Saturday Linkages: From Plastic Bottle Kayaks to Canine Staircases

Kayak made from plastic bottles. Via Lloyd’s blog.

DIY

How To Turn A Mason Jar Into A Fermenting Crock – FARMcurious http://www.farmcurious.com/how-to-turn-a-mason-jar-into-a-fermenting-crock/ 

Kayak Made from Recycled Bottles in Argentina http://lloydkahn-ongoing.blogspot.com/2012/08/kayak-made-from-recycled-bottles-in.html#.UDPAXX9HYUs.twitter 

Paper Bag Flooring http://www.dudecraft.com/2012/07/paper-bag-flooring.html 

Shadowy Profiles http://www.dudecraft.com/2012/08/shadowy-profiles.html  

Spicy Storage Solution Frees Up Stacks of Cupboard Space http://dornob.com/spicy-storage-solution-frees-up-stacks-of-cupboard-space/  

How To Cover Up Dings in Wooden Furniture Home Hacks http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-to-cover-up-dings-in-woode-109198  

Design

Forget Doggie Doors: Home Remodel Has Canine Staircase http://dornob.com/forget-doggie-doors-home-remodel-has-canine-staircase/  

Beekeeping

Happy Bees Equals Happy Beekeeper, and How To Treat Bee Stings. – http://www.backyardecosystem.com/backwards-beekeeping/happy-bees-equals-happy-beekeeper-how-treat-bee-stings/ 

Whatever happened to common sense? 

Not to be outdone by Canada, another city wants to ruin an urban garden. Please help! http://chn.ge/RimMiZ 

What do USDA inspectors do? Undercover video shutters another dairy cull slaughterhouse in Calif. | barfblog http://barfblog.foodsafety.ksu.edu/blog/155879/12/08/21/what-do-usda-inspectors-do-undercover-video-shutters-another-dairy-cull-slaught#.UDO_tI5mjXk.twitter 

Bakers Green Acres vs. Michigan DNR – Family Farm Under Attack: http://youtu.be/843yH_0RMIA

Do companies really need babysitters? China stiff-arms FDA on jerky pet treat testing, reports show | barfblog http://barfblog.foodsafety.ksu.edu/blog/155901/12/08/23/do-companies-really-need-babysitters-china-stiff-arms-fda-jerky-pet-treat-testi#.UDa6kfTHEpw.twitter  
   
Gardening

Letting Things Go in the Garden (on purpose) http://shar.es/77QaJ 

Community 

A vivid account of life in The Late Suburban Age: http://www.nfb.ca/film/radiant_city/ 

RT @theurbanologist: Tourists & Angelenos alike will find this 1907 map of streetcar routes in LA most helpful: http://ow.ly/dbzO0

For these links and more, follow Root Simple on Twitter:
 Follow @rootsimple

Share this post

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I love these Saturday random hops around the internet… things I wouldn’t see otherwise. I don’t necessarily like all the places you send us, but it increases my awareness of things in general. Thanks!

  2. I was once tempted to try the paper bag flooring until I used polyurethane for a small project in the house (bad smell and certainly not good to have those fumes indoors) and realized how much polyurethane would be necessary for a floor. I decided it would be a potential health hazard, whether it’s oil-based or water-based.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


1 + 4 =