Saturday Linkages: Cheese Powder and Torpedo Bikes

Cheese powder anyone?

Cheese powder anyone?

Cheese powder: What is it?: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/14/cheese-powder-what-is-it.html …

Heat Your Clothes, Not Your House http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-clothes-not-your-house.html …

Heat Your Desk, Not Your Office http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/heat-your-desk-not-your-office.html …

Bog Butter: Storing Food in Soil http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/11/bog-butter-storing-food-in-soil.html …

Appeal to American Children to Encourage Monsanto to Safeguard Monarch Butterflies: http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2354 

17 Better Ways to Waste Your Money Than On This Crowdfunded “Flying Car” http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/17-better-ways-to-waste-your-money-than-this-crowdfunde-1458308873 …

Berlin workshop on “Unpleasant Design”: urban design that bullies it users: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/11/berlin-workshop-tomorrow-on.html …

It’s Time to Rethink America’s Corn System http://ensia.com/voices/its-time-to-rethink-americas-corn-system/ …

Cheese powder: What is it?: http://boingboing.net/2013/11/14/cheese-powder-what-is-it.html …

My Vintage Apron Collection http://hencam.com/thevintagehen/2013/11/my-vintage-apron-collection/ …

1913 : Torpedo Bike http://www.retronaut.com/2013/11/torpedo-bike/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Gardening, Rocket Heaters and DIY Tips

110-tips-06-0312-lgn

Forgot your reading glasses? No problem. Tip via Popular Mechanics.

A Garden Cannot be Designed http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/11/a-garden-cannot-be-designed.html …

Seeds on seeds on seeds: Why more biodiversity means more food security http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2347 

Lawn Pesticides Outlawed! by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/11/lawn-pesticides-out-lawed.html?utm_source=feedly …

Chelle Lindahl’s rocket mass heater http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/chelle-lindahls-rocket-mass-heater/ …

Know Your Stuff: The 110 Best DIY Tips Ever http://www.popularmechanics.com/home/skills/know-your-stuff-the-110-best-diy-tips-ever?src=soc_twtr …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Killer Bees, Bikes and Cold Coffee

Low tech bike lever via

Low tech bike shift lever via No Tech Magazine.

Low-tech Bike Shift Lever http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/low-tech-bike-shift-lever.html …

Before The Age of Automobiles, Cyclists Fought For Better Roads http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/before-the-age-of-automobiles-cyclists-fought-for-bett-1450090817 …

Stop Trying to Make Killer Bees Happen http://shar.es/IqK8T 

Designing Urban Agriculture: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2013/10/27/designing-urban-agriculture-a-complete-guide-to-the-planning-design-construction-maintenance-and-management-of-edible-landscapes/ …

Why the Brain Prefers to Read on Paper http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/why-the-brain-prefers-to-read-on-paper.html …

HOWTO make a bike-charged emergency battery: http://boingboing.net/2013/10/29/howto-make-a-bike-charged-emer.html …

Easy cold-brew coffee with a French press: http://boingboing.net/2013/10/30/easy-cold-brew-coffee-with-a-f.html …

Ten Steps You Can Take Right Now Against Internet Surveillance https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2013/10/ten-steps-against-surveillance …

Saturday Linkages: Balloon Jumping, Front Yard Graves and a Poo Themed Restaurant

ku-bigpic (1)

What If There Was No Landscaping? http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/09/what-if-there-was-no-landscaping.html …

Make Your Own $35 Straw Mattress http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/make-your-own-35-straw-mattress.html …

How to solder: http://www.tvbgone.com/cfe_mfaire.php 

Outrageously Themed Magic Restroom Cafe Soft Opens, Serving “Golden Poop” Rice http://eater.cc/1fxFy2N 

ORDNING stainless steel breadbox to modern mailbox http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/10/ordning-stainless-steel-breadbox-to-modern-mailbox.html …

How To Grow Your Own Garlic http://www.nwedible.com/2013/10/how-to-grow-your-own-garlic.html …

During Your First Freezes Be Concerned About The Wind http://www.finegardening.com/item/30377/during-your-first-freezes-be-concerned-about-the-wind …

Pumpkin Tap turns pumpkin or watermelon into keg: http://boingboing.net/2013/10/21/pumpkin-tap-turns-pumpkin-or-w.html …

Tombstone as Landscape Feature by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/10/tombstone-front-yard.html?utm_source=feedly …

“We’re going to check the burger with our hands here” http://barfblog.com/2013/10/were-going-to-check-the-burger-with-our-hands-here/ …

Jeff Speck: America Has So Many Problems. Walkability Solves Most of Them. http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/10/15/jeff-speck-america-has-so-many-problems-walkability-solves-most-of-them/ …

Distracted Driving Is Claiming the Lives of More Pedestrians and Cyclists http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/10/23/distracted-driving-is-claiming-the-lives-of-more-cyclists-and-pedestrians/#.Uml6jtaXz3w.twitter …

Balloon Jumping: Yesterday’s Fun (and Dangerous) Sport of the Future http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/balloon-jumping-yesterdays-fun-and-dangerous-sport-1450733941 …

HOWTO make a $10 digital microscope kit for your phone: http://boingboing.net/2013/10/22/howto-make-a-10-digital-micro.html …

Pico-Dwelling: Urban Living in Less than 200 Square Feet http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/dornob/~3/UcyD8r98jAQ/story01.htm …

Branch-Like Modular Benches Have Endless Possibilities http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/dornob/~3/9OyXv2JJKMo/story01.htm …

The Venetian Handcart http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/the-venetian-handcart.html …

5 MPH Home: Ultra-Tiny Caravan Towed by Mobility Scooter | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/5-mph-home-ultra-tiny-caravan-towed-by-mobility-scooter/ …

Six-Legged Caravan Gives New Meaning to ‘Walking Home’ | Designs & Ideas on Dornob http://dornob.com/six-legged-caravan-gives-new-meaning-to-walking-home/ …

Out of Stock: Simple & Easy-to-Assemble 3-Shelf Wall Set http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/dornob/~3/WFfQM7iaKJg/story01.htm …

Truck recycling? http://www.we2ours2.in/2013/10/truck-recycling.html …

Pumpkin Bread with Chocolate Chips and Bourbon http://www.nwedible.com/2013/10/pumpkin-bread-with-chocolate-chips-and-bourbon.html …

Infuse Your Booze! A Complete Guide To DIY Flavored Liquors http://www.nwedible.com/2013/10/infuse-your-booze-a-complete-guide-to-diy-flavored-liquors.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Stealth, Mules and Opiates

van

Stealth Pickup Camper http://frommoontomoon.blogspot.com/2013/10/stealth-pickup-camper.html …

Rocket Stove Heating http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/10/rocket-stove-heating-systems.html …

Conservation You Can Taste http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2327 

The Very Different Nomadic Lifestyle Of John Sears And His Three Mules… http://theflyingtortoise.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-very-different-nomadic-lifestyle-of.html …

Restaurants in China spike meals with opiates to keep diners coming back? http://barfblog.com/2013/10/restaurants-in-china-spike-meals-with-opiates-to-keep-diners-coming-back/ …

Okay, Then, It’s a “War on Cars” http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/okay-fine-its-war/Content?oid=9937449 …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Finally, A Use for Palm Fronds

palm-mask

Incredibly important information
At last, something to do with them! Halloween mask carved from a palm tree frond. http://boingboing.net/2013/10/10/mask-carved-from-a-palm-tree-f.html …

The Perfect Cat House by Thinking Design http://www.hauspanther.com/2013/10/10/the-perfect-cat-house-by-thinking-design/ …

Keep Your House in Tip-Top Shape: An Incredibly Handy Home Maintenance Checklist http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/0JHKdcpz6OQ/story01.htm …

The Labyrinth Project, the beginning http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com/2013/09/the-labyrinth-project-beginning.html … via

Mud
Musgum earth architecture: http://www.designboom.com/weblog/cat/9/view/9207/musgum-earth-architecture.html#.UlQlAB7vJcM.twitter …

Decorated Mud Houses of Tiébélé, Burkina Faso http://www.amusingplanet.com/2013/01/decorated-mud-houses-of-tiebele-burkina.html …

Fail!
Cycling So Popular in Georgia That Lawmaker Carl Rogers Wants to Ban It http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/10/07/cycling-so-popular-in-georgia-that-lawmaker-carl-rogers-wants-to-ban-it/ …

Some Online Journals Will Publish Fake Science, For A Fee http://n.pr/18UlKA5

Threat of Death Makes People Go Shopping http://inkfish.fieldofscience.com/2013/09/threat-of-death-makes-people-go-shopping.html?spref=tw …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Monday Linkages: The Blob, Urine Soaked Acorns

68_1806

Oops. Forgot to post our usual Saturday link dump. Here it is:

Design
Blob – An Unusual Micro-Home Encased in Storage http://humble-homes.com/blob-unusual-micro-home-encased-storage/

The Labyrinth Project, the beginning http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com/2013/09/the-labyrinth-project-beginning.html …

Homesteading weirdness
1859: A native delicacy – acorns pickled in human urine http://shar.es/Kkb0q 

How Japanese honeybees switch to ‘hot defensive bee ball’ mode when threatened http://www.globalpost.com/dispatches/globalpost-blogs/weird-wide-web/japanese-honeybee-hot-defensive-bee-ball-asian-hornet …

The “Queen of Green”? You be the Judge by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/09/the-queen-of-green-you-be-the-judge.html?utm_source=feedly …

Threat of Death Makes People Go Shopping http://inkfish.fieldofscience.com/2013/09/threat-of-death-makes-people-go-shopping.html?spref=tw …

Listen to the warm
Insurance industry pricing climate risk as a dead certainty – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/09/27/insurance-industry-pricing-cli.html …

Burning the Bones of the Earth: Lime Kilns http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/09/lime-kilns.html …

9 charts that explain why the farmers behind just about everything we eat can’t hit pay dirt: http://mojo.ly/1bHpha0 

Sailing
Rowing a boat across the Atlantic: http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/09/real-adventures-alastair-humphreys.html …

Sailboats Made of Corrugated Metal in Australia http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/09/sailboats-made-of-corrugated-metal-in.html …

Bikes
New issue of Urban Velo: http://www.urbanvelo.org/issue39/urbanvelo39.pdf …

What To Do After an Accident When the Police Fail to Respond? http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/09/04/what-to-do-after-an-accident-when-the-police-fail-to-respond/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

6a00e0099229e88833019aff8b2dc7970c-500wi

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html …

Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ …

DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/

An Open Source Community Model to Save Seeds – a WordPress Seedbank Plugin http://permaculturenews.org/2013/09/25/an-open-source-community-model-to-save-seeds-a-wordpress-seedbank-plugin/ …

Permaculture Paradise at Alex’s PermaGarden – Part 1 http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/permaculture-paradise-at-alexs-permagarden-part-1/ …

Growing the color blue: http://chickweedpatch.com/2013/09/24/growing-the-color-blue/ …

Handcarts on Rails http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/handcarts-on-rails.html …

Brooklyn firm specializes in creating furniture from bowling alley remnants http://on.wsj.com/1fe86iv 

Compost warnings to follow Legionella outbreak http://barfblog.com/2013/09/compost-warnings-to-follow-legionella-outbreak/ …

LA’s bird killing buildings: http://curbed.cc/18nZ9h1 

Climate change: Reporting the Future http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/reporting-the-future.html …

Chicken troubles: Lash http://hencam.com/henblog/2013/09/lash/ …

The Honey Launderers: Uncovering the Largest Food Fraud in U.S. History http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2013-09-19/how-germany-s-alw-got-busted-for-the-largest-food-fraud-in-u-dot-s-dot-history …

Our Right to be Outside: Three Mules http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/our-right-to-be-outside-three-mules.html …

Roads Kill: Mapping the Automobile’s Global Body Count (Be sure to go full screen with the map for the interactive presentation.) http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/09/25/roads-kill-mapping-the-automobiles-global-body-count/ …

Eyes on the Street: the Ongoing Humiliation of the Spring Street Bike Lanes http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/09/23/eyes-on-the-street-the-ongoing-humiliation-of-the-spring-street-bike-lanes/ …

I just backed the film, BIKES vs CARS – WE ARE MANY on @Kickstarter http://kck.st/1f7i1Xj 

@homedepot @lowes: 2/3 of our food crops need bees! Stop selling bee-killing pesticides! #BeeAction @foe_us http://www.beeaction.org 

Your Future in Farming & Homesteading: FREE 3-Day Webcast Event! (Oct. 1-3, 2013) http://permaculturenews.org/2013/09/25/your-future-in-farming-homesteading-free-3-day-webcast-event/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Speedos, Blue Eggs and the Rise of Rye

A rancher of the future

A rancher of the future according to the 1981 children’s book Tomorrow’s Home.

Trojan Horses, Recipes, and Permaculture http://www.patternliteracy.com/770-trojan-horses-recipes-and-permaculture …

How bad for the environment are gas-powered leaf blowers? http://wapo.st/14bgqIQ 

In Pursuit of Tastier Chickens, a Strict Diet of Four-Star Scraps http://nyti.ms/15yN8EY 

Rye’s Rise: New Loaves That Are More Than a Vehicle for Pastrami http://shar.es/i9wrV 

Let’s get (soil) physical… https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=943 …

The Cold War Bunker That Offered Subterranean Suburbia Below Las Vegas http://gizmodo.com/the-cold-war-bunker-that-offered-subterranean-suburbia-1258816518 …

Speedos, Computers, and Robot Butlers: Rural Living in the Future http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/speedos-computers-and-robot-butlers-rural-living-in-1203668270 …

Take Your Vows: To Farm is To Be Married http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2249 

Find A Blue Chicken Egg? Congrats, Your Chicken Has A Virus http://www.popsci.com/science/article/2013-09/find-blue-chicken-egg-congrats-your-chicken-has-virus …

Uncivilisation: the Dark Mountain Manifesto http://www.newstatesman.com/books/2009/09/civilisation-planet-authors …

Power from the Tap: Water Motors http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/09/power-from-the-tap-water-motors.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders

61emvBmNwYL

CD3WD: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders

CD3WD: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders http://brinkoffreedom.net/homesteading/cd3wd-mega-reference-homesteaders/?utm_source=feedly …

BreadStorm http://www.farine-mc.com/2013/09/breadstorm.html …

Get Fit Like a Wild Man: A Primer on MovNat http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/6JaxlN5A7Kc/story01.htm …

Tooth Fairy goes pneumatic http://hackaday.com/2013/09/13/tooth-fairy-goes-pneumatic/ …

Making Nikola Tesla a Saint Makes Us All Dumber http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/making-nikola-tesla-a-saint-makes-us-all-dumber-1308034624 …

Let’s really make backyard hens legal in Pasadena CA! http://www.change.org/petitions/let-s-really-make-backyard-hens-legal-in-pasadena-ca?share_id=QwPdcnLXHr&utm_campaign=twitter_link_action_box&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=share_petition …

Is it better to bike or run? http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/08/29/ask-well-is-it-better-to-bike-or-run/ …

How Chris McCandless Really Died http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/books/2013/09/how-chris-mccandless-died.html?mbid=social_retweet …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: