-bathroom-tiny-stuff-holder.html …

Livestock
Put The Goats To Work? http://hencam.com/thevintagehen/2013/07/put-the-goats-to-work/ …

How Long Do Chickens Live? | HenCam http://hencam.com/faq/2012/10/how-long-do-chickens-live-2/ …

Woman fined for letting horse poop inside UK McDonald’s http://barfblog.com/2013/07/woman-fined-for-letting-horse-poop-inside-uk-mcdonalds/ …

Be careful out there . . .
Chainsaws — Can We Talk? http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/DWbMVDFUSEE/chainsaws-can-we-talk.html …

Home Canning Hobby Leads to Near-Fatal Medical Emergency http://bit.ly/12GguN0 

Big blue cock erected on fourth plinth in London’s Trafalgar Square http://gu.com/p/3hhpk/tw 

We’re all gonna die
Our Coming Food Crisis http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2163 

A fresh perspective on alleged pesto outbreak in Italy http://barfblog.com/2013/07/a-fresh-perspective-on-alleged-pesto-outbreak-in-italy/ …

The Blip http://nymag.com/news/features/economic-growth-2013-7/ …

Hens in the Orchard for Pest Control

hensinorchard

Photo: hencam.com

Author Terry Golson, who blogs at HenCam.com, sent along a great pest control tip in response to our thrip post–chickens, of course!

Chickens and orchards go together like gin and tonic. The hens take care of pests, clean up rotten fruit, add nitrogen to the soil and the canopy of the orchard protects the hens from hawks and heat. Plus you get eggs and meat. Permaculture in action.

The 1920s era photo you see above comes from one of Terry’s posts, Chickens in Orchards.

Planetwalker John Francis

Planetwalker John Francis

Check out this interview in Grist with Dr. John Francis, the man who not only did not own a car, but opted to not ride in motorized vehicles at all for twenty-two years–and spent seventeen of those years in silence. He crossed America on foot, completed two college degrees in silence, and became an ambassador for the U.N.

You may have heard of him already–his story made the rounds years ago–but if you haven’t heard the details, haven’t heard him describe why he made the choices he did in his own words, you’re missing out. The man is wise, and he speaks from his heart.


Bonus: You can watch him talk at TED.

And find out what’s in his backpack.

And he’s got a book, Planetwalker: 22 Years of Walking. 17 Years of Silence.