Saturday Linkages: Elves, Archdruids and Open Source Furniture

neverend

20 Open Source Furniture Designs http://www.shareable.net/blog/20-open-source-furniture-designs …

“The Valley of The Elves” by Ellie Pritts https://elliepritts.exposure.so/the-valley-of-the-elves …

The Archdruid Report: Seven Sustainable Technologies http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/2014/01/seven-sustainable-technologies.html?spref=tw …

Silver Lake stays in step with Rudyard Kipling http://feedly.com/e/2K1ZbhCt 

Leaked: environmental chapter of the secret Trans-Pacific Partnership treaty – Boing Boing http://boingboing.net/2014/01/15/leaked-environmental-chapter.html …

When The Economy Stinks, Our Books Get More Depressing http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/when-the-economy-stinks-our-books-get-more-depressing-1498156174 …

Did you miss this last month? : Michael Pollan: How Smart Are Plants? 

Human-powered glider sets flight record in 1937 http://www.dvice.com/2013-3-18/image-day-human-powered-glider-sets-flight-record-1937 …

Presence, Not Praise: How To Cultivate a Healthy Relationship with Achievement | Brain Pickings http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2013/05/23/stephen-grosz-examined-life/ …

Share this post

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Looking at the human powered glider makes me think you might enjoy this episode of a current UK Channel 4 programme with a fabulous young presenter called Guy Martin. I’m slightly concerned you might find his accent impenetrable, but you can admire his mutton chop sideburns anyway…
    He’s a lorry (truck) mechanic who races motorbikes on the side (Isle of Man TT) and he’s also a very keen cyclist (he cycles 20 miles each way to work each day). ‘Speed with Guy Martin’ has involved him setting a new cycle landspeed record, riding a motorbike on water and attempting to set a new record for human powered flight. He previously made an interesting series refurbishing a canal boat using traditional crafts/industries.

    Anyway, if you can get Channel 4 OD, the bike powered flight episode is here http://www.channel4.com/programmes/speed-with-guy-martin/4od

    C4 seem to have pulled all the full episodes from Youtube, but there are some clips if you can’t get the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


8 − 1 =