Saturday Linkages: Sidewalk Koi, Papercrete, Jaywalking and How to Grow Fresh Air

Wendy Tremayne and Mikey Sklar's papercrete

Wendy Tremayne and Mikey Sklar’s papercrete masterpiece.

Interventions
Sidewalk Koi http://greenroofgrowers.blogspot.com/2013/08/sidewalk-koi.html …

Worker sent to remove graffiti finds image of himself on the same wall hours later http://fw.to/wOjTzDJ

Let’s Build A Traditional City (And Make A Profit) http://www.andrewalexanderprice.com/blog20130330.php …

Building
Tiny Tea House on Wheels http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lloydkahn/~3/D2Xib4vOfeY/tiny-tea-house-on-wheels.html …

Straatlokaal Dumpster Structures http://tinyhouseblog.com/construction-articles/straatlokaal-dumpster-structures/ …

Building with Papercrete at the Good Life Lab : http://wp.me/p22K2I-1mgi 

Straw Bale Dome Home in France http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/straw-bale-dome-home-in-france/ …

Do-it-yourself Pole-barn Building http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/do-it-yourself-pole-barn-building/ …

Fitness
Healthy Design: 3 Core Engaging Chairs http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/three-unusual-ergonomic-task-chairs-191874 …

Gardening
How to Grow Fresh Air http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/how-to-grow-fresh-air/ …

Secret Garden of Survival – How to Grow a Camouflaged Food Forest http://www.naturalbuildingblog.com/secret-garden-of-survival-how-to-grow-a-camouflaged-food-forest/ …

How Flora Grubb and an Airport DJ Saved My Soul by Allen Bush http://gardenrant.com/2013/07/how-flora-grubb-and-an-airport-dj-saved-my-soul.html?utm_source=feedly …

Troubles
On Rooftops, a Rival for Utilities http://nyti.ms/15luRcD

The Invention of Jaywalking Was a Massive Shaming Campaign http://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/the-invention-of-jaywalking-was-a-massive-shaming-campa-858926923 …

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:

Share this post

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Thanks for the link to the traditional city!
    I’ve always thought of European cities as warmer and friendlier than American cities and I suspected the large pedestrian zones were part of it – along with a delightful lack of strip malls – but I had never thought the whole thing through as clearly as the author of that blog has. What a lovely idea! Sadly, it makes too much sense ever to be implemented.

    • Yep, so we have to fly thousands of miles to visit places like this. This article was an eye opener for me too.

  2. In my town, city officials have cracked down on graffiti artists that choose to make images on private property, with the punishment being to remove their own images. Like many things, I find myself of ‘two minds’. With graffiti, I love the creativity and bravado AND I know it’s just simply not OK to paint someone’s garage or the side of a building.I love it when some buildings’ owners give free reign for graffiti artists to do whatever they want.
    I found myself laughing out loud when I read (and saw the artwork) about the graffiti image of the man appearing in the same spot where he was removing the artist’s first image. It’s like something out of a movie–kind of surreal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


+ 4 = 11