Saturday Linkages: Finally, A Use for Palm Fronds

palm-mask

Incredibly important information
At last, something to do with them! Halloween mask carved from a palm tree frond. http://boingboing.net/2013/10/10/mask-carved-from-a-palm-tree-f.html …

The Perfect Cat House by Thinking Design http://www.hauspanther.com/2013/10/10/the-perfect-cat-house-by-thinking-design/ …

Keep Your House in Tip-Top Shape: An Incredibly Handy Home Maintenance Checklist http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/0JHKdcpz6OQ/story01.htm …

The Labyrinth Project, the beginning http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com/2013/09/the-labyrinth-project-beginning.html … via

Mud
Musgum earth architecture: http://www.designboom.com/weblog/cat/9/view/9207/musgum-earth-architecture.html#.UlQlAB7vJcM.twitter …

Decorated Mud Houses of Tiébélé, Burkina Faso http://www.amusingplanet.com/2013/01/decorated-mud-houses-of-tiebele-burkina.html …

Fail!
Cycling So Popular in Georgia That Lawmaker Carl Rogers Wants to Ban It http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/10/07/cycling-so-popular-in-georgia-that-lawmaker-carl-rogers-wants-to-ban-it/ …

Some Online Journals Will Publish Fake Science, For A Fee http://n.pr/18UlKA5

Threat of Death Makes People Go Shopping http://inkfish.fieldofscience.com/2013/09/threat-of-death-makes-people-go-shopping.html?spref=tw …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Monday Linkages: The Blob, Urine Soaked Acorns

68_1806

Oops. Forgot to post our usual Saturday link dump. Here it is:

Design
Blob – An Unusual Micro-Home Encased in Storage http://humble-homes.com/blob-unusual-micro-home-encased-storage/

The Labyrinth Project, the beginning http://jeffreygardens.blogspot.com/2013/09/the-labyrinth-project-beginning.html …

Homesteading weirdness
1859: A native delicacy – acorns pickled in human urine http://shar.es/Kkb0q 

How Japanese honeybees switch to ‘hot defensive bee ball’ mode when threatened http://www.globalpost.com/dispatches/globalpost-blogs/weird-wide-web/japanese-honeybee-hot-defensive-bee-ball-asian-hornet …

The “Queen of Green”? You be the Judge by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/09/the-queen-of-green-you-be-the-judge.html?utm_source=feedly …

Threat of Death Makes People Go Shopping http://inkfish.fieldofscience.com/2013/09/threat-of-death-makes-people-go-shopping.html?spref=tw …

Listen to the warm
Insurance industry pricing climate risk as a dead certainty – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/09/27/insurance-industry-pricing-cli.html …

Burning the Bones of the Earth: Lime Kilns http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/09/lime-kilns.html …

9 charts that explain why the farmers behind just about everything we eat can’t hit pay dirt: http://mojo.ly/1bHpha0 

Sailing
Rowing a boat across the Atlantic: http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/09/real-adventures-alastair-humphreys.html …

Sailboats Made of Corrugated Metal in Australia http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2013/09/sailboats-made-of-corrugated-metal-in.html …

Bikes
New issue of Urban Velo: http://www.urbanvelo.org/issue39/urbanvelo39.pdf …

What To Do After an Accident When the Police Fail to Respond? http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/09/04/what-to-do-after-an-accident-when-the-police-fail-to-respond/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Passive Cooling, Cats and Three Mules

6a00e0099229e88833019aff8b2dc7970c-500wi

A Passively Cooled House in the Tropics http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/a-passively-cooled-house-in-the-tropics.html …

Catification: Beautiful Cat Climbing Shelves http://jacksongalaxy.com/2013/09/22/catification-beautiful-cat-climbing-shelves/ …

DIY VIDEO: How to Make a Mason Jar Herb Garden with Model Summer Rayne Oakes http://inhabitat.com/diy-video-how-to-make-a-mason-jar-herb-garden-with-model-summer-rayne-oakes/

An Open Source Community Model to Save Seeds – a WordPress Seedbank Plugin http://permaculturenews.org/2013/09/25/an-open-source-community-model-to-save-seeds-a-wordpress-seedbank-plugin/ …

Permaculture Paradise at Alex’s PermaGarden – Part 1 http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/permaculture-paradise-at-alexs-permagarden-part-1/ …

Growing the color blue: http://chickweedpatch.com/2013/09/24/growing-the-color-blue/ …

Handcarts on Rails http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/handcarts-on-rails.html …

Brooklyn firm specializes in creating furniture from bowling alley remnants http://on.wsj.com/1fe86iv 

Compost warnings to follow Legionella outbreak http://barfblog.com/2013/09/compost-warnings-to-follow-legionella-outbreak/ …

LA’s bird killing buildings: http://curbed.cc/18nZ9h1 

Climate change: Reporting the Future http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/reporting-the-future.html …

Chicken troubles: Lash http://hencam.com/henblog/2013/09/lash/ …

The Honey Launderers: Uncovering the Largest Food Fraud in U.S. History http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2013-09-19/how-germany-s-alw-got-busted-for-the-largest-food-fraud-in-u-dot-s-dot-history …

Our Right to be Outside: Three Mules http://www.notechmagazine.com/2013/09/our-right-to-be-outside-three-mules.html …

Roads Kill: Mapping the Automobile’s Global Body Count (Be sure to go full screen with the map for the interactive presentation.) http://dc.streetsblog.org/2013/09/25/roads-kill-mapping-the-automobiles-global-body-count/ …

Eyes on the Street: the Ongoing Humiliation of the Spring Street Bike Lanes http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/09/23/eyes-on-the-street-the-ongoing-humiliation-of-the-spring-street-bike-lanes/ …

I just backed the film, BIKES vs CARS – WE ARE MANY on @Kickstarter http://kck.st/1f7i1Xj 

@homedepot @lowes: 2/3 of our food crops need bees! Stop selling bee-killing pesticides! #BeeAction @foe_us http://www.beeaction.org 

Your Future in Farming & Homesteading: FREE 3-Day Webcast Event! (Oct. 1-3, 2013) http://permaculturenews.org/2013/09/25/your-future-in-farming-homesteading-free-3-day-webcast-event/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Speedos, Blue Eggs and the Rise of Rye

A rancher of the future

A rancher of the future according to the 1981 children’s book Tomorrow’s Home.

Trojan Horses, Recipes, and Permaculture http://www.patternliteracy.com/770-trojan-horses-recipes-and-permaculture …

How bad for the environment are gas-powered leaf blowers? http://wapo.st/14bgqIQ 

In Pursuit of Tastier Chickens, a Strict Diet of Four-Star Scraps http://nyti.ms/15yN8EY 

Rye’s Rise: New Loaves That Are More Than a Vehicle for Pastrami http://shar.es/i9wrV 

Let’s get (soil) physical… https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=943 …

The Cold War Bunker That Offered Subterranean Suburbia Below Las Vegas http://gizmodo.com/the-cold-war-bunker-that-offered-subterranean-suburbia-1258816518 …

Speedos, Computers, and Robot Butlers: Rural Living in the Future http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/speedos-computers-and-robot-butlers-rural-living-in-1203668270 …

Take Your Vows: To Farm is To Be Married http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2249 

Find A Blue Chicken Egg? Congrats, Your Chicken Has A Virus http://www.popsci.com/science/article/2013-09/find-blue-chicken-egg-congrats-your-chicken-has-virus …

Uncivilisation: the Dark Mountain Manifesto http://www.newstatesman.com/books/2009/09/civilisation-planet-authors …

Power from the Tap: Water Motors http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2013/09/power-from-the-tap-water-motors.html …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders

61emvBmNwYL

CD3WD: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders

CD3WD: A Mega-Reference for Homesteaders http://brinkoffreedom.net/homesteading/cd3wd-mega-reference-homesteaders/?utm_source=feedly …

BreadStorm http://www.farine-mc.com/2013/09/breadstorm.html …

Get Fit Like a Wild Man: A Primer on MovNat http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheArtOfManliness/~3/6JaxlN5A7Kc/story01.htm …

Tooth Fairy goes pneumatic http://hackaday.com/2013/09/13/tooth-fairy-goes-pneumatic/ …

Making Nikola Tesla a Saint Makes Us All Dumber http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/making-nikola-tesla-a-saint-makes-us-all-dumber-1308034624 …

Let’s really make backyard hens legal in Pasadena CA! http://www.change.org/petitions/let-s-really-make-backyard-hens-legal-in-pasadena-ca?share_id=QwPdcnLXHr&utm_campaign=twitter_link_action_box&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=share_petition …

Is it better to bike or run? http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/08/29/ask-well-is-it-better-to-bike-or-run/ …

How Chris McCandless Really Died http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/books/2013/09/how-chris-mccandless-died.html?mbid=social_retweet …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Loving LA and Gardening

GreetingsFromLosAngeles

Gardening
R U pine nuts? https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=944 …

Mulch Addiction http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/08/mulch-addiction.html …

Intermingling and the Aesthetics of Ecology http://landscapeofmeaning.blogspot.com/2013/08/intermingling-and-aesthetics-of-ecology.html …

Heritage Agri-tourism as a Strategy for Promoting the Recovery of Heirloom Vegetables, Grains, Fruits http://garynabhan.com/i/archives/2240 

Tiny Gardens in Greenwich Village by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/tiny-gardens-in-greenwich-village.html?utm_source=feedly …

I love LA
Christopher Nyerges loves LA: http://christophernyerges.blogspot.com/2013/08/to-love-la.html …

10 Things To Get Over About Los Angeles And 10 Things It Will Teach You To Love http://www.buzzfeed.com/iang18/10-things-to-get-over-about-los-angeles-and-10-thi-eg04 …

Los Angeles: A History of the Future: http://issuu.com/metroeco/docs/lahof …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Soils, Prickly Pear and the Case for Going Outside

Soil diagram from the Garden Professors.

Soil diagram from the Garden Professors.

Let’s get (soil) physical… https://sharepoint.cahnrs.wsu.edu/blogs/urbanhort/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=943 …

The Science Behind Honey’s Eternal Shelf Life http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/science/2013/08/the-science-behind-honeys-eternal-shelf-life/#.Uh0YB1lfCUw.twitter …

Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/21/open-tech-forever-permacultur.html …

DIY Hanging Diamond Decor http://sugarandcloth.com/2013/06/diy-hanging-diamond-decor/ …

Chickens and roosters turn East L.A. graveyard into barnyard http://www.theeastsiderla.com/2013/08/chickens-and-roosters-turn-east-l-a-graveyard-into-barnyard/ …

Cooking with prickly pear fruit: http://honest-food.net/2009/11/16/a-new-ingredient-prickly-pears/ …

Is sous vide cooking safe? http://barfblog.com/2013/08/is-sous-vide-cooking-safe/ …

Use thermometers says health reporter nearly killed by food poisoning http://barfblog.com/2013/08/use-thermometers-says-health-reporter-nearly-killed-by-food-poisoning/ …

Waste: The Dark Side of the New Coffee Craze http://www.eastbayexpress.com/oakland/waste-the-dark-side-of-the-new-coffee-craze/Content?oid=3687220 …

The case for going outside http://www.salon.com/2013/08/28/the_case_for_going_outside/ …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Controversy Edition

takeaseat

Gardening
Homegrown polenta? Floriani corn plants deliver ‘amazing flavor’ http://fw.to/2ju3QtE

The High Line in Person by Susan Harris http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/the-high-line-in-person.html?utm_source=feedly …

Knocked Out—and not in a good way by James Roush http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/knocked-out-and-not-in-a-good-way.html?utm_source=feedly …

Hackin’
Open Tech Forever: permaculture/open tech startup: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/21/open-tech-forever-permacultur.html …

MIT Has Had a Secret Pirate Program This Whole Time http://www.themarysue.com/mit-pirate-program/ …

Things All Scouts Should Know: 16 Camping and Life Hacks from 1911 http://www.artofmanliness.com/2013/08/20/things-all-scouts-should-know-16-camping-and-life-hacks-from-1911/

Hyping
Don’t Believe the Hype(rloop) http://thebillfold.com/2013/08/dont-believe-the-hyperloop/ …

Anonymous funeral director explains the big con behind the industry, coffins, and embalming http://boingboing.net/2013/08/19/anonymous-funeral-director-exp.html …

On the Phenomenon of Bulls**t Jobs http://www.strikemag.org/bullshit-jobs/ 

The water sommelier of Los Angeles: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/20/the-water-sommelier-of-los-ang.html …

Saturday Linkages: DIY Coffee Roasting and That Crazy Rhubarb Lady

IKEA hack: DIY coffee roaster.

DIY

IKEA hack FrankenRoaster – DIY Coffee Roaster Drum http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Ikeahacker/~3/Ii6NHUh_5Hg/frankenroaster-coffee-roaster-drum.html …

Made in the Shade: Building a Vertical Garden Under the Canopy of Our Guava Tree http://disq.us/8en1h5

Create Your Own Hipster Logo In 6 Steps http://www.fastcodesign.com/node/1673156 

Back to Basics: Direct Hydropower http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/typepad/krisdedecker/lowtechmagazineenglish/~3/3fsfrNm3iis/direct-hydropower.html …

HOWTO: Ultra-cheap Sous-vide – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/08/11/howto-ultra-cheap-sous-vide.html …

Nature
Biology, Antifragility, and Nature http://goo.gl/fb/VQHx3Garden Centers Sell Bee-Attractant Plants with Pesticide Residues Toxic to Bees http://www.beyondpesticides.org/dailynewsblog/?p=11566 …

Want your kids to play outside? Rip out the lawn! by Garden Rant » good read http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/want-your-kids-to-play-outside-rip-out-the-lawn.html?utm_source=feedly …

Design
The Modern Seaweed House by Vandkunsten and Realdania Byg http://www.dezeen.com/2013/07/10/the-modern-seaweed-house-by-vandkunsten-and-realdania/ …

Daily Flash: Jay Nelson/Mollusk Surf Shop http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/rw0ApY0oJPM/daily-flash-jay-nelsonmollusk-surf-shop_2987.html …

Your Open-Concept Kitchen Will Ruin Your House and Your Life http://www.slate.com/articles/life/culturebox/2013/08/against_open_concept_kitchens_don_t_listen_to_hgtv_and_keep_your_walls_and.html?utm_source=tw&utm_medium=sm&utm_campaign=button_chunky …

New Skateboard Can Go Down Stairs http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/3_e0IccStLo/new-skateboard-can-go-down-stairs.html …

Life in the city
Urban Healers: http://urbanhealers.tumblr.com

Clotheslines vs. HOAs: “Right to Dry” States http://bit.ly/13nMrPL

The Ten Most Ambitious Failed Utopian Mass Transit Systems http://jalopnik.com/the-ten-most-ambitious-failed-utopian-mass-transit-syst-1135019271 …

Making a Case to Phase Out “Beg Buttons” in Santa Monica’s Pedestrian Action Plan http://disq.us/8elfzy

Meet Streetmix, the Website Where You Can Design Your Own Street » good read http://www.streetsblog.org/2013/08/12/meet-streetmix-the-website-where-you-can-design-your-own-street/ …

Werner Herzog Made a Documentary About Texting While Driving. And It’s Haunting. http://www.slate.com/blogs/browbeat/2013/08/09/werner_herzog_texting_while_driving_documentary_from_one_second_to_the_next.html?utm_source=tw&utm_medium=sm&utm_campaign=button_chunky …

As City Considers Removing Ban on Parkway Vegetable Gardens, Some Communities Continue Planting http://la.streetsblog.org/2013/08/13/as-city-considers-removing-ban-on-parkway-vegetable-gardens-some-communities-continue-planting/ …

The view from above Los Angeles http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/la-oe-green-homage-to-los-angeles-20130814,0,4040309.story …

This Week in Crazy Rhubarb Lady by Amy Stewart http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/this-week-in-crazy-rhubarb-lady.html?utm_source=feedly …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Saturday Linkages: Yet More Potty Talk

Potty training fruit snack from Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons

As promised . . .
Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons: Potty Training Fruit Snack & Other Potty Treats! http://kitchenfunwithmy3sons.blogspot.com/2013/07/potty-training-fruit-snack-other-potty.html?spref=tw …

Can diapers really control Salmonella in lap chickens? http://barfblog.com/2013/08/can-diapers-really-control-salmonella-in-lap-chickens/ …

Food Issues
Cylindrical, quivering, gelatinous, tinned 12-course meal – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2013/08/04/cylindrical-quivering-gelati.html …

What if gluten-phobes are eliminating the wrong thing? The Grain of Truth http://www.modernluxury.com/san-francisco/story/the-grain-of-truth …

Tokyo’s “unmanned stores” – honor-system sheds where farmers to sell their surplus produce: http://boingboing.net/2013/08/07/tokyos-unmanned-stores.html …

Gardens
How to Win Friends and Influence the Environment: Put on a Garden Tour by Susan Harris » good read http://gardenrant.com/2013/08/how-to-win-friends-and-influence-the-environment-put-on-a-garden-tour.html?utm_source=feedly …

Bike Rantings
We still don’t really know how bicycles work http://www.newstatesman.com/2013/07/mysteries-bicycle …

L.A.’s Real Growth Is in Car-Free and Car-Lite Families http://disq.us/8egmh7

Can you say “miscellaneous?”
BBC News – Carry on camping – can a week under canvas reset our body clocks? http://bbc.in/17m7tdf

The Dystopic Earths of Heinlein’s Juveniles http://www.tor.com/blogs/2008/08/juviedystopias …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter: